We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value hotel. Practical and reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Save Saved
You added Aspect Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value hotel. Practical and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It's fast check in. Decent rooms, grand parking and the breakfast was fine.
Grand for business but email and Internet only in the lobby. it's where you go to crash out before work and after. It's clean.

Overall, it's fine, but it's lacking charm of an older hotel or a plush venue, but great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to offer us your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed your stay. We are currently working on installing free wifi throughout the building for our guests. Please do tell your friends and family about us as we would love to be able to welcome them back in the future.
Happy Christmas.
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    142
    67
    21
    13
See reviews for
52
161
8
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here while attending a wedding in another hotel. It's located near a few shops including a KFC. The room was clean comfy beds and clean bathroom. Great chat with the man checking us in. Very reasonable rates but really only a place for sleep and shower.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to offer us your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It a pity you did not get to spend more time with us to enjoy what we have to offer but thats the joy of attending a wedding.
Wishing you a Happy Christmas and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again in the new year.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We bought our nights stay in this hotel as part of a groupon deal which gave us the nights stay, a bottle of wine, breakfast and a late checkout.

Upon arriving at the hotel the receptionist that greeted us was polite but not overly welcoming, our interaction lasted no more than the minute it took for her to look over our e-mail booking and have us sign for the room. The bottle of wine we received was tasty and the room itself was clean. The location is in an industrial park, just a short taxi journey into the city.

We had been looking forward to our stay and some much needed rest and relaxation, but it as it turned out neither of us could sleep properly because our bed was two single beds clipped together and everytime one of us turned over the beds separated and had to be pushed back together several times during the night. Our bathroom also smelled terrible. The stink of cigarette smoke (we were on a non-smoking floor) was very strong, disgusting and unpleasant everytime one of us used facilites. We decided not to use the late checkout the following morning and we left as soon as we could after having an early breakfast (which was fine - standard fry up and a few healthier options).

On checkout I advised the clerk of our poor nights sleep because the beds kept separating and the smell of our bathroom. He just shrugged, grinned and offered his apologies (didn't come across very sincere at all). Overall, the hotel wasn't great and we certainly won't book it again or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to offer your feedback. We are disappointed with your comments and I will discuss them with the Team.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and had a very pleasant stay. The room was comfortable, spacious and very clean. We ate in the restaurant each night and chose from the 3 course set menu for 2 which cost 49 euros and included a bottle of wine. The food was superb and the portions were enormous! The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking time to offer us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you really enjoyed our services. We pride ourself on our cleaniness, value and hospitality and glad you enjoyed them also. Please continue to tell others about our property as we love to remain busy and we value repeat business. Looking forward to been able to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel is located outside 3 km outside city center. No pubs or restaurants around. The room was big but basic with a small bathroom. Nice staff. The restaurant in the hotel was good and served HUGE portions of food. Breakfast was not to die for but aligned with the hotel style. I would not recommend this hotel if you plan to go out. Otherwise, it's ok if you can get a deal. A bit pricey otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny. I am glad to hear that you found the staff good and your evening meal to be enjoyable. We are just over 1KM to the city centre so 3km I think you may not have taken the direct route. We are always the best value in Kilkenny so I am unsure about your comment about been a bit pricey, perhaps when you stayed was at a peak demand date but yet I promise you we would still be the best value on offer in Kilkenny. Also remember always book directly with us were we promise is always the very best rate.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I went here on a Groupon deal with a group of girls. The staff were brilliant, friendly and so helpful. The rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do tell all of your friends and family about us as we would love to be able to welcome them to stay with us in the future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is like a canteen. Miss matched furniture . Dull drab old rooms.
No atmosphere/ambience.
It was clean and that's the Only good thing I can say. We booked for two nights and left after the first night

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Delighted to read that you enjoyed our cleaniness. However your other comments are far different from the our guest experience, I note you only stayed here because you got tired and perhaps really wish to be somewhere else on the night.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.