We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aspect Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable and relaxing - the atmosphere is good and the staff very helpful. The location is perhaps a bit too far to walk to the centre of Kilkenny but as long as you are aware of this it does not present a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay your stay with us.
looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    195
    104
    38
    16
See reviews for
71
229
14
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed one night, had a beautiful spacious warm room. The hotel staff were lovely and I got an early check in which was great. I paid €60 for a superior room with breakfast for 2 people. Excellent value. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your very nice comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do continue to tell your friends and family about your stay with us as we would love to be able to welcome them to the Hotel. Thanks again for your business, we really value your business.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great value hotel a couple of km's outside Kilkenny. Paid €50 each for 2 nights b&b. friendly staff, nice breakfast, shower. They also have a deal with local taxi co €8 into city. Would def stay here again if at KK.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Please continue to tell your friends and family about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny as we love to be able to welcome them to the Hotel and give them a positive guest experience while with us.
Thanks again for your kind feedback.
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plwmp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I hadnt done any research on this hotel before I booked but when looking for somewhere to stay overnight we stumbled on this hotel. I checked briefly online first and was pleasantly surprised to find that the receptionist quoted the same price for the room. We booked a double room with breakfast for €50.

We were given room 202 initially however when we arrived at the room, we discovered there was a loud droning noise that could be heard much too easily. I contacted the receptionist and was told that they could give me another room on the first floor away from the noise. I was pleased that they handled the swap of rooms so quickly but had been dissapointed that we were given this room in the first place as the hotel was certainly not full.

The room was comfortable, bathroom a little small but adequate. Soap very cheap quality.

The breakfast was excellent value. All the food looked very fresh and the restaurant was clean. There was plenty of choice, the only thing I would note is that the croisants were not brought out until we had nearly finished the breakfast. These happened to be the best part of the breakfast and I wish they had been available when breakfast had started at 8am (on a saturday).

Overall, a very pleasant stay and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep, request one that is quiet and do not accept any between 201 and 204 as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to offer us your feedback, very much appreciated. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. This is the level of service we aim to provide to each guest. Please do inform your friends and family about your positive stay with us as we would really love the opportunity to be able to welcome them to the Hotel in the future. We are always teh best value in Kilkenny and especially when you book directly with the Hotel or via our own website.
Thanking you again for your valued business, it is appreciated by all the Team at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for one night in the Aspect Hotel with my wife. We paid €60 for B&B. The staff we encountered were all top class.
We met some friends there and used the restaurant for our evening meal. This was exceptional value - four course meal for two and a bottle of wine for €49. There were five of us dining and we were all very pleased with the quality & service.
The was a great variety of items for breakfast but as usual I had the full Irish. My wife went for a more healthy option and was also very happy with her choice. We were also happy with our room & had a good nights sleep.
As others have said the hotel is a bit away from the city center but this did not matter to us on this occasion. There is loads of car park spaces available. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay in the Aspect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Happy New Year to you. Thank you for taking time to offer us your feedback it is very much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, please continue to tell your friends and family about us here at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny as we would really love to be able to welcome them to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not going to go into too much detail but stayed here again for new years and the change in receptionists is TOTALLY EXTREME!! from BAD TO FANTASTIC....... no matter how many times we passed reception we were greeted with big smiles and friendly attitudes! Helen McCabe was the receptionists name and full of the joys of Christmas, New Year, Spring, Summer etc!

thanks helen for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: any room away from the lift is advantage to having a good nites kip!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. I am delighted that we restored your confidence in us here at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, thank you for returning to allow us to redeem ourselves. I will pass your kind words to Helen, Helen is a new addition to the Team at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny and I am sure she will enhance the guest experience of all of our customers.
Wishing you the very best for 2013 and looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had a great experience in this hotel mostly because of the staff. I had interactions with 3 different staff members and found them all genuinely friendly in a casual but sincere sort of way. You got the impression they knew all their guests.
Its not a hotel I would stay for dinner in and is definitely more bed and breakfast but the rooms were a very good standard for the price point. I asked for a couple of things that the hotel doesn't generally provide and they went out of their way to oblige me.
Its a bit outside the city so transport is needed - taxi in was 6 euro and taxi home was 8. The hotel is really great value overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to offer your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Its a pity you did not have dinner with us as we are confident you would have enjoyed it as our Restaurant has an excellent reputation locally.
We do offer the best value each day in Kilkenny and it is something we pride ourselves on.
Thank you for your business it is appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Hotel
Pembroke Hotel
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.