We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldtown Farmhouse B&B

Save Saved
You added Oldtown Farmhouse B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oldtown Farmhouse B&B
Stoneyford | Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 93 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Oldtown Farmhouse was the fisrt place we stayed after landing in Ireland. We stayed two days there. Mary's attention to detail was above and beyond! The bed was absolutely the best bed we had in all of Ireland -- Large, soft, I think she even Ironed our bed linens they were so crisp and clean! Her breakfast was outstanding. The location was great with lots nearby to see yet in a rural area so very quiet and peaceful. Unfortunately this being our first place we stayed our expectaions were set very high and absolutely no other place compared to Mary and Johns! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

By far the cleanest B&B we have ever stayed in. It sparkled. Mary and John were warm and wonderful hosts. We came in jet lagged, exhausted and left rested and excited for the remainder of our trip. Mary had good advice for us and is a lifetime local so knows the area well. Mary and her home are real Irish GEMS!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was the first B&B we stayed in on our trip to Ireland. It set the standard for the rest! Mary was delightful! She took us on a tour of her property and showed us an old ringfort telling us all about the history. Her place was immaculate and the rooms were large and airy with great attention to detail. The coffee and tea cups were covered with a lace cloth and the beds were so pretty and comfortable with the comforters! Mary gave us a great suggestion for dinner...Carrolls and even offered to drive us and pick us up from a local pub so my husband could enjoy more than one guiness! Above and beyond! Not to mention that the breakfast was absolutely delicious...Mary pays so much attention to detail. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Oldtown Farmhouse looks even better in reality than it is on its website.

Mary is a wonderful person we were glad to meet and talk to. The room was spectacular with beautiful antique furniture, and the breakfast was absolutely outstanding.

In addition, Mary took us to see a ringfort they have on their property - an interesting piece of Irish history.

The area is fabulously quiet, with amazing air, and is very close to Jerpoint Abbey, which is very highly recommended to visit in the morning, before the buses arrive.

Overall, we just cannot recommend this B&B highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Oldtown Farm was our first stop at the start of our holiday, we were given a friendly welcome by Mary and John.
who made us feel at home straight away, we were served coffee and some of Mary's delicious scones.
Our room was large and bright situated at the front of the house offering panoramic views from the window, with a large comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities and terrific shower in the en-suite and beautifully clean. The full irish breakfast was fantastic and set us up for the rest of the day
My wife and I are looking foreward to staying with Mary John again when next visit Killkenny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Mary and John are the most welcoming of B&B owners. They have a beautiful home in the country not far from Kilkenny and near all of the local attractions - Nicholas Mosse, Chesneau, Jerpoint Abbey, Kells and much more.
All bedrooms are on the first floor, beautifully decorated and large. Showers are spacious with plenty of room. The large showers are powerful. On their property, they have a historic ringfort which Mary graciously show and explain to you. We stay with Mary and John every time we visit near the Kilkenny area. Cannot recommend this B&B highly enough

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I recently stayed in the Oldtown Farmhouse B&B for one night. I arrived quite late as it was an unexpected trip. I was greeted by the owner Mary and immediately offered tea and gorgeous scones and a place in front of the fire. It was all so relaxed and welcoming.

My room was really lovely and absolutely spotless. It also had lots of little touches that really made life easy. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom, facecloths (washcloths), tissues, an alarm clock and a hairdryer. There was also a tea making kit (which I didn't need thanks to Mary, who made teafor me when I arrived!) The bed was really comfortable and the room was really relaxing and warm. The shower was strong and hot.

The breakfast in the morning was exactly what you'd want. A selection of cereals, loads of fruit, yoghurts, proper toast and John's gorgeous brown bread, and of course the usual full Irish.

I didn't get a chance to explore the gardens but from looking out my window they seemed really beautiful. I also saw the rest of the rooms on a tour with Mary and they were all lovely: comfortable and clean.

I needed to get into the village in the morning and John gave me a lift. The welcome here was so lovely and I could tell that having happy guests was important to Mary. I couldn't recommend this B&B more highly! Thanks for everything John and Mary.

Rachel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oldtown Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldtown Farmhouse B&B

Address: Stoneyford | Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Oldtown Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldtown Farmhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.