We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Save Saved
You added Aspect Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went here with a friend for a night away in Kilkenny. It was perfect. Room was comfortable clean and had everything you need. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful with every request.
We had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast and both meals were perfect. When we were checking out I couldn't believe that it had cost so little we will definitely be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, I am delighted to read all the positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    142
    67
    21
    13
See reviews for
52
161
8
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Fantastic value hotel, always greeted with a smile at reception. The room was clean and breakfast was nice. This hotel is mainly for stag/hens and nights out, i wouldn't recommend to family's as may get a little loud at night.

Room Tip: Always ask for non-smoking if you don't smoke, you can smell smoke in some corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding locally. Our initial welcome was friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and clean. We were given a smoking room but as we did not have time to change we decided to put up with the smell for the night. In the early hours of the morning by a couple next door fighting. They were banging/kicking in doors and/or furniture and using foul language (to put it mildly). I rang reception but heard no intervention and the fight went on for at least another half an hour. Two hours later there was a man roaming around shouting. The next morning at a chaotic breakfast a group of 20/30 year old Irish 'men' dominated the whole atmosphere with disgusting language and derogatory comments about women in a room with young families dining. On leaving (as quickly as we could so the hotel would not taint the memory of a beautiful wedding) I complained to a manager who was apologetic but said hens and stags were Kilkenny's main business at weekends. This hotel clearly just caters for lowlife behaviour. People are allowed roam the corridors and sit around late at night talking at the top of their voices near the rooms. None of the staff intervene in completely unacceptable behaviour. If you're a party person with no standards and no regard for others this is the place for you. A hotel needs to set its standards and that includes managing its guests. I will never step foot in here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback. We do appreciate all feedback and it is with regret that I read our your opinion of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, I can assure you thankfully it is far from the norm. Unfortunately we had a small group of guests who disturbed the residents but I can assure you we did invest mush effort to keep these guests disturbances to a minimum but unfortunately for you your room was very close to theirs. I know my Senior Manager did speak to you upon checkout to offer a complimentary return stay but unfortunately you did not wish to avail of his offer. I can assure you this is not our normal type of guest experience and I am so sorry that we did not deliver the experience you deserved to have.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night for a break away with the family. Great value for money lovely big spotless modern room,bathroom,comfortable beds nicest place we had stayed in for a long time. Dinner and buffett breakfast was delicious and the staff super friendly and helpful couldn't do enough for you.
The only thing that let our stay down was the lack of sleep from a party shouting and running around the corridor for two hours from 3.30am on we had to call the security twice to try quieten them down
and I'm sure we are not the only ones!
Besides that will definitely be back again but hopefully get a good nights sleep next time!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback it is very much appreciated. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please continue to tell your friends and family about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny as we would love to be able to welcome them to the Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were in Kilkenny for a stag and got a great deal to stay here, €50 per person for 1 night B&B and evening meal.
The rooms were fine nothing special but more than adequate.
The dinner was great 3 or 4 choices for starters mains and dessert and the food was excellent.
Breakfast the following morning was really top drawer as regards the hot food but little wanting on cereals and fruit and yoghurts.
The bar is fine if you're there with a group of lads but it's not really suitable for couple or family kind of thing.
Would I recommend the hotel.... for the deal we got and if you are hitting Kilkenny for a night out where creature comforts in the hotel itself are not essential then i would without doubt.
If we were doing a similar night away I'd be striahgt back to the Aspect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Apsect Hotel Kilkenny. We love to read that you are very happy to stay with us again when next in Kilkenny. We do also offer a rewards programme so perhaps it may be worth your while signing up to it next time you stay with us if you have not done so already.
Thanks again for your feedback its very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oranmore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Rooms are clean and cosy, food is great, and staff are lovely and helpful. A little bit out of town, but they arrange for cabs and you are in the city centre in minutes. Will stay here again when we come back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments and delighted to hear that you are happy to return to stay with us again in the future. Please continue to spread the positive word for Aspect Hotel Kilkenny as we would love to remain busy.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballyclare
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

in Kilkenny for business reasons and stayed one night at aspect spotlessly clean rooms warm and comfortable very friendly and helpful reception staff good homely selection of bar food and we enjoyed our meal breakfast too was a very good buffet selection wifi/mobile phone reception in the rooms was a problem for us would have liked to have watched the munster match however great hotel well priced accommodation and some sort of loyalty scheme running as well we look forward to staying at aspect Kilkenny when we are next in town

Room Tip: smoking rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback, delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear about the difficulty you encountered with the wifi but we did have some problem following our recent storm but this has now been recitified and we have put in new fibre optic lines so thankfully full service restored again. I really appreciate your feedback it is always great to recieve.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.