We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
o
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Was looking forward to staying here as had heard so much about it! Fab time would definitely return Thai food gorgeous! Lovely quiet location and the scenery is really pretty outside a little on the pricy side but well worth it! Lovely staff on check in!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Liv52,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at the Lyrath Estate Hotel.

Our team were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.The team were thrilled to hear all your kind words and for this I would like to extend to you my personal thanks.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future for another relaxing stay.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    317
    167
    58
    20
See reviews for
334
610
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are excellent as is the food and bar areas... Only thing lets it down is if you want to wander around the town it's not within walking distance.. In saying that there is nice walks around the grounds... Will return...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Letitgo3,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time out to share your experiences with us. On behalf of all my staff and I, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be sure to pass on your kind comments about our grounds and walkways to our Ground-keeping team, they work tirelessly all year to ensure that the Lyrath Estate walks are in immaculate condition for all our guests, young and old alike, to enjoy.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have just returned from a two night stay at the Lyrath. I splashed out on this "5 star" for my boyfriend's birthday and unfortunately we didn't get what we paid for. On arrival we had lunch in the outdoor patio area and it was quite pricey for what we got. The food, a goats cheese crostini and chicken Caesar wrap, were very bland. It put us off eating there for lunch/dinner for the remainder of the weekend. The room was fine and had nice views of the gardens. We were looking forward to using the thermal suite and spa and decided to leave treatments until our second day. However upon arrival at the spa were asked to pay in to the thermal suite €15 each which I could not believe after paying so much for the room! And I use the term "thermal suite" lightly one of the steam rooms and saunas were not working and so we were left with the open air hot tub, tropical shower and one other sauna & steam room to use. Definitely will not be recommending the Lyrath.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear BCiaraB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

I am sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not entirely to your satisfaction and I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing your feedback in more detail.

Please could you share your contact details with me, gm@lyrath.com.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have just returned home, from what was a fantastic break in Lyrath,shared with 9 friends.From the moment of our arrival until departure this was indeed a 5 star experience.A fantastic hotel in a stunning location,close to one of Irelands hidden gems (Kilkenny City)the biggest plus were the wonderful staff,reception,bar,dining room.in fact any member of staff we engaged with were professional,efficient and most of all, so so welcoming and warm.Other 5 star venues should follow suit.Just the sort of hospitality that made Ireland such a popular destination in the early days, when that was all we had to offer!No spas,no pools just our natural friendliness.I could not rate The Lyrath too highly and look forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Irishtouristontour,

I cannot describe to you what a pleasure it was to read your kind review following your recent stay with us here at the Lyrath Estate Hotel. Let me thank you sincerely for sharing your wonderful experiences with us.

I will be sure to pass on your regards and kind comments to all the staff here. I have always said that despite the fantastic facilities available here at the Lyrath Estate Hotel. The staff still proves to be the biggest asset that the hotel has. Their dedication and hard work are unrivalled and they really are a major contributor to the success of the hotel. They take great pride in their work and try their level best to ensure that every guest enjoys their time away.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I recently had a mid-week break here with my wife as a sort of mini honeymoon. From the beginning I had a good feeling about the venue. When I rang to book a meal I was delighted to speak with the receptionist who was extremely friendly and professional and guessed it was a special occasion.

On our arrival, we found a complimentary bottle of preseco in our room as well as a hand written note from the concierge, Luke Smith, offering both his and the hotels congratulations. Later that evening we rang down to order the treat pack and was told it had been discontinued. Instead of leaving it at that the concierge brought us complimentary freshly made popcorn and truffles. Truely an excellent service from a friendly and dedicated member of staff.

At dinner both evenings we were congratulated by the waiting staff at various times throughout the meals. This personal touch really makes a stay important.

Lyrath house is an excellent hotel that flies the flag high for Irish tourism. We most definitely will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Irishtouristontour,

I cannot describe to you what a pleasure it was to read your review following your recent stay. Let me thank you sincerely for sharing your wonderful experiences with us here at the Lyrath Estate Hotel.

I will be sure to pass on your regards and kind comments to all the staff here. I have always said that despite the fantastic facilities available here at the hotel, the staff still proves to be the biggest asset that the hotel has. Their dedication and hard work are unrivalled and they really are a major contributor to the success of the hotel. They take great pride in their work and try their level best to ensure that every guest enjoys their time away.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Lyrath. A top class location and a very relaxed atmosphere from the moment we entered. The rooms were what you would expect from an establishment of this standard. Food was quite good, although service was erratic (due to the fact that the computer system for ordering/tills had crashed - totally understandable!!) We both had steak and desserts were a real treat - oreo cheesecake with candied popcorn was a highlight. Breakfast was a let down however. The cooked meats had been re-heated so many times they were tasteless. the cold selection was top class however. The Oasis Spa was the best spent €150 ever. Worth every penny, especially the outdoor hydrotherapy pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lifts. Long walk to others
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Naomhcolm,

Thank you for your fantastic review and for taking the time out to share your experiences with us. On behalf of all my staff and I, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lyrath Estate Hotel.

The team and I were delighted to read your lovely comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel along with your words of praise which are very kind indeed. I have a soft spot for the Oreo Cheesecake myself ;)

I am also thrilled to read that you enjoyed our Oasis Spa. It truly is a haven of relaxation and the hydro therapy pool is an ideal location to gaze out upon some of the beautiful gardens.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future for another relaxing stay.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our second stay here proved to be a much more enjoyable experience than the first. This time we were upgraded to a luxury suite. The room was huge. Breakfast buffet was very good, plenty to choose from - we highly recommend the pancakes and syrup. We will definitely return again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Janine231,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your second stay with us here at the Lyrath Estate Hotel.
The team and I are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and the upgrade to the Suite.
We are truly honoured that you returned to us for the second time and we are looking forward to your next visit already. If I can be of any further assistance for your next stay please don't hesitate to contact me personally.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Address: Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 170 acres of mature parkland, 1.2Km from Kilkenny City, Lyrath Estate fuses stunning contemporary hotel design with the elegance of the original 17th century Lyrath House. Featuring 139 spaciously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, numerous bars and restaurants, the award winning Oasis Spa and Oasis Health Club, with floor-to-ceiling glass windows which border its 17 meter infinity edge pool. Whilst the "Kilkenny Convention Centre" at Lyrath Estate offers purpose-built state-of-the-art facilities for up to 1,500 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.