We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the No 1 hotel in Kilkenny” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pembroke Hotel to your Saves list
Pembroke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not the No 1 hotel in Kilkenny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Cannot understand how this hotel is rated Number 1 in Kilkenny, does not deserve that rating. The staff at reception are excellent and the rooms are fine but there is nothing special about this hotel. Breakfast was poor, staff at breakfast were unhelpful and very slow, food is standard fare that you might expect from a cheap three star hotel but not at the prices the Pembroke is charging. Car park is pokey and far too small. There are far better hotels in Kilkenny. Pembroke is ar too expensive for the standard being offered.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    329
    65
    29
    3
See reviews for
134
578
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped in Kilkenny at the Pembroke for 2 nights as a part of our 2 week tour of Ireland. This is a very comfortable modern hotel in the city center, yet quiet at night and with a very friendly professional staff. Very late the first evening, my wife suffered a medical emergency and needed physician care. The staff members at the hotel on duty were extraordinary in helping us cope with our problem and arranged for a "Doctors on Call" service to come to the hotel. Fortunately we were able to continue on with our tour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice and always enjoyed it. It is close to the main centre but far away not to hear the nightlife. Beds are very comfortable and rooms are a good size. Breakfast was to order on mid week but buffet basis on weekend. There was something for everyone though.

I love Kilkenny and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel was in a superb position with a good secure carpark. All the staff were friendly, courteous and very informative. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good and filling. All town sights within easy walking district. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We overnighted at the Pembroke on our way through Kilkenny and were very pleased with our choice. The room was large and well-appointed, as well as being clean and comfortable. The staff was, without exception, friendly, professional, and very helpful. Without doubt, though, breakfast was the highlight of our stay. Served buffet-style, everything was delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple f nights and was realky looking forward to it, given all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor.
Staff are nice and friendly. Location is fantastic. My view from the room was overlooking the car park and rather ugly.
Considering the hotel claims to be a Boutique hotel, I was underwhelmed. No bathrobe or slippers, no drinking water or minibar in the room, really basic toileteries and a rather nasty stain right in the middle of the room (103). The room was spacious, the bathroom was very small with missing fixtures on the shower.
The feel of the hotel was rather utilitarian rather than charming which is a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nice hotel in an easy location, staff being pleasant and available, and knowledgeable about the Kilkenny surroundings. Provides a good starting point after flying into Dublin, if the goal is to take a southwestward trek through Ireland. (Possibly the argument might be that it is an unncessary stop, if the goal is to move towards Kinsale, but offers an easy break if flying into Dublin in the early morning.) Breakfasts are pleasing, with a large assortment of fresh foods and beverages. (Also, this is directly across the street from a great restaurant for dinner, Zuni.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pembroke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Hotel

Address: 11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have discovered the Pembroke Hotel, Kilkenny’s favourite boutique hotel, a relaxed oasis in the heart of the old city quarter. The 4 Star Pembroke Hotel is situated on Patrick Street, Kilkenny’s most exclusive street right in the centre of a city that is rich with medieval heritage and alive with a vibrant arts culture. With 74 comfortable, spacious, airy bedrooms, its Stathams Bar and Stathams Restaurant and a dedicated business centre, the Pembroke Hotel offers a peaceful welcoming charm with quiet luxury and comfort at its core. You will feel truly comfortable in this warm and friendly hotel where you are assured of a restful sleep in the heart of the city. Surrounded by Kilkenny’s most famous landmarks including Kilkenny Castle, Butler House and Gardens and the National Craft Gallery it is fitting that we take our name from the Earl of Pembroke for whom Kilkenny castle was built. Creativity flows through everything we do at the Pembroke Hotel, from our modern interior to our fresh imaginative food, so it is natural for us as a patron of the Butler Gallery to showcase a selection from their permanent collection. Whether your visit is for business, pleasure or celebration, we look forward to warmly welcoming you and to providing you with our thoughtful, naturally attentive and caring service in a relaxed atmosphere where you will feel safe and cared for. Quite simply – we are committed to looking after our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Pembroke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.