We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel ideally located on Kilkenny By Pass,but car required” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aspect Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel ideally located on Kilkenny By Pass,but car required”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

One night stay only. Warm welcome, good breakfast. Care and research needed to know when to turn off the by-pass as about 3 roundabouts coming from N11 Dublin road, and you have to drive through Industrial Estate/shopping centre to get to it. Plenty of parking outside hotel. Menu did not have great selection therefore went into town for evening meal. Kilkenny has very narrow streets, and we found Ormonde Street Multi Storey carPark most convenient from hotel and was ideally situated for High Street, and to get back from town onto by pass roundabout by hotel.
Room was clean and spacious, but overall would not stay here more than one night.
You can get onto the Waterford road by simply driving round the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: It was in a quiet location so any ground floor room facing the car park should be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    171
    98
    36
    16
See reviews for
64
212
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: free parking, big room

Cons: think this was a senior's home converted into a hotel. There are hand rails everywhere and in the shower was a foldable seat. The shower is not a tub and there is no groove to prevent water from flowing ALL over the bathroom.
A double occupancy room was 2 single beds pushed together and yes you could feel the edges of the mattress and the springs digging into your back.
Hotel card doesn't always work. The cleaning lady showed us the technique of pushing it in and out super fast 5 times.
Not close to city centre, have to drive everywhere. Fortunately just a one night stay.

As BF puts it: the best thing about this hotel was the Guinness pint.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with 16 girls for a hen party. When we arrived we were all in great form but sadly we were met by a very rude receptionist wit no social skills and a dogid manner do not know how she was actually hired and I cudnt imagine people will go back simply because of her. Otherwise hotel was nice food was good cheap and cheerful.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunclody, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am still not sure about this hotel, even 2 days later. My better half arrived before me and checked in, when I arrived I had some trouble, but nothing major.
The room it's self was fine, warm and spacious. The bathroom and bath was small, but had all you needed.
I went to the bar area which seems to be just in the reception area, it is very small and as there were 3 people sitting at the bar there was not a lot of room to ask for drinks. I could not see if they were serving food, as there were no menus or signs. The restaurant area seemed very big and if they reconfigured it, the bar could be enlarged and made more comfortable.
Breakfast was fine.
The hotel needs some work to make it a better stay, and they need to get rid of all the Days Hotel signage, including those on the room numbers. I would stay again, but it is not somewhere you could stay for more than the one night.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walking through the hallway to get to my room reminded me walking through nursing home. It was stale and smelled like perhaps "pee" , "smoke", "dirty socks". There is no air circulating in the room so you have to keep the windows open even though it is cold, damp and raining outside. There is no fan in the bathroom so the moisture lingers making the old and dirty carpet smell more profound. Also, taking a shower was not pleasant as the water accumulated around my legs due to bad drainage. There is also no exercise facility and the beds are "lumpy" and very uncomfortable. The room is a good size but honestly...many regrets sleeping here. Would have rather spent just a bit more. I rated the noise level to be low due to the simple fact that we have to sleep with the windows open. As well, there is creaking noise in the walls that come and go. Value is rated low even though the price was relatively low because..I would have rather slept in a hostel or car if I was really on a tight budget. The pictures look very deceiving..this hotel has not aged gracefully and needs some updating. I do not recommend this hotel and will never come back or refer.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Leinster, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just had a lovely weekend at this hotel and enjoyed our stay ,the room was lovely as was the buffet breakfast ,the staff were very helpful organising taxis and recomending places to visit during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed for two nights midweek as we had business in Kilkenny .Over all it is ok - basic rooms .
As we checked in after 8 pm we were asked have we eaten as the restaurant just closed. Gentleman who check us in was very pleasant.
We were rather disappointed with the cleanliness of our room (rm165).I have pulled the desk chair and the wooden panel end up in my hand .The chair itself had a layer of dust and had a hair clip left from a previous guest. no luggage rack either for the suitcase . However the linen was fresh and the bed comfortable.The bathroom had a funny smell - body fat mixed with shampoo/gel . Some items in bathroom could do with the deep cleaning - like top bit of mirror ,bottle opener and socket (covers).
As we were staying on the first floor we tend to use the stair case - looks like this carpet has not seen the hoover recently .
Overall it is a basic hotel and for the price we paid it is ok ,but I definitely think this hotel seen better days .Probably cut hours for employees related in cleanliness letting them down so much .
At check out we were not asked how did we like our stay etc. We were asked if we would like to have a receipt .We waited for about 10 min to get it when the lady came back and said her printer is broken and she can not provide us with one. We were not offered to send it via email or post.
Lack of good customer service too.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your genuine feedback. I have just had a meeting with my accommodation team to discuss the content of your feedback. I do apologise for the lack of attention to detail during your stay but I can assure you that the points raise are all been addressed today. We value genuine feedback and depend on the honesty of your feedback.
Thank you for taking time to offer us your comments.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.