We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aspect Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great value for price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was the cheapest hotel in our week long stay, and it was great. It's not really in the centre of town, and it's a litle weird being surrounded by big stores. Finding it was tricky but after getting directions it's actually good. The breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the value that we offer. Please continue to tell your friends and family about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny as we would love to be able to welcome them in the future. Kind regards, Clement Gleeson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    158
    84
    30
    13
See reviews for
61
188
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night, dinner bed and breakfast. Very reasonably priced. Dinner was good, room was big and clean and breakfast was good. Only inhibitor was the Really strong smell of cigarette smoke by the lifts which was quite stifling and found the lobby/bar/restaurant very cold.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to offer your feedback it is very much appreciated. Sorry to hear that the Hotel felt cold to you but more often we are told that the Hotel is very warm. Thanks again for your feedback it is very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have stayed here on more then one occasion..very comfortable clean hotel. Hotel staff accommodating with early check in etc.short taxi ride to town centre.
Will be checking in here again in the future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your genuine feedback, we value geniune feedback very much. I am delighted to read that you have stayed with us on more than one occasion and I do hope we will see you again real soon. Glad you found the Team to be accommodation and the hotel to be very comfortable and clean, these are two of our main pillars that we pride ourselves on.
Thank you for your valued business and please continue to spread the very positive news for us as we love to remain busy.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Aspect is an average hotel, rather nondescript. The rooms are clean, however, and the employees are friendly. The location was very difficult to find--and it is on the far outskirts (suburbs) of town, by a shopping mall. So definitely not a place to stay if you want to walk into town for a cultural experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. Sorry to read that you found the Hotel hard to find but it is a medieval city so we are not allowed to put up signage by the local authorities. Sorry you found the 15 minute walk to town too far but I am sure by car it only took you 3 minutes. .
I do hope that we can welcome you back again in the very near future.
King regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

it a hotel on out skirts of kk in shopping out let car park, the rooms are clean and good beds the breakfast is ok ,should be open till 11am , its for sleeping and breakfast only type hotel.
a taxi into town cost around 10-13 euro, the walk is to far,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated, we value all genuine feedback. I am disappointed to hear you call Aspect Hotel Kilkenny a 'Sleep and Breakfast' type of Hotel as our food is very well known locally for its quality and for that reason we employ 4 full time chefs to cater for the demand for our food. I am sorry you found the 15 minute walk to town too far but I am shocked with the fee you claim to have paid for a taxi to town given we have a €6 prior to 6pm and €8 after six set fee taxis to town or perhaps your fee is for a round trip!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny employes of thirty employees all dedicated to caring for each guest that stays with us and the vast majority of our guests are repeat customers and we love to see them return time and time again.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, AL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The outside of the hotel gives an illusion that you are entering into a modern hotel. Though inside it is quite rundown and dirty, but the value is unbeatable. Breakfast was average, and the room smelled like smoke. It was adequate for a night and in no way was it a bad experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I am shocked to hear you call the hotel rundown and dirty. Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is far from rundown and dirty and I would have to question if you really experienced our Hotel or not. Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is very well received by its customers but from time to time people may write unjustified reviews. We do really value genuine reviews and if one read the other reviews it becomes clear very quickly how ofter the Hotels cleaniness is highlighted.
Breakfast is average!! It consists of Choice of Juices, Orange, Grapefruit, Apple & Cranberry. Choice of cereal, porridge, cornflakes, rice krispies, weetabix and meusli. Choice of breads, bread rolls, toast brown or white, soda bread, croissants, pain au chocolates, custard and raisin danish, fruit scones. Other items on the cold buffet, selection of youghurts, whole fruits, grapefruit segments, mandarin segments, prunes, selection of cheeses. The hot buffet then has the following choice of eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoe, black and white pudding, beans, mushrooms. So i do believe that the average person would consider the above selection to be quite extensive.
I can assure our customers that we pride ourselves on a clean hotel, a hotel with good food, a hotel that the team cares about their guests stay and above all we do offer the very best value to our guests but we do not comprimise on the quality that we offer. The vast majority of our guests are repeat customers and customers will not return if you are notting offering a memorable stay.
As I mentioned earlier, we do value and welcome genuine feedback.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The food was lovely and value for one night good but the second quite expensive. There was a smell of smoke in our room from previous residents was not nice and we were given air freshener for this. I would not stay on ground floor if I stayed there again. Staff were very friendly and nice and it was only a short taxi into town.

Room Tip: Ask for a first/second floor non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker because all rooms are not non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated. Hotels can not be non smoking in Ireland as they are deemed to be a place of residence so one is entitled to smoke in the rooms if they book a smoking room. However guests do have a choice to book a non smoking room if they wish as we do have two entire floors of non smoking rooms and only one of smoking. It was unfortunate that you did not request a non smoking room. Pity you did not mention it to any of our team as we would have changed you to a non smoking room if we had rooms available.
Thanking you for your valuable business.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.