We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with the most amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aspect Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay with the most amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for my birthday weekend. All of the staff where so friendly and always went out of there way to help. Exp. the night staff. The price was great rooms and food was lovely there is a small bar does the job before heading out couldn't drink there for the night hotel is a bit out if the way from town but for the price was worth every penny. The staff really made it for us

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback and the Team love to get the feedback. We are fortunate enough that we do have an excellent team employed at the Hotel and my philosophy is look after the team and they will look after the guests. Our Team do genuinely want all of our guest to leave with a positive opinion of the Hotel and it is a common trend in almost every review. Thanks again and I can assure you your business is valued by all of us here at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    158
    84
    30
    13
See reviews for
61
188
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is billed as 3-star and is priced accordingly. I have to say that the rooms were a generous size, clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was good, although we didn't eat there at other times. The staff were professional, courteous and helpful. The hotel was a mile or so from the town centre at the side of an out-of-town shopping centre, which was no big deal for us - we weren't expecting majestic herds of wildebeest sweeping across the serengetti. We walked into the centre of town in about 20 mins. If you have limited mobility you'll need a taxi at 8 Euros. A friend and I were staying last weekend for the comedy festival and were dismayed to find on our arrival that only one room was booked instead of two. The hotel staff redeemed the situation by offering us apologies and compensation that were most acceptable - well done Aspect! We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for you very kind review it is very much appreciated. I can see we did not get your booking entirely correct but glad we were able to redeem ourselves and please to read that you are happy to return again to stay with us. Please continue to spread to positive word for Aspect Hotel Kilkenny and remember we are always the best value in Kilkenny and even more so when you book on the Hotels own official website.
Thanks for your valued business.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Arrived at hotel after having great difficulty finding it. It wasnt very well signposted and looked like an office block in an industrial park. Room was ok but single bed very small and a duvet not even big enough to cover my modesty. Decided to stay in hotel for dinner and ordered steak and chips. I was given steak and baked potato so had to wait another few minutes for chips. Onion rings were to come with meal but they and the chips were of the frozen variety. Wasnt worth the 130 euro for the stay. In fact wasnt worth any money. Definitely will not stay there again even for free.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry we seemed to have not impressed you one bit with your stay. Our food does have an excellent reputation so I am surprised to hear your feedback. With regards to our duvets been small, they are actually larger than a standard duvet for a single bed so again I am surprised.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Particularly friendly and helpful staff and good value for the business traveller
Food is excellent and all facilities available with wifi,
A comfortable bed and a good nights sleep coupled with a daily paper and self service breakfast ideal for anyone on the road

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your genuine feedback and I am delighted to read all of your positive comments. A lot of our guests are customers who have stayed with us before and returning again. We love to see this as it is a real vote of confidence by our guest in what we have to offer. Thanks again for your valued business it is very much appreciated at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently for work reasons and appropriately found it is situated on a retail estate. There's a KFC 100m away, along with a couple of carpet mega-stores and a car dealer. Needless to say, there's ample parking.

This is the hotel equivalent of a car ferry, but without the glamour. Nothin' fancy. There is a bed in a room with a door that locks. It's clean and devoid of any identifying features.

Breakfast was included, and it's easy to get into town.

Stairwells are well lit.

Room Tip: back of the hotel is quiet, odd numbered rooms. Even ones are more likely to be overlooking the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback but we do value genuine feedback. I am sorry to read your comments in relation to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny but I just wonder if you have mixed us up with some other Hotel that you may have stayed at as we get very positive feedback in general and to described as a car ferry is far from norm.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location of this hotel is not good if your planning to walk into town for a night out. It is based in a retail park outside town.
There is nothing to the hotel, everything is there when you walk in the door, bar, restaurant, foyer. There was no room service. You would not be staying here for a weekend getaway. The rooms were ok.
I thought it was expensive for what was on offer. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry you did not find our location very nice but that is beyond our controll. We never claim to be located in the centre of the City but most people love our location because they are our of the street noise by night and able to get a nights sleep when they plan to sleep yet close to the City to enjoy what it has to offer. The City is within walking distance of the hotel with a foot path all the way to the centre of town.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My partner and I had a lovely stay at this hotel recently.
Room was spacious and comfortable, food was lovely
We had not booked in advance, we were greeted by a lovely member of staff at the reception.
I think her name was Helen McCabe. She was a pleasure to deal with, very friendly and welcoming.

We will definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your genuine feedback, it is very much appreciated. Helen was very please to read your very kind comments, Helen is an excellent team member and dedicated to poviding the customer with a genuine postive experience whilst with us. Please continue to tell all you come incntact with about us as we love to stay very busy and now thankfully much of our business is from repeat guests, something we love to see.
Thanks for your valued business its very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clment Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.