We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top end treatment throughout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosquil House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rosquil House to your Saves list
Rosquil House
Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny 00000, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 95 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
ballyclare
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“top end treatment throughout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

very welcoming helpful owners very comfortable room plenty of car parking and the breakfast was one of my very best travel experiences gladly stay here anytime

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    45
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
99
198
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Home away from home! I mean talk about welcoming with open arms, Rhoda and Phil were so warm-hearted, down-to-earth and friendly. We actually ended up at Rosquil house b/c our original booking at a nearby B&B had to be cancelled, and I'm so thankful we got moved! Their home is the nicest we stayed in and was so luxurious with all the comforts of America! Bathroom was amazing; after having tiny bathrooms throughout Ireland, it was such a relief to have space to move around and everything is so new and beautiful. I was even able to relax with a bath! Breakfast was amazing with more options than the usual B&B. It was Christmas time so, Rhoda's decorations were so pretty and homey feeling. Their dog was precious too! The distance to town isn't terrible, but definitely was a bit of a walk (at least when it's freezing, haha) about 10-15 minutes or so - but that also makes for a nice quiet location. There is a very close petrol station for any immediate needs like aspirin, drinks, snacks, etc. When we sat and chatted with Rhoda, it just felt like we were hanging out with a good friend. She lived in America before, so she is definitely in tune with the luxuries we are used to and has ensured her B&B is top of the line!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed in Rosquil for 3 nights with hubbie and 2 young children. We had the self catering room. It was absolutely perfect for us. Rhoda is so nice and helpful, the fridge was stocked for us which we hadn't expected. We were at a wedding in the NEwpark hotel and this option was perfect for us as it was only across the road and it had a tv, dvd etc for the kids. Will deffo stay there again if we go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010 via mobile

This was the finest accommodation we had in all of Ireland including two 4-star hotels. The house is gorgeous, the service outstanding, and the attention to detail unparalleled.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

The Rosquil House was beyond our expectations. We are a family of 4 with 2 small children so we stayed in their family room. It was perfect - spotless, comfortable, roomy and quiet. The breakfast was outstanding with a '5 star' dining experience.

This was one of our favorite places to stay in Ireland. A must when you are visiting Kilkenny!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We loved staying at this location. The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable. It is very peaceful neighborhood and we had hot showers everynight that we were there. I have stayed in many B&B's and hands down this B&B has the best selection of breakfast to choose from. Definately try the salmon omelet, it is delicious. Rhoda, our host was very friendly and was very resourceful not only for things to do in Kilkenny but for Ireland in general. Ten to fifteen minute walking distance to major sights like Kilkenny Castle and Cathedrals. We would love to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Austalia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

My wife and I spent 1 night at Rosquil House in September 2010 on a driving tour of Ireland. Very good B&B and friendly hosts. Off street car parking, free wi-fi and a great breakfast. Good room size. There are stairs to the upper floor if you need to carry bags. Walking distance to the town ventre for meals.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosquil House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosquil House

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built seven bedroom ensuite guest accommodation, Rosquil House is situated within easy walking distance of the city centre and Kilkenny Golf Club. Amenities include lounge, disabled access, smoking patio and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rosquil House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosquil House Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosquil House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.