We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the crown of Kilkenny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pembroke Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pembroke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jewel in the crown of Kilkenny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A fabulous boutique hotel in the middle of the bustling city of Kilkenny. Very deceptive in size i was checked in very quickly after a long drive. Having settled in to my ample sized room and a quick walk to work up an appetite I had a fantasic meal in the restaurant; main course of Pheasant was amazing, desert was okay but all in all the staff in the restaurant were extremely helpful and courteous. The lady on breakfast service the following morning was a real ball of energy who just helped brighten the day even further. Breakfast itself was fantastic and served to the table rather than the usual self service. So overall highly recommended on all fronts and will keep in mind for my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Alan

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Hotel and indeed our amazing city.

As previously described to previous guests, our restaurant is coming on leaps and bounds and we are very proud of our food across all levels. We have also just been awarded our first AA Rosette which is a huge achievement as the restaurant is so new!

I am sure you are speaking about Michelle at breakfast who believe it or not is like that every day, which makes it tough for any team member or resident alike to be in bad form when you are around her! Well done Michelle and she will be delighted to hear your comments.

We hope to see you in the New Year.

Warmest regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    543
    278
    50
    24
    3
See reviews for
108
467
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I booked this hotel on a great deal for 3 night B&B and one evening meal - when we walked in the door we were given a very warm welcome by Lorraine - our room like the rest of this hotel is spotless I have never seen a hotel so clean ( all the cleaners would greet you and smile ) - the others on the front desk like Lucy were all very helpful the 4 days we were in Kilkenny - the evening meal was on our last night and was excellent and would have eaten more in house if we had known just how good the food and service ( Sean ) was - the girls who looked after us at breakfast with the best coffee in town and top fry's one of them was yet another Lorraine were very good and welcoming first thing in the morning - its location is right in the centre and walking distance from everything - I could not fault one thing here in fact they excelled in every thing they did - if you like Indian food next door is Royal Spice (great recommendation from the front desk) we had a wonderful meal in a fantastic atmosphere.

we did enjoy our stay and we will be back -

Room Tip: our room over looked Kilkenny Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Lovely trendy hotel for a short break. Very near lots of restaurants and bars.
We stayed for 2 nights in a good size family room with 2 small kids and we all really enjoyed it.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Food was good.
Lack of a pool can be a drawback with small kids but we kept them entertained by visiting Kilkenny Castle, Castlecomer Discover Park and the Reptile Zoo in Gowran.
I would have no hesitation in recommending to a couple for a nice getaway and for families who don't mind not having a pool.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We reserved two rooms to accommodate two grandparents, one daughter, and two grandchildren, all aged 65 to 12, and all girls. The hotel was superb, the rooms very modern, clean, and comfortable, the food excellent, and the staff professional and friendly.
The grandchildren were very impressed by the fact they had a "room" to themselves, and felt very "grown up".
Overall a very good experience, especially that the hotel could cater for such a wide variety in age profile.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We planned to stay one night at the Pembroke, but extended it to 2 nights as our room looking out at the castle, was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. There is a lot to do around Kilkenny, the the young lady at the front desk was particularly helpful in making suggestions and answering questions. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The hotel is located in a great location. Walking distance to everything. Staff was so friendly. Bed was very comfortable. Would highly recommend staying here if you're traveling to Kilkenny. We did have a view of the castle from our room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to post such a kind review.

Our staff is what makes the Hotel and they are always delighted to hear when they have exeeded expectations. Our location is unrivelled in Kilkenny too which makes visiting all the local attrations very convenient.

We look forward to having you back.

Best Regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

we also got a good price deal on this hotel as we only booked it the night before our stay!
got a room with a bit of a view of the kilkenny castle, good location we walked to the smithwicks brewerey, shops and the castle within about a 5-10min walk from hotel, room was nicely furnished and clean,
nice breakfast in the morning after a good nights sleep i would recommend it for again :)

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel with a view of the castle (i cant rember for sure but i thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review.

I am pleased that you had such a pleasurable stay and made great use of our fantastic location. We do hope you come for another stay at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pembroke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Hotel

Address: 11 Patrick St., Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have discovered the Pembroke Hotel, Kilkenny’s favourite boutique hotel, a relaxed oasis in the heart of the old city quarter. The 4 Star Pembroke Hotel is situated on Patrick Street, Kilkenny’s most exclusive street right in the centre of a city that is rich with medieval heritage and alive with a vibrant arts culture. With 74 comfortable, spacious, airy bedrooms, its Stathams Bar and Stathams Restaurant and a dedicated business centre, the Pembroke Hotel offers a peaceful welcoming charm with quiet luxury and comfort at its core. You will feel truly comfortable in this warm and friendly hotel where you are assured of a restful sleep in the heart of the city. Surrounded by Kilkenny’s most famous landmarks including Kilkenny Castle, Butler House and Gardens and the National Craft Gallery it is fitting that we take our name from the Earl of Pembroke for whom Kilkenny castle was built. Creativity flows through everything we do at the Pembroke Hotel, from our modern interior to our fresh imaginative food, so it is natural for us as a patron of the Butler Gallery to showcase a selection from their permanent collection. Whether your visit is for business, pleasure or celebration, we look forward to warmly welcoming you and to providing you with our thoughtful, naturally attentive and caring service in a relaxed atmosphere where you will feel safe and cared for. Quite simply – we are committed to looking after our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Escapio, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pembroke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.