We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in Ireland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lawcus Farm Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lawcus Farm Guest House
Save
You added Lawcus Farm Guest House to your Saves list
Stonyford | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 95 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Best place we stayed in Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I would go back to Ireland just to stay at Lawcus Farms again. Mark and Ann-Marie felt like dear friends and we only stayed there two nights. Ann-Marie cooked an amazing Irish breakfast and I ate until my seams burst. My husband got to use Marks fishing rods to catch a few salmon ( I think they were salmon.) from the river on the property. Kilkenny is an easy 10 or so minutes drive, and is the perfect size city complete with castle. I really can't say enough about our stay here. If you envision your Irish trip to be full of tranquility, cute cities, rolling hills, farm life, and hospitality than do not miss the opportunity to stay at Lawcus Farms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
195
277
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marainna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The owners are super in every way. We toured a large portion of Ireland in 10 days and this is by far the best place we stayed. If you are looking for a unique experience with great accommodations, food, and people, this is the place to choose!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We absolutely LOVED the Lawcus Farm Guest House. It is just outside of Kilkenny so the location is great if you want to experience the city and country side by side. Annmarie and Mark are extremely hospitable, friendly and helpful. The property is charming - it was wonderful to just walk around and see the animals (pigs, chickens, cats, dogs, fish). It is peaceful and quiet. Breakfast was delicious (thank you Annmarie!) and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We wished we could have stayed longer. Mark drew us a map and we drove around and saw the Kells priory ruins, a couple old restored mills and a tower. These were a little off the beaten path and because of this we enjoyed them more than the big tourist stops. When we go back to Ireland (and we definitely intend to), we will surely book a stay here again.

Thank you Annemarie and Mark for a lovely experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I wish I could go stay at Lawcus again! It blew every other place we stayed at out of the water. Anne Marie and Mark were absolutely phenomenal hosts! We felt like we were staying with old friends. Lawcus is a beautiful B&B and also a working farm. They have sheep, pigs, chickens, a cow, and a horse. It is situated on some very nice property. There is a lovely stream that flows along the rear of the property where you can do some fly fishing, or you can just go down there and relax. Our room was very comfortable and had a mini fridge and a microwave. Breakfast was served in a beautiful kitchen that was all glass. Anne Marie did the cooking while Mark entertained and helped serve. We also got a tour of their main house, which Mark has spent several years building himself. WOW! The house is gorgeous and my jaw dropped when I walked in. They do have one room there that they rent out and if we go back I will be getting it just so I can stay in that house. The whole location is just beautiful and incredibly relaxing. Oh, and we were also able to get a whole load of laundry done for only 5 Euro! It is only a 15 min drive into Kilkenny from Lawcus and there is ample parking in Kilkenny, so do not worry about staying out of the city some. It is so very worth it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We are a french family with 2 kids (9 and 12), and we've been visiting Ireland for a week. On our way back to the ferry, we were looking for a nice place to stay around Kilkenny ... and we definitely found it : we arrived in the afternoon et we've been welcomed by Ann-mary and Marc which were really nice, with full of good advices on activities (the middle-age Priory near by and Kilkenny not so far). The room was great, well equiped and decorated (little kitchen + bathroom + big beds for adults + 2 beds upstairs). The house is really beautiful, and the farm is very clean. The kids loved the animals (pigs, lamb ...). The breakfast was also very nice, freshly cooked in front us ... and we finished our stay along the river with a fishing party (Marc gave us 2 fishing rods). A really great place to stay !!!
Rodolphe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the most magical and beautiful place I have ever stayed. The farm is green and lush and peaceful, surrounded by animals and life and nature. Annmarie and Mark made us feel so welcome and were fabulous hosts, so friendly and chatty. Annmarie's home-cooked breakfast was out of this world, including her homemade sausages. Mark gave us the grand tour where we marveled at how he custom built most of the farm from scratch. What an eye for details!

We arrived very early in the morning off a red-eye flight and drove to Lawcus Farm -- we were doubtful that we'd be able to check in so early (9am-ish) but Annmarie welcomed us in and let us up to our room for a brief nap before sending us to the Kells ruins which we would later realize was the best and quietest ruins we would seen in all of Ireland.

The combination of gorgeous nature, adorable animals, amazing architecture, and incomparable hospitality made our stay here out of this world. I wish I could live there! Next time I find myself in Ireland I'd like to spend more than one night at this amazing B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stopped here as our first stop in a roundabout of Ireland. Mark and Anne-Marie were incredible hosts, and we felt like we were right at home. A beautiful view, wonderful room, adorable puppies and cats, and the breakfast was incredible! Stay here for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lawcus Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawcus Farm Guest House

Address: Stonyford | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Valley of the Kings River on the outskirts of Kilkenny, between the medieval village of Kells and Stoneyford, Lawcus a superbly renovated stone farm house offers its guests luxury and tranquility. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lawcus Farm Guest House Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawcus Farm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.