We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pembroke Hotel to your Saves list
Pembroke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently stayed here for my hen party and can honestly say the service was amazing. Beautiful hotel with great food and excellent location. staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Will definitely be back and have been recommending this hotel to anyone going to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    302
    58
    26
    3
See reviews for
122
525
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at the Pembroke for two nights. I was surprised at how big the rooms were! Front desk staff was friendly & helpful, bartender poured a nice pint of Guinness. Location is right by the castle and a 2-10 min walk to great pubs & restaurants. Free parking on-site. Modern decor, clean rooms.

Cons - spotty wi-fi (I'd rather pay for good wi-fi vs. frustrating free wi-fi), pillows were hard/flat.

Would I stay here again or recommend? Yes.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for four nights in April. The location is convenient for exploring Kilkenny. Rooms very spacious,clean and well fitted out. Staff in all areas excellent. Food very good. Definitely good value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel was great; central location, fabulous food, nice room - well appointed and immaculate and fabulous staff who were friendly and did everything they could to enhance our stay - we loved it and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Pembroke. The location is central to everything and makes it very easy to walk around. The room we got was very large and clean, and the breakfast was very good the next day. It was clean, the staff was helpful and it was an overall enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel was centrally located right downtown. Parking was free and easy. The staff was very helpful - we actually asked to change rooms bc the bathroom smelled from someone smoking - they immediately gave us a new room. The rooms were well appointed - modern and basic. The front desk was helpful on where to go and what to do. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Kilkenny is a great spot and this hotel is a super location to see the area. Nice comfortable rooms, good dining area and a very comfortable bar area. Lovely approachable staff. I would certainly recommend the hotel as a base here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pembroke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Hotel

Address: 11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have discovered the Pembroke Hotel, Kilkenny’s favourite boutique hotel, a relaxed oasis in the heart of the old city quarter. The 4 Star Pembroke Hotel is situated on Patrick Street, Kilkenny’s most exclusive street right in the centre of a city that is rich with medieval heritage and alive with a vibrant arts culture. With 74 comfortable, spacious, airy bedrooms, its Stathams Bar and Stathams Restaurant and a dedicated business centre, the Pembroke Hotel offers a peaceful welcoming charm with quiet luxury and comfort at its core. You will feel truly comfortable in this warm and friendly hotel where you are assured of a restful sleep in the heart of the city. Surrounded by Kilkenny’s most famous landmarks including Kilkenny Castle, Butler House and Gardens and the National Craft Gallery it is fitting that we take our name from the Earl of Pembroke for whom Kilkenny castle was built. Creativity flows through everything we do at the Pembroke Hotel, from our modern interior to our fresh imaginative food, so it is natural for us as a patron of the Butler Gallery to showcase a selection from their permanent collection. Whether your visit is for business, pleasure or celebration, we look forward to warmly welcoming you and to providing you with our thoughtful, naturally attentive and caring service in a relaxed atmosphere where you will feel safe and cared for. Quite simply – we are committed to looking after our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Pembroke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.