We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lawcus Farm Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lawcus Farm Guest House
Stonyford | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 93 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Lawcus Farm was a hidden gem. A little difficult to find, but with GPS locations given we discovered a delightful place. Mark and Ann Marie were very welcoming and have built a beautiful guest house and separate hand built home. Unique decorations throughout the guesthouse. The breakfast prepared and served in a delightful glass enclosed breakfast room allowed a view of the countryside while enjoying a traditional Irish breakfast. Wonderful suggestions for the local pub and Indian restaurant close in town. Suggestions for the self tour of a local priory and the famine cemetery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
157
224
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We arrived at Lawcus Farm Guest House late in the afternoon, having flown into Dublin that morning and taken the opportunity to do a detour to Glendalough on our way. So a little tired when we pulled in, but soon revived by the warm greeting we received from Mark, which included a good cup of tea and a tour of beautiful grounds - gardens, riverside, farm animals. If, like us, you tend to go for b&b accommodation in the hopes of getting a better feel for the areas you visit and to benefit from local knowledge, we can highly recommend Lawcus Farm. Mark and Ann-Marie obviously love the area and are only too happy to share the kind of information you can only get from people who live locally - interesting walks, where to see birds & animals, great little restaurants in out of the way places, where to park when you go into town, the best pubs and so on. You get the sense they really want you to enjoy their part of the country as much as they do. When you tie that enthusiasm in with the very clean, very comfortable rooms/suites and Ann-Marie's superb cooking, you certainly end up with a winning combination. All the rooms, including the two sitting rooms, were furnished in a comfortable, eclectic style with lots of antiques and collectibles that gave them a warm, homey feel. At breakfast, you sit in the lovely sunroom that Mark built, while Ann-Marie offers up her varied and delicious creations - eggs benedict, omlettes, drop scones, porridge, full traditional Irish, etc. from the open kitchen. We stayed three nights with our 16 year old niece and had two rooms (Stone and Brennan) both of which were excellent - Dana didn't want to leave and asked whether we thought the pigs would eat her passport if she dropped it in their sty! We can't wait to come back to Lawcus Farm to enjoy the wonderful hospitality and explore more of this fascinating area.

Room Tip: There are a good range of rooms, some on ground level, some up fairly steep stairs - be sure to talk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I don't write reviews, its just not my thing but this place made me want to. Me and my GF had a very long day of traveling from CA to Ireland and were incredibly tired by the time we reached the place. Ann-Marie greeted us very warmly and got us all set up, she is very sweet and a wonderful cook. The next morning we had an outstanding breakfast in their dining area which is an attachment to the original farm house and provides an excellent view of the farm. Mark is just as friendly and warm as his wife he is also an amazing craftsman. He built the place and will not be shy to show you around. I wish that we could have had more time at this place it was so serene and a fantastic way to ease into our vacation.

The room was super clean, bed was comfortable and provide a good nights sleep. The rooms are beautiful but really you want to spend more time outside of them then in. There are lots of animals roaming around the property including cows, horses, pigs, dogs, cat, fish, chickens.

Trust me and don't pass this place up its wonderful

I'm not sure if you guys read your reviews but thank you so much for everything it was the best place we stayed in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I returned to Lawcus Farm this year after visiting their B&B 3 years ago with my family. We enjoyed our first visit so much that we planned our tour of Ireland so that we could spend several nights there. It is very convenient to Kilkenny and the Kells Priory. From the moment we arrived we were treated like old friends by Ann Marie and Mark. They are wonderful hosts and can not do enough for you. We were lucky enough to stay in the new house that Mark build from scratch. It is truly an amazing place and we are still talking to everyone about it.

Room Tip: Ask Ann Marie or Mark if it is possible to stay in the Kingfisher Suite in the new house. All of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Amazing place! We stayed in the Gold Family Suite, could not believe how charming our apartment was. Amazing attention to detail in the construction, beautiful workmanship. The location is gorgeous, just wish we had more time. Breakfast - delicious food served in the extraordinary atrium. Make this at-least a two day stay, lots to do in the area. The owners are great energetic, pleasant people.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, it just depends on your needs or size of your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our only regret is that we were only able to stay for one night, but we will plan a longer stay on our next visit. Mark and Ann-Marie are wonderful people. Mark greeted us with a tour of the farm which is gorgeous. Being animal lovers we even got to watch him feed the pigs and the chickens which we loved!!!! After showing us to our rooms, which were perfect, we were given a tour of the entire house which is available to all guests and is fantastic, from the decorations to the fireplace in the sitting room, to the glass enclosed kitchen that overlooks the grounds of the farm Wow...... it's hard to imagine staying in a home built around 500 A.D. Mark recommended a wonderful place to pick up food and a pub in town where we could take the food to eat and we had a grand time, the owner joined us for a time and shared stories. Before our departure Ann-Marie prepared a wonderful breakfast to start our day. Mark gave us a tour of their family home which is beyond fantastic - what a craftsman he is!!! After recommendations to local ruins and a map to get us on our way we were almost ready to go.......we just needed our temporary passenger!!!! Mark was having issues with Magpie's invading the farm and causing havoc...being an animal lover, he doesn't like to shoot the birds so he captures them and then transports them out of town. Well, we volunteered to transport the latest capture, so we loaded up our Magpie and off we went. We let out passenger go about 40 miles out of town. Thank you so much Mark and Ann-Marie, you are lovely people and we will be back on our next trip to your wonderful country!!!!!

Room Tip: All were excellent - 2 rooms located just off driveway with no stairs, 2-rooms upstairs in main hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was the last place we stayed for our 2 week honeymoon, and it was the highlight of our whole trip. When we checked in Ann-Marie sat us down and gave us their hand-made map and showed us all the local places to eat and visit, we immediately knew that one day wasn't going to be enough to enjoy the area or their wonderful B&B. Definitely hike around the local grounds and if you get a chance, don't turn Mark down if he offers you a tour. The breakfast was plentiful, we stayed in the stone room, which had the epic feeling of staying in our own castle. I only hope this place is as good when we come back someday, because we didn't stay long enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lawcus Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawcus Farm Guest House

Address: Stonyford | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Valley of the Kings River on the outskirts of Kilkenny, between the medieval village of Kells and Stoneyford, Lawcus a superbly renovated stone farm house offers its guests luxury and tranquility. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lawcus Farm Guest House Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawcus Farm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lawcus Farm Guest House to your Saves list