We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in Kilkenny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pembroke Hotel to your Saves list
Pembroke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“great hotel in Kilkenny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently stayed for only one night (unfortunately) at the Pembroke Hotel in downtown Kilkenny, and had a wonderful experience there, from start to finish. First of all, it is right in the center of everything, and there is free parking out back. We received a warm welcome from Courtney at the front desk (she was great the whole time we were there!) and our room was lovely, spacious and comfortable and with a very nice, modern bathroom. The beds were super comfy, nice and firm the way we like them. Courtney gave us suggestions re where to eat and what to see in our less-than-24-hours in Kilkenny, all of which worked out well for us. We were very impressed with Kilkenny and wished we had had lots more time to spend exploring the town. The breakfast buffet at the Pembroke was free and very delicious, with every type of food you could possibly want, from cereal to pastries to scrambled eggs to blood sausages! If we make it back to Kilkenny, which we certainly hope we will, we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere but the Pembroke.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 121 with two twin beds, overlooked the side of the hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    329
    65
    29
    3
See reviews for
134
578
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent location! Right in the heart of kilkenny. The staff are so friendly, there's good access to parking, excellent breakfast, spotlessly clean rooms, overall a great place to stay, highly recommended! I had mentioned on the booking form that it was our anniversary and they went out of their way to welcome us and in the room had complementary bottles of water and a lovely chocolate treat!! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a very nice high quality hotel, the staff is very friendly. It is only a short walk to the Kilkenny Castle and near by shops. There is overflow parking if all of the slots are filled behind the hotel. They offer free wi fi and this is a nice feature that many four star hotels in Ireland provide.The Pembroke is hard to find, but it helps if you watch for the flags on Patrick Street.

This is one of the very best 4 Star Hotels we stayed in during our 12 stay in Ireland. They have restaurants, but we ate across the street in the Zun Hotel, which is a very high quality restaurant. If I return to Kilkenny, I would stay in the Pembroke...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Brilliantly located in the centre of Kilkenny. I was in a superior room which was enormous. Lovely touches like really good toiletries and for those travelling from the States or Europe they had appropriate plug sockets above the dressing table. Why don't more hotels do that?? Lively bar for cocktails or a glass of wine. No dressed up groups in public areas which is a bonus as Kilkenny can be plagued by Hen and Stag parties at weekends. Design and decor first class throughout and staff really friendly. Breakfast served in the main restaurant and had good quality components for a full Irish breakfast. The carpark is quite small but they do have an overflow carpark nearby. I have stayed in several hotels in Kilkenny and this has to be the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We received a lovely greeting upon arrival on the Friday afternoon after being directed to the annexe car park a short distance away. The room was spacious and comfortable and we were able to relocate the car to the main car park the following morning. After a tour of the City that evening we ended up in the hotel bar and listened to the musicians. Breakfast was good with, once again, staff being friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant alongside the various hen party guests which enlivened the evening.
All-in-all we would recommend the Pembroke; the nice touches such as the barman advising me to allow a little extra time to get to the Dublin ferry the following day owing to the All-Ireland Hurling Final at Croke Park made for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is great it the centre of town. There is a reasonable free car park out the back. The reception was very friendly and a great atmosphere overall within the hotel.
The standard double room was large, with a huge bed and the cleanest bathroom ever. The breakfast and service by the waitresses superb, also tried the Steak for dinner which was equally good.
The reason I did not give 5 stars is the Internet service in my room on the first floor was painfully slow, I could not get my Iphone to connect to the WiFi and my Laptop could only manage one bar of signal and it was as slow as dial-up. Eventually the internet stopped working. This is inexcusable for any hotel if they want business customers. I hope this can be sorted out as apart from this the hotel is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel's fabulous location and modern luxury make it worth every penny. The staff's warmth and helpfulness make it worth more. I booked the hotel well in advance to take advantage of the free breakfast for myself and three friends (in two rooms). We arrived late, and didn't get to park in the parking lot overnight, but hotel employees helped us unload the car and directed us to alternate parking. That parking lot is tiny! But once we parked the car, we really didn't need it. Really. This location is perfect.

Room Tip: I think you can pay extra for views of the castle. We didn't spend much of the daytime in our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pembroke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Hotel

Address: 11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have discovered the Pembroke Hotel, Kilkenny’s favourite boutique hotel, a relaxed oasis in the heart of the old city quarter. The 4 Star Pembroke Hotel is situated on Patrick Street, Kilkenny’s most exclusive street right in the centre of a city that is rich with medieval heritage and alive with a vibrant arts culture. With 74 comfortable, spacious, airy bedrooms, its Stathams Bar and Stathams Restaurant and a dedicated business centre, the Pembroke Hotel offers a peaceful welcoming charm with quiet luxury and comfort at its core. You will feel truly comfortable in this warm and friendly hotel where you are assured of a restful sleep in the heart of the city. Surrounded by Kilkenny’s most famous landmarks including Kilkenny Castle, Butler House and Gardens and the National Craft Gallery it is fitting that we take our name from the Earl of Pembroke for whom Kilkenny castle was built. Creativity flows through everything we do at the Pembroke Hotel, from our modern interior to our fresh imaginative food, so it is natural for us as a patron of the Butler Gallery to showcase a selection from their permanent collection. Whether your visit is for business, pleasure or celebration, we look forward to warmly welcoming you and to providing you with our thoughtful, naturally attentive and caring service in a relaxed atmosphere where you will feel safe and cared for. Quite simply – we are committed to looking after our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Pembroke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.