We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Save Saved
You added Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
1 review
“Just beautiful all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently stayed in the Lyrath with my family to celebrate my brothers birthday. I must say, it was a plesure as all of the staff were very friendly and the service was outstanding! At the door we were greeted by a lovely man named Tom. He took our bags and walked with us to the front desk to check in. He then brought us to our rooms. The room was gorgeous with a view looking over the grounds of the hotel. That night we dined in Yandiees Thai restaurant. The staff there could not have done more for us. The food was so fresh and top quality. The next morning we had breakfast and again it was perfect. We will be returning to the Lyrath no doubt. It is defiantly money well spent!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Aife90Travers

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following your recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. The team are always pleased to be recognised for excellent service and have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind comments.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.
Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    743
    279
    152
    55
    29
See reviews for
295
544
8
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Pretty old house is core of the property then it's like a designer went a little crazy in the place: Roman statues next to a New Orleans style brick wall with jazz musician prints leading into a Classic Irish Pub area which is the best part of the place but quite small 3 chairs the bar). Nice back porch looking onto lawn. I went on a convention/ meeting.
Food was good. Room was very nice. It was fine for a convention but I'd not stay here on vacation on my own dime. A bit removed and honestly....a bit boring.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Travelmaster6456

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

I am sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not entirely to your satisfaction and I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing your feedback in more detail.

Please could you share your contact details with me, gm@lyrath.com.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

While we stayed for just one night recently, I would like to compliment everybody at Lyrath.
On arrival, we were upgraded to a ground floor room with terrace which was top class.
In the afternoon sunshine we sat outdoors and enjoyed our champagne and strawberries,
while watching the birds at the lakeside. Next day, my partner had a Spa treatment at the Oasis Spa, shoulder, neck and back massage and she says it was the best ever. Having a treatment
entitled one to complementary use of the Thermal Suite and Hydrotherapy Pool.
We did'nt eat at Lyrath this time but we are looking forward to the le Perla Restaurant next time.
Staff were great, facilities excellent and relaxation most enjoyed.

Room Tip: Room with terrace is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Ribno

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following your recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. The team are always pleased to be recognised for excellent service and have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind comments.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.
Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

on our way south. The hotel was tantamout to a typical chain property, that isn't bad, just nothing to rave about. We used it for a stopover so was fine, rooms were somewhat modern, baths were fine and staff competent. The hotel is set on manicured grounds outside of Kilkenny, trip into town is not far but we opted to just stay and eat in their Thai restaurant which actually turned out to be quite good (green curry chicken excellent). Lobby area is an odd design, used to be an old building which they converted but conversion sort of got out of hand. Beds were not particulary comfortable but found this to be the case in most hotels in Ireland. Public area and room were clean as was exterior area. Breakfast in a large dining room, buffet style, was nothing outstanding compared to most breakfasts we experienced.

Room Tip: many rooms offer a view over the grounds, ask for one. some had balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Kokosandiego

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

I am sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not entirely to your satisfaction and I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing your feedback in more detail.

Please could you share your contact details with me, gm@lyrath.com.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskerry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I booked this hotel for one night to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. I mentioned when booking that it was our anniversary however there was no acknowledgement of it when checking in or during our stay which was disappointing. When we got to our room, which was beautiful, there was a tray outside the door full of dirty plates, glasses, cutlery from what I presume was the previous guests breakfast!! It was there the entire day so I ended up moving it myself.
Service in La Pearla restaurant was disappointing, however the food was very good. Little things like not being offered any bread with dinner, an issue with my husbands dessert and having to wait 10 minutes to get someone's attention to ask for the bill is not what you would expect in a 5 star hotel. There are nice walks around the estate and it's very close to Kilkenny city if you want to venture in but having chosen this hotel to celebrate our anniversary we were disappointed and we won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Susan H

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

I am sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not entirely to your satisfaction and I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing your feedback in more detail.

Please could you share your contact details with me, gm@lyrath.com.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The lyrath hotel is absolutely gorgeous. We had such a relaxing break away. The service is outstanding. The food in Yindees restaurant is top quality.
I couldn't recommend this hotel more. Will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Clo2802

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following your recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. The team are always pleased to be recognised for excellent service and have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind comments.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.
Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here recently with my family, and the moment you walk in you are greeted by very friendly staff who show real interest in you and make you feel welcome.
All the hotel facilities were explained to us, and we were shown to our room by Tom the door man who was very helpful.
The room was fabulous with a lovely view over the gardens. We had dinner in Yindiees Thai restaurant and the food was just the best I ever had.
The crisp bed linen and feather pillows made for a peaceful nights sleep. The next morning we were greeted in the restaurant by Terry who brought us to our table and told us all about the breakfest which I must say was lovely and it had everything you could think of to eat. I would have loved to have stayed longer, the next time, I will.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the old garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear David T

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following your recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. The team are always pleased to be recognised for excellent service and have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind comments.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.
Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Address: Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 170 acres of mature parkland, 1.2km from Kilkenny City, Lyrath Estate fuses stunning contemporary hotel design with the elegance of the original 17th century Lyrath House. Featuring 137 spaciously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, numerous bars and restaurants, the Oasis Spa and Oasis Health Club, with floor-to-ceiling glass windows which border its 17 meter infinity edge pool. Whilst the "Kilkenny Convention Centre" at Lyrath Estate offers purpose-built state-of-the-art facilities for up to 1,500 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.