We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pembroke Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pembroke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel was great; central location, fabulous food, nice room - well appointed and immaculate and fabulous staff who were friendly and did everything they could to enhance our stay - we loved it and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    292
    57
    26
    3
See reviews for
119
507
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Pembroke. The location is central to everything and makes it very easy to walk around. The room we got was very large and clean, and the breakfast was very good the next day. It was clean, the staff was helpful and it was an overall enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel was centrally located right downtown. Parking was free and easy. The staff was very helpful - we actually asked to change rooms bc the bathroom smelled from someone smoking - they immediately gave us a new room. The rooms were well appointed - modern and basic. The front desk was helpful on where to go and what to do. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Kilkenny is a great spot and this hotel is a super location to see the area. Nice comfortable rooms, good dining area and a very comfortable bar area. Lovely approachable staff. I would certainly recommend the hotel as a base here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable night at the Pembroke Hotel during our trip around Ireland. As we had never been to Kilkenny & we only had a short stay there, it was great to just step outside the door & have everything on our doorstep & we really loved Kilkenny! Pretty, vibrant & quirky & full of history & atmosphere!

Our hotel room was one of the biggest rooms we encountered during our trip around Ireland! It had a really nice feel to it! Light & airy with a very comfortable king bed & the wardrobe area was large with tons of storage space.The bathroom was also very big with good lighting.
Despite the central location, it was very quiet.
The staff were extremely friendly & welcoming & Courtney, on the reception desk, gave us great advice on a traditional pub nearby where we could get a good meal & listen to some traditional Irish music.
Our room & bed were so comfortable that we slept in later than usual the next day & didn't get down to breakfast till 9am & I'm not sure if it was because it was a bit later, but the breakfast was just very average. Not a lot of choice & certainly nothing to write home about! Having said that, it was included with our accommodation & it was adequate.
There was free parking on site! We had no problem getting a car park, although the parking area wasn't that big.
I would definitely stay here again! The hotel, apart from breakfast, to me, had a nice atmosphere with clean & comfortable accommodation & a quiet but central location.
Kilkenny castle is a very short walk from the hotel & is well worth a visit. The castle is very impressive & it's set in a lovely green parkland that would be a wonderful spot for a picnic or just a good walk around on a nice day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Huge rooms, even by USA standards. Super clean, comfy and a great hair dryer (not the kind attached to the wall). Great location, walkable to everything downtown (castle, shopping, etc). Friendly staff and free parking. I'm already planning my next trip to Kilkenny and will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 302 and 304. One of them, can't remember which one, overlooked the street which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Cannot understand how this hotel is rated Number 1 in Kilkenny, does not deserve that rating. The staff at reception are excellent and the rooms are fine but there is nothing special about this hotel. Breakfast was poor, staff at breakfast were unhelpful and very slow, food is standard fare that you might expect from a cheap three star hotel but not at the prices the Pembroke is charging. Car park is pokey and far too small. There are far better hotels in Kilkenny. Pembroke is ar too expensive for the standard being offered.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pembroke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Hotel

Address: 11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have discovered the Pembroke Hotel, Kilkenny’s favourite boutique hotel, a relaxed oasis in the heart of the old city quarter. The 4 Star Pembroke Hotel is situated on Patrick Street, Kilkenny’s most exclusive street right in the centre of a city that is rich with medieval heritage and alive with a vibrant arts culture. With 74 comfortable, spacious, airy bedrooms, its Stathams Bar and Stathams Restaurant and a dedicated business centre, the Pembroke Hotel offers a peaceful welcoming charm with quiet luxury and comfort at its core. You will feel truly comfortable in this warm and friendly hotel where you are assured of a restful sleep in the heart of the city. Surrounded by Kilkenny’s most famous landmarks including Kilkenny Castle, Butler House and Gardens and the National Craft Gallery it is fitting that we take our name from the Earl of Pembroke for whom Kilkenny castle was built. Creativity flows through everything we do at the Pembroke Hotel, from our modern interior to our fresh imaginative food, so it is natural for us as a patron of the Butler Gallery to showcase a selection from their permanent collection. Whether your visit is for business, pleasure or celebration, we look forward to warmly welcoming you and to providing you with our thoughtful, naturally attentive and caring service in a relaxed atmosphere where you will feel safe and cared for. Quite simply – we are committed to looking after our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Pembroke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.