We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our top three.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newlands Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newlands Lodge
Save
You added Newlands Lodge to your Saves list
Newlands, Kells Rd | Newlands, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% discount available
Ranked #2 of 95 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our top three.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 14 nights in Ireland, all in B&B's, seven total. Three of those seven were outstanding, Newlands lodge being one of them. Great location, along a side road out of town. Travel into town was easy and took us 10 minutes by our rental. Plenty of room for parking, Our room was spacious, clean, and had a wonderful view of the countryside. Food in all of our B&B's were great and at Newlands it was no different. What set this lodge apart from some of the others was our hosts Mairead and Jim. Mariread was truly special. She has such a feel for your needs and is so attentive. She has knowledge of time to see the attractions you are interested in and great advise on not scheduling more than is possible on any given day. We wanted irish blankets and mentioned this to her the night of arrival. The next morning at breakfast she gave us literature on shops in the area. (Avoca is a must.) On departure she recommended stops on the way to our next location. She is truly genuine and would be someone tou would really enjoy being friends with if you were her neighbor. Listen to her advise if you stay there as she is spot on. Great rates. Many great attractions in the area. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
179
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I travelled here in April 2012, along with another couple. With such high recommendations from travelers posting on TA, we booked in advance to be sure to not miss out. Glad we did. What a lovely B&B. such a warm welcome. We were made to feel right at home. Our room was spacious, immaculate, nicely decorated. Clean spacious private bath. The most cozy comforter I have ever slept under - really warmed our cold feet after our long, cold, damp days. Best breakfast I experienced all around Ireland. THE best scones I ever had. And there is no better way to start the day than with porridge and Baileys!
This B&B experience made me love Ireland and want to return for this incomparable hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a wonderful time here at the Newlands Lodge with our hosts Jimmy and Mairead. They were wonderful hosts and had a very nice inn to stay at. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Also enjoyed the made to order Irish breakfasts, the outdoor patio and the putting green out front. They made the beginning of our Irish vacation very enjoyable and made us feel welcome in their country (as all of the Irish people we came in contact with did during our trip).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We could not have found a better B&B than this one if we tried. Mairead and Jimmy were great hosts and run a very clean B&B in the Kilkenny country side. The home and grounds are beautiful. The hosts were just great and provided great info on Kilkenny and Irish custom. We only could stay one night but later wished we had more time to stay here.

Room Tip: This place is just outside Kilkenny but easy to get around and into town for dinner and sightseeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rock, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Newlands is a very nice B&B and Mairead and Jimmy greeted us like long lost family. The house is delightful and the area views are spectacular. We love the personal attention and directions to areas near the house that we had not planned on visiting, but were glad we did. The rooms were huge by European standards and were very clean and comfortable. The only drawback for some people (not us) was that is was about a 10 min drive out of Kilkenny. To us this made it all the nicer to be out of the hustle and bustle. Mairead gave us directions to several restaurants and we enjoyed a very nice dinner after exploring the Kilkenny castle and grounds. Breakfast was great and abundant (try the porridge!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We decided at the last minute to go to Killkenny, Ireland, and looked at our choices of B and Bs in the area on Tripadvisor. I emailed Newlands the day before we wanted to stay there. No problem, plus she gave us a discount we didn't even ask for. The B and B was just a few minutes outside town. As soon as we got there she welcomed us with open arms. Found out we were her first visitors from Iowa. She asked what our interests were and gave us a wealth of information rearding the area and the places she thought we might like. Our room was very large with all the amenities to make us comfortable - hair dryer, bottles of water, large bathroom and flat screen tv. We had a very nice common area - a lounge with hot water for coffee, tea, snacks that she supplied. We liked the B and B so much that we stayed an extra night. We will definitely stay there the next time we go to Ireland. Mairead and Jimmy were great hosts.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the front yard where Jimmy had installed a putting green that my husband used wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although our stay with Mairead and Jimmy was all too brief, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. They were perfect hosts and really made us feel like special guests. The attention to detail ensured that we had every comfort, and the breakfast was the finest of our trip. We will definitely return, and next time, we will stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Lodge

Address: Newlands, Kells Rd | Newlands, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mairead & Jimmy offer luxury accommodation with a choice of superior double and family rooms with king and queen size beds, all rooms with en-suite facilities, guest lounge to relax, private parking, landscaped gardens, free wi-fi. Full Irish breakfast included in rates, and light refreshments available at all times. Newlands Lodge is situated in beautiful countryside, just 4 miles from the magnificent Kilkenny Castle and the 13th century St Sacice's cathedral. Newlands Lodge is Ideally located to tour the surrounding counties of Waterford, Tipperary, and Wexford, all less than 1 hours drive. Dublin is connected to Kilkenny by motorway and the drive is 90 minutes. Newlands lodge welcomes you to its peaceful atmosphere enhanced by a fine reputation of hospitality and customer care. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newlands Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newlands Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.