We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Birthday weekend in Lyrath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday weekend in Lyrath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for a weekend 15th November and had a lovely time. When we booked we requested smoking room and when we arrived we were informed it was no smoking hotel....began to panic a bit but within a few minutes we were allocated room with covered balcony which was lovely with nice view (4th floor)..... Very comfortable room nice touch was bottle of wine in room on arrival only downside no fridge in room excellent shower......... Tuppers bar food was excellent ......Breakfast was excellent........ Also ate in la Perla food was great but we felt expensive for what we got. Would return at the drop of a hat but probably for special occassions only

Room Tip: lovly views from 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Igatteridge

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    339
    182
    63
    24
See reviews for
359
655
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Kildare
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I brought my Mam here for her 70th Birthday in June 2013, It is a very beautiful hotel, the staff are lovely and we had a great time. The package I booked included spa treatments, afternoon tea and dinner.
Afternoon tea was fab, spa beautiful, unfortunately the dinner was not the same, set menu very poor, and not very tasty.
Visit this hotel it is well worth it, just don't include dinner in your options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Bernadette P,

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities,and service to be excellent throughout.

I also note your comments regarding dinner and that you felt required additional attention. I would really like to discuss these points with you personally, please could you share your contact details with me, gm@lyrath.com.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We recently got married in Lyrath and it was the most amazing day ever. When we arrived at Lyrath over a year ago to look at it as a possible venue for our wedding we fell in love with the place straight away and didn't look at anywhere else after that. We opted for an all inclusive winter package so everything was already included and very little to do but Dervla and Gill on the events team were there to answer any query we had no matter how big or small. We arrived down the day before our wedding, we were given the bridal suite for the entire stay which was the most amazing room I have ever stayed in! After our rehearsal we had an area reserved in the bar upstairs with finger food which was great way to start the weekend. On the day of the wedding we all got ready in the hotel which was perfect. After the ceremony we arrived back to the old house to be greeted by Terry and Iain who brought us in to a lovely little private room with champange to relax for a few minutes and the after photos we were brought into our guests at the drinks reception who all looked to be having a great time, then we were called for the meal which was absolutely amazing, every guest at the wedding said it was the nicest food they had at a wedding so we were delighted to hear. All our guests had nothing but compliments from the day which was fantastic to hear. I can not recommend the Lyrath highly enough for a wedding or any other reason for a celebration!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Holiday 0908

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your Wedding celebrations Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your very kind comments to Dervla Gill and Ian and they have asked me to pass on thier best wishes.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a night away in this hotel, and having never reviewed anywhere on trip adviser before, I feel compelled to share my disappointment with the Lyrath.

1. As per many other reviews, our room was not ready on arrival.

2. We had phoned prior to our arrival to ask if they were showing the Ireland v New Zealand match in the bar at 2pm. They said they would show it in the X Bar. When we arrived and enquired about this again, it caused a lot of confusion at the reception, but they finally agreed to show the match. We then ordered food in another bar (tuppers). 10 mins prior to kick off I noted the X bar (only bar with a tv!) was still locked with nobody inside. When I went to the reception desk to enquire about this again, they said that the Tv in that bar had exploded and that they were trying to fix this. This was obviously untrue as I had just attempted to enter this bar and the door was locked, nobody inside, with an intact tv hanging on the wall. (We also found this tv to be working perfectly later in the evening!).

3. We then asked to be shown to our room, as we wanted to watch the match there. Our room was still not available, so following my suggestion to bring us to an alternative room, they reluctantly agreed. Having ordered food and drink for lunch, which we had not finished, we wished to bring this to our room. We were told we could only bring our drinks, but not our food.

4. The spa is only very average. Our treatments were very enjoyable, but the facilities themselves are far from 5*.

5. When we arrived to the main restaurant for a four course dinner (included in our package) at 8.30pm, having booked this directly with the hotel reception, we were told that this restaurant was closed, and the only food available was in the oriental restaurant on site. The food and service here were substandard.

6. On check out we were asked how our stay went, and we voiced the above issues. These were met with unapologetic disinterest.

Bottom line - I would not recommend staying here as a 5* treat. Most 4* hotels I have stayed in outperform the Lyrath in almost every possible way.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Sputi

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent Visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.


I am sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not entirely to your satisfaction and I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing your feedback in more detail.

Please could you share your contact details with me, gm@lyrath.com.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Lyrath hotel last weekend and I must say it was very pleasant. We were greeted with a very friendly and helpful staff and our luggage was taken to our room by a very nice porter called Tom. Our room was lovely. Very big and spacious with a huge bed and lovely bathroom also a great country side view. The spa was great and my Mrs really enjoyed it. The restaurant (La Perlas) was very nice and we both thought our meals were lovely and the service was great. In the mornings the breakfast was excellent too with plenty of choice. Over all I can say that out stay was very pleasant and I would defiantly recommend this lovely countryside retreat to anyone. Very nice staff and felt very welcomed. A very nice weekend.

Room Tip: We asked for a nice room and we were not disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Jim P

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently, for a friends party! Not been this looked after at hotel in years! The receptionist Who i think was called Cara was a real help, and very professional! The food was 10/10 couldn't ask for more, with excellent service! Terry the manager was looking after us,making sure we had everything we needed! The bed rooms were brilliant for our delicate heads the next day! Just a shame we only stayed for 2 nights, Would recommend this place over anywhere in Kilkenny! Thanks again to all the staff for making my friends birthday one to remember!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Fraser L

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruabon, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was visiting Ireland with my better half for a friends wedding and couldn’t not get a room at the place I usually stay, so one of my friends suggested the Lyrath Estate. I don't think I could thank my friend enough!!

The estate and the building are amazing, picturesque and beautiful and the staff are so friendly is it untrue, full Irish hospitality, with a special mention to Tom the doorman and Jess on reception who honestly could not do enough for us.

Highly recommended and will now always be my first choice! I hope to see you all again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Scott K

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Address: Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 170 acres of mature parkland, 1.2Km from Kilkenny City, Lyrath Estate fuses stunning contemporary hotel design with the elegance of the original 17th century Lyrath House. Featuring 139 spaciously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, numerous bars and restaurants, the award winning Oasis Spa and Oasis Health Club, with floor-to-ceiling glass windows which border its 17 meter infinity edge pool. Whilst the "Kilkenny Convention Centre" at Lyrath Estate offers purpose-built state-of-the-art facilities for up to 1,500 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.