We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pembroke Hotel to your Saves list
Pembroke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I would recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We loved it here. The staff are friendly and helpful and the house is comfortable and charming. Our room was nice, good beds, TV, heating, tea and coffee facilities, all the usual comforts. There is also a lounge area which is a pleasant place to sit and read or use the wifi.The location is absolutely fine by our standards. There are dozens of places to eat, drink and shop.Fantastic location, wonderful people, great breakfast and those little extra touches that mean so much.Highly recommended, will hopefully stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Really lovely hotel.
Staff were professional and welcoming. Really attentive also and helpful.
Stayed here for a friends birthday and the hotel rooms were clean, modern and had everything we needed. Breakfast was great and the food in the bar also looked lovely. Would definately stay again if I was in Kilkenny - also in a very central location. Only one thing could be improved and thats the parking, but if you get there early on day of check in it shouldnt be an issue,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hicmarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Lovely hotel really good value and the rooms were very big and very clean, the decor was what you would expect in a 4 star rated hotel and I would not look elsewhere when I return to kilkenny. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening but the breakfast was really good and the location was perfect just 2 mins walk from the castle grounds and main shopping streets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was one of a group of ladies who stayed for a weekend in November.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The food was very good and the accommodation very clean.
I would reccommend this hotel for a visit too KIlkenney city as it is very centrally located.

Room Tip: Arrive eraly to avail of off street parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is right in the center of Kilkenny, next to the castle.

There is a parking, and if it is full, another one (so you can always be sure to have space to park)

The rooms are very big, very clean, and the beds are confortable.

There is a large choice for breakfast (buffet)

Maybe a bit expensive..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Atmosphere: Cold and unwelcoming. More like a Public Bar than Hotel Bar.
Staff: Inattentive, uncaring and indifferent.
Service: Very poor despite being well staffed and few customers. However staff and Manager/Owner did pay special attention to known customers. We had to ask our waiter to stay with us as we choose our sweet as it had already taken over an hour to have 2 courses. We were not offered coffee or even once approached to see if everything was to our satisfaction.
Menu: Limited. Starter: Carrot Soup served with 2 slices of brown bread and butter or nothing. Main: Roast Pork which was “Dish of the Day” was lukewarm, unimaginative and poorly presented. My friends Fried Fish was broken in half. Dessert: Miniature Trifle with fresh cream, my friend Meringue with fresh cream. Both dishes were stored on the bar counter, uncovered and at room temperature.
Overall: A poor introduction with Promotional Vouchers to Lunch or evening Meal at this 4 Star Hotel. I would not promote this hotel to my relatives or friends or visit again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that your lunch did not meet the standards expected and we will carefully consider the issues raised.

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit as the feedback is important to us.

In November we keep our menu simple as it is a quiet month and also during these quiet times we give trainees a little responsibility. This is managed, however there can be challenges. Our staff are generally seen as friendly and attentive, but clearly you did not have this experience and the overall length of time was unacceptable. I have reviewed the issues with all waiting staff and duty managers.

The deserts were kept on a chilled board, which is specially designed for the purpose. Being more like a Public Bar that a Hotel bar would be an aspiration for many a hotel, however, we do wish to be warm and welcoming.

It is unfortunate that you didn’t complain to management at the time and the issue would have been resolved, however, I do hope that you will visit again, so that you may enjoy our hotel as we wish to present it.

Warm regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a near perfect stay in this lovely hotel. The Pembroke is fantastically situated for the whole town. The food was good - we only ate the bar menu but that was lovely, breakfasts varied and good. All the staff were excellent; unfailingly cheerful and welcoming and seemed very proud of their hotel. It was fascinating to talk to the manager (I think) about the history of the garage Statham's (the name of the bar) and model-T Fords, and top class motor racing. That made sense of the decor in the bar!

here were a couple of glitches in our room (bulb broken in guest light and problems with instructions for safe) both were dealt with within 5 minutes of telling reception. We were visiting on business but the Pembroke made business a pleasure. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Hotel

Address: 11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have discovered the Pembroke Hotel, Kilkenny’s favourite boutique hotel, a relaxed oasis in the heart of the old city quarter. The 4 Star Pembroke Hotel is situated on Patrick Street, Kilkenny’s most exclusive street right in the centre of a city that is rich with medieval heritage and alive with a vibrant arts culture. With 74 comfortable, spacious, airy bedrooms, its Stathams Bar and Stathams Restaurant and a dedicated business centre, the Pembroke Hotel offers a peaceful welcoming charm with quiet luxury and comfort at its core. You will feel truly comfortable in this warm and friendly hotel where you are assured of a restful sleep in the heart of the city. Surrounded by Kilkenny’s most famous landmarks including Kilkenny Castle, Butler House and Gardens and the National Craft Gallery it is fitting that we take our name from the Earl of Pembroke for whom Kilkenny castle was built. Creativity flows through everything we do at the Pembroke Hotel, from our modern interior to our fresh imaginative food, so it is natural for us as a patron of the Butler Gallery to showcase a selection from their permanent collection. Whether your visit is for business, pleasure or celebration, we look forward to warmly welcoming you and to providing you with our thoughtful, naturally attentive and caring service in a relaxed atmosphere where you will feel safe and cared for. Quite simply – we are committed to looking after our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Low Cost Holidays and Travelocity so you can book your Pembroke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing