We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in the Bar” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pembroke Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pembroke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lunch in the Bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Atmosphere: Cold and unwelcoming. More like a Public Bar than Hotel Bar.
Staff: Inattentive, uncaring and indifferent.
Service: Very poor despite being well staffed and few customers. However staff and Manager/Owner did pay special attention to known customers. We had to ask our waiter to stay with us as we choose our sweet as it had already taken over an hour to have 2 courses. We were not offered coffee or even once approached to see if everything was to our satisfaction.
Menu: Limited. Starter: Carrot Soup served with 2 slices of brown bread and butter or nothing. Main: Roast Pork which was “Dish of the Day” was lukewarm, unimaginative and poorly presented. My friends Fried Fish was broken in half. Dessert: Miniature Trifle with fresh cream, my friend Meringue with fresh cream. Both dishes were stored on the bar counter, uncovered and at room temperature.
Overall: A poor introduction with Promotional Vouchers to Lunch or evening Meal at this 4 Star Hotel. I would not promote this hotel to my relatives or friends or visit again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that your lunch did not meet the standards expected and we will carefully consider the issues raised.

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit as the feedback is important to us.

In November we keep our menu simple as it is a quiet month and also during these quiet times we give trainees a little responsibility. This is managed, however there can be challenges. Our staff are generally seen as friendly and attentive, but clearly you did not have this experience and the overall length of time was unacceptable. I have reviewed the issues with all waiting staff and duty managers.

The deserts were kept on a chilled board, which is specially designed for the purpose. Being more like a Public Bar that a Hotel bar would be an aspiration for many a hotel, however, we do wish to be warm and welcoming.

It is unfortunate that you didn’t complain to management at the time and the issue would have been resolved, however, I do hope that you will visit again, so that you may enjoy our hotel as we wish to present it.

Warm regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    283
    50
    24
    3
See reviews for
112
473
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a near perfect stay in this lovely hotel. The Pembroke is fantastically situated for the whole town. The food was good - we only ate the bar menu but that was lovely, breakfasts varied and good. All the staff were excellent; unfailingly cheerful and welcoming and seemed very proud of their hotel. It was fascinating to talk to the manager (I think) about the history of the garage Statham's (the name of the bar) and model-T Fords, and top class motor racing. That made sense of the decor in the bar!

here were a couple of glitches in our room (bulb broken in guest light and problems with instructions for safe) both were dealt with within 5 minutes of telling reception. We were visiting on business but the Pembroke made business a pleasure. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently brought my fiancé on a romantic weekend break to Kilkenny and was pleasantly surprised how accessible the city is from Dublin. I don’t usually post feedback on hotels we stay in but I feel the attentiveness of the staff in the Pembroke Hotel deserves a mention. The hotel itself is only a stone’s throw from the hustle and bustle of the town centre, which we sampled on the Friday. After a beautiful breakfast, we strolled around the wonderful castle which is right next door to the hotel on the Saturday. The hotel itself is also a great place for a relaxed romantic meal (I have to recommend the Connemara lamb), followed by a few (too many) night caps in the elegant bar out front.
We effectively rolled two weekends into one on our trip to Kilkenny and would both highly recommend the Pembroke Hotel as a great weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

before you travel do ring ahead and check if heating is working.....i stayed in oct and the heating was not working in two rooms....also seemed cold in the reception area......note from other users....they got same cold experience..............no mention on check out and no reduction for one star show.......................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for a hen, three of us shared a triple room at a cost €240 which I thought was pretty excessive!

There is a serious lack of parking which I wouldn't have expected as the hotel is so pricey! Location is perfect though!

We checked in, staff were lovely, ordered our wake up call. The room was lovely and spacious but there seemed to be a few stains on the carpet. The room was pretty cold so before we went out for the night we turned on the heating.

After our day and night of activities, we arrived back to the hotel around 2.30am and the room was FREEZING! We called down to let them know the heating wasn't working and the guy we spoke to kept telling us it was fixed when it wasn't. Eventually he brought up an electric heater.

The next morning, we didn't receive our wake up call which was pretty disappointing. We just happened to wake up and made it down to brekkie on time. The breakfast was delicious I have to say.

On checking out, we complained to the manager and he couldn't have been more helpful! Overall, I wouldn't stay again to be honest, the staff were all lovely and helpful but for the price we paid I wasn't overly impressed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
The rate agreed with your group was €80 per person for B&B averaged over mostly twin rooms, with some triples. The total for a twin at €160 on a busy night, represents reasonable value.

We have various parking options with 90 spaces in 2 private car parks. You perhaps formed your opinion with the sight of one car park being busy, as you didn’t state that you didn’t get parking.

I am sorry that you didn’t get your call and experienced heating difficulties. One of the Air-conditioning units was working at reduced capacity that night. The reduced capacity would have been sufficient, but for a sharp drop in temperatures on a night that the hotel was full.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and that our staff and the duty manager couldn’t have been more helpful and I hope that you may return and have the kind of experience we would wish for.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent (Garden of England)
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is rated a four star, but the experience was very much a package holiday four star. Our room was large and pleasant, but the heating didn't work. On complaining about this they promised to fix it, but didn't. Complaining again, we were moved to another room where the heating also didn't work. Eventually they admitted that the heating was not working anywhere in the hotel. If so, then why did they move us?

Eventually they gave us a portable radiator.

Breakfast was standard Irish fare, which is to say pretty good.

Very much a modern production line "four star" with little real character. Car park out the back fills up quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you experienced heating difficulties. One of the Air-conditioning units was working at reduced capacity that night and unfortunately you were moved to another room served by the same unit. The reduced capacity would have been sufficient, but for a sharp drop in temperatures on a night that the hotel was full. There is no question of problems with the heating throughout. Independent units serve a small number of rooms.

I am pleased that you found your rooms to be pleasant and large and that you had a pretty good breakfast.

We have loads of parking with 90 spaces in 2 private car parks.

We work hard to deliver a good experience and I am sorry that your experience was disappointing.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed in the Pembroke Kilkenny midweek for 1 Night on business. All staff that I came into contact were very professional and attentive. Room was very spacious and very clean. After a full day of driving I was looking forward to a decent sleep. The comfortable bed certainly sorted that out. Free WIFI and Car Parking was an added bonus. Would certainly come back, but would like to get back at the weekend and for leisure purposes. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other colleagues or friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pembroke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Hotel

Address: 11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have discovered the Pembroke Hotel, Kilkenny’s favourite boutique hotel, a relaxed oasis in the heart of the old city quarter. The 4 Star Pembroke Hotel is situated on Patrick Street, Kilkenny’s most exclusive street right in the centre of a city that is rich with medieval heritage and alive with a vibrant arts culture. With 74 comfortable, spacious, airy bedrooms, its Stathams Bar and Stathams Restaurant and a dedicated business centre, the Pembroke Hotel offers a peaceful welcoming charm with quiet luxury and comfort at its core. You will feel truly comfortable in this warm and friendly hotel where you are assured of a restful sleep in the heart of the city. Surrounded by Kilkenny’s most famous landmarks including Kilkenny Castle, Butler House and Gardens and the National Craft Gallery it is fitting that we take our name from the Earl of Pembroke for whom Kilkenny castle was built. Creativity flows through everything we do at the Pembroke Hotel, from our modern interior to our fresh imaginative food, so it is natural for us as a patron of the Butler Gallery to showcase a selection from their permanent collection. Whether your visit is for business, pleasure or celebration, we look forward to warmly welcoming you and to providing you with our thoughtful, naturally attentive and caring service in a relaxed atmosphere where you will feel safe and cared for. Quite simply – we are committed to looking after our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Escapio, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pembroke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.