We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Save Saved
You added Aspect Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice hotel on the outskirts of Kilkenny. Its a 20 min walk to the town centre. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size. I disliked the plastic glasses in the bathroom though. Breakfast was plentiful. We had dinner one night too and I couldn't fault it. Great value overall and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    143
    77
    26
    14
See reviews for
58
170
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hey guys, Caitriona, Kylie and myself (Lucia) just booked a room in your hotel. We are doing a charity skydive in Kilkenny on Saturday and can not wait to stay in your hotel. We just booked the room a minute ago and the and the lady we spoke to was so nice and accomodating. She was able to provide me answers to all questions asked such as how much the taxi would be into town, the nearest swimming pool and even that they can accommodate for my friend who is a celiac. The price of the room is the cheapest around by far and we just wanted to leave a review to say that if the hotel stay is even half as good as the service we received just booking the hotel then we are going to have a very present trip to Kilkenny and stay in aspect hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just returned from a two night stay, excellent hotel, staff are very pleasant, helpful and could not do enough for you. Very spacious room, comfortable bed and good food. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well just returned from the Aspect Hotel again. Love Love this hotel on arrival was greeted as always by reception team and management with a big hello and warm smiles not that I expected anything else from this crew professional as always. I entered the Room to our usual Rewards members treats so it just starts your stay at the hotel on a high. We had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious a special mention for Eugene he was so attentive and chatty and whatever we asked for he got it without a problem. I just wanted to say reading the other reviews especially the one about things I have stayed in this hotel numerous times to count and I have never encountered such professional, hardworking and honest staff so i think this review is very unfair anyway we are planning our next trip to Kilkenny and the Aspect hotel already

Room Tip: Just One tip maybe when booking try and go for the dinner Bed & Breakfast rate fantastic food re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel iself is out of the city centre and in an industrial estate. The room itself was clean and the breakfast was nice. We stayed for 2 nights in April. On arriving home from the hotel and unpacking, I noticed two silver rings and a bottle of expensive perfume had gone missing. I had only packed one small suitcase so knew exactly what I had with me. I called the hotel and they said that nothing was left in the room I stayed in. If it were one item, I may have felt that I could have mislaid it or something, but not three items! I then emailed the hotel twice to complain that items had clearly been stolen and got absolutely no reply for them. That tells me that they must be used to getting this sort of complaint, as you would expect any normal hotel to contact you immediately and apologise etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

[May I say, right from the beginning, that this is NOT a fake review!!!]

I read quite a few reviews of the Aspect Hotel and many were quite derogatory of the hotel. As usual, I was reading the reviews long after booking our stay and shortly before arriving. Of course at that stage it was too late to run...

Well, trip advisor's inherent weakness was exposed again as straight away on arrival, we were almost smothered in care and attention but the wonderful lady at reception, Chloe.

It was late when we arrived but we were snuck into the restaurant just before its official closing time and again were treated like royalty, this time by the fantastic Joanna.

I don't want to spend ages writing this so if you don't mind, I'll just paste in the comment I have just written for the hotel itself:

"We had a wonderful stay. We were made particularly welcome by both Chloe and Joanna who watched out for us the whole two days we were at the hotel. Two very different people who achieved the same thing in completely different ways – a real 'Irish' welcome!
Smart hotel to be employing people of that calibre – good HR dept...!!
Thanks everyone.
Ronan, Máire, Diarmaid & Eilidh"

I know I am only singling out Chloe and Joanna. We were well taken care of also by Colm as we entered the restaurant and I enjoyed his quiet sense of humour!

When we bumped into any of the cleaning staff in the morning they stopped to ask how we slept!!

Yes, the en-suite was smallish but it worked perfectly. This is a commercial hotel in the middle of a ring-road commercial park. I wasn't expecting the Shelbourne Hotel days after a major refurb. In fact, what I was expecting was a dump as that is what many of the trip advisor reviews were leading me to believe.

Another thing (and this is one of my BIG bugbears) was that there was NO nappy on the bed. Joy of joys – YAY...!!! I can't stand them. I usually arrive up to my room, wrecked and just dying to fall into the bed but I know that if I don't remove the plastic under-sheet, I'll wake up in an hour's time dripping in sweat and my night's sleep destroyed. There really is no need for these damnable devices; if people are going to destroy the place, they'll find a way of doing it whether some silly twit in a suit has specified a nappy or not.

Anyway, the Aspect Hotel in Kilkenny does NOT put plastic nappies on the beds!!! Not only that but the beds themselves are high quality complex affairs, so much so that I was tempted to rip off the sheets to see the label so that I could buy one myself for home. Thanks you Aspect suited people – you're obviously people of high moral fibre

Another one – people complained about the reception, the bar and the dining area all being in the one space – yeas they were and may I say well done to the client and the architect who had the guts to go for this wonderful design which made the ground floor public space very open and friendly. This isn't a boutique hotel in an old Georgian town house; one more time, it is a commercial hotel with a big heart.

So, there you go. We had a great two days staying at the small commercial hotel that is the Aspect. Long may they prosper!!

Cheers,
Ronan

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our way from Dublin to Kilkenny, in the middle of nowhere, a small place. Rooms are ok, not state of the art ( old tube TVs are in the rooms), but comfortable on the whole. It's pretty small, which is a good factor, but don't take the elevator (you're either on the copies or second floor anyway). Some fellow travelers got trapped in the elevator which stopped in between floors (!) and we were advised to take the stairs. Breakfast was disappointing with respect to most hotels. Not much to eat but not starving. Don't think I'll go back, maybe a hotel in the center of gorgeous Kilkenny next time.

Room Tip: Anywhere. You're overlooking a parking lot anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.