We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sol Bistro

Cafe Sol Bistro
William Street, Kilkenny, Ireland (Formerly Cafe Sol Bistro)
+353 56 776 4987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 149 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: SOL BISTRO KILKENNY uses quality local suppliers and our dishes are prepared fresh daily from the best ingredients. We offer a great value all night menu priced at €23 for two courses and €27 for three courses (some supplements apply). Craft beers and your favourite aperitifs digestifs and cocktails are now on the menu! We welcome customer feedback - please email with any queries you may have. Thank you!
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great stop for great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stopped in for lunch. Great place, fantastic service. Food was really, really good. WiFi was very handy to keep planning our trip while we were there, too. A very enjoyable stop just off the main drag.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    94
    28
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth every Euro!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have recently returned from a two night stay in Kilkenny, and ate at Cafe Sol on both evenings.
The restaurant is cosy and tucked away in a quiet side street.The staff were friendly and attentive and the menu was interesting and varied. All the food we chose (fish the first night and meat the second) was delicious and beautifully presented. Puds were tasty too!
We were delighted that our B&B hosts had suggested eating at Cafe Sol, and we in turn would recommend the restaurant to others!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KILKENNY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful food with varied menu ,excellent service in city centre.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ihave eaten here on numerous occasions both for lunch and evening meals . Food and service could never be faulted. Very accommodating when children were with me . Nice varied menu.
Would always recommend to visitors in Kilkenny

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went here for lunch Saturday with my husband about two o clock place was packed with very buzzy atmosphere .Had the fish special plaice with herb crumb and saffron risotto ,absolutely sublime flavours and presentation.My husband had the fish cakes also very good. Chef definitely knows flavours. Would definitely return next time shopping in Kilkenny. P.s coffee was also top notch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best food of my trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This restaurant was excellent. We happened upon it while walking around town and were quite pleased, it was actually the best dinner I had on my 10 day trip to Ireland. Oven roasted rack of Kilkenny lamb, rosemary brioche crust, minted pea purée, spring onion mash. I'm a little bit of a foodie, and this was up to snuff. Very good, though not cheap. Good wine too. One of our party got chilled due to a vent on his neck and they were super nice about moving us. Good service, great food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sol Bistro also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Cafe Sol Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sol Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.