We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We landed on our feet with this choice of guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldtown Farmhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oldtown Farmhouse B&B to your Saves list
Oldtown Farmhouse B&B
Stoneyford | Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 95 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We landed on our feet with this choice of guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Arrived at Mary Fitzgeralds (landlady) house, 9-3opm, hadnt had dinner yet, saw nothing to running us into town to get a curry for four of us, and we had only just introduced ourselves, excellent service, and the week ahead was just the same with the wonderful service Mary and John, (her husband) provided for us.
The irish breakfasts, we didnt need lunch, we were too full till dinner, and it was cooked to order, you could have what you wanted, the bedroom and bathroom ensuite , comfort and cleanliness, top marks, Mary and John, there every morning advising us which route to take, drawing maps to help us in case we got lost, and believe me , you will get lost, the irish signposting is an experience to behold, but with Mary and Johns help , we managed.
The views from the house are breathtaking, and on summer days, there are tables and chairs you can sit down on surrounded by a beautiful and immaculate garden, also far away from the main road, so peaceful too, all in all , a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed here for a wedding that was on in mount juliet just down the road.
The owner was really friendly and helpful, she gave us a lift to the hotel where the wedding was on.
The rooms were very nice, good size and spotless.
The breakfast was really good also.
Overall a great b&b for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boggabri, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

After staying in a B&B in Dublin for the first three nights of our Ireland holiday I was very disappointed with the level of friendliness and knowledge that was given to my mother and I. Thank God our next B&B accomodation was with Mary and John at Oldtown Farmhouse at Stonyford in Kilkenny. We were greeted like old friends and offered a cup of tea the minute we arrived! We were advised of where we could get dinner and what we could do in the area. We left with John's very handy hand-drawn map which was even better than the GPS that was leading us astray!

Mary and John live on a propagation farm and were very willing to show us around it and the very interesting ring fort they also have on their property.

Thank you Mary and John for restoring my faith in the friendliness of B&Bs!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

At first I was a little skeptical since we passed Kilkenny and drove about another 15 or 20 minutes to get to the B&B. I had thought it was a little closer. However, after meeting and staying with Mary and John for two nights, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area!!! We all loved listening to Mary's stories. She was an absolute pleasure to chat with, and very knowledgeable about the area. Of our 13 days in Ireland, I think this was the most memorable part for all of us.

The rooms were very clean, she cooked to order our breakfast, she gave great directions and suggestions,they have a beautiful view from the front of the B&B, very interesting tour of their huge green houses, cool stories in the middle of her natural ring fort, and most of all - great conversation! (Not to mention the yummy cakes before bedtime!!) What a treat our stay was. I would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

Very friendly hosts; spacious, comfortable, and clean rooms; great breakfast; amazing view; cool ring fort; great price. The best place we stayed in Ireland.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldtown Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldtown Farmhouse B&B

Address: Stoneyford | Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Oldtown Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldtown Farmhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.