We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I spent the weekend with two of my friends here at the Lyrath and we were all very disappointed .On arrival the hotel is very impressive but our room was on the same floor as the pool and the corridor smelled of chlorine and I slept in the smallest single bed in the world . Breakfast was very disappointing.We had to wait for rashers and scrambled egg, the coffee was cold, this is not what I expect from a hotel that is very expensive and 5 star . The hotel was cold and does not have a cosy atmosphere. Dinner was tepid and dining room is large and has no ambiance.

The spa was the highlight of the weekend i had the best facial in a long time. The therapist was very professional. The thermal spa is small but enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear 12 Mgt

Thank you for contacting me on Trip Advisor further to your recent stay with us at the Lyrath Estate Hotel.

I do take on board your comment regarding the smell of chlorine that was evident in the corridor outside your room. I will of course look into this matter and ascertain if any remedial maintenance is required to remedy this. I have inspected the area today and whilst I cannot detect an odour I will of course investigate whether there were specific circumstances surrounding this problem within the last week.

I am slightly confused by your comment regarding “ the smallest Single bed in the world” as our rooms only contain standard 6ft by 3ft size single beds not a specifically smaller bed. The only smaller single beds we use would be temporary where extra beds have been requested in rooms that do not contain them, this is purely to allow room to fit the bed as the rooms are not deigned to accommodate them ordinarily.

We pride ourselves on a great breakfast offering and it was therefore disappointing to learn that there was a delay in the resupply of bacon and scrambled Egg and that the coffee was not at an adequate temperature. Your comments have been shared with my chef and restaurant manager who have asked to be associated with my apologies for this situation.

Whilst the public areas of the building are extensive and large, this is by design, there are certainly a number of cosy areas within the building in our Tuppers bar with small discreet areas and open fires , the red room with its open fire and period furniture , the white room overlooking the grounds, the X bar and the old house rooms.

We do have a large dining room to accommodate up to 200 guests at any one time, this is related to the number of bedrooms and meeting rooms we have to afford us adequate space to comfortably accommodate all guests. Thank you for your feedback regarding ambiance in this area, having dined in the restaurant on a number of occasions I have enjoyed the ambiance and atmosphere, I will of course discuss this further with our restaurant manager to ensure that we reassess this following your valued feedback.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your facial in the spa and will ensure that Louise the Spa manager passes this feedback on to her team.



I really do appreciate the time you have taken in sharing your feedback, as is always the case the team here do embrace feedback in their constant endeavour to improve and develop.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    339
    182
    63
    24
See reviews for
359
655
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent lovely week end in Lyrate Estate Hotel Kilkenny. I thought the lobby was too large and very cold - the bedrooms were huge and very nice and comfortable. The food was excellent. If you like a glass of wine - chillean merlot was €6.50 in the bar which I thought was ok for a five star hotel. When my daughter and I went to the dining room for dinner we just asked for a glass of merlot - on paying the bill the glass of merlot was €8.80. I then discovered it was Italian merlot so the second night we ordered chillean merlot from the bar. On the whole we enjoyed the hotel - the grounds were lovely for a walk. My daughter loved the leisure centre but we did not check out the spa. Taxi was €10 to centre of town.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor - reception area -were very good you did not need a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mary H29

Thank you for contacting me on Trip Advisor further to your recent stay with us at the Lyrath Estate Hotel. I appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The bedrooms are superbly appointed and very spacious and enjoy some magnificent views over the grounds and the countryside surrounding. I am delighted that you enjoyed our food offering, we are currently changing over our menus for spring and I hope you have the opportunity to return to sample some more great dishes prepared by our team.

We are currently reviewing our wine offering in light of your comments to ensure that we have parity on the house wines by the glass in the bar and restaurant. Thank you for this feedback, it has identified an issue we will rectify quickly.

I am glad that you also had an opportunity to enjoy our extensive grounds and that your daughter enjoyed the leisure club. I hope that next time you visit us you have the opportunity to visit the Spa.

I really do appreciate the time you have taken in sharing your feedback, and i look forward to welcoming you back to the Lyrath Estate in the near future

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My sister in law and I spent a Spa day at the Lyrath last week. Sadly, they dropped the ball quite a few times. On arrival, we asked a waiter where the Spa was located as we didn't see a sign at reception, his reply was "Down the end". No offer to show us and no proper directions. We eventually found our way ourselves and checked in at the Spa reception. We were shown to the changing rooms and asked to don robes and slippers for our treatments and put our things in our lockers. First problem..no robes available..I had to traipse back up to reception and request robes for the Spa (not what you expect on a pamper day) We then looked for slippers in the lockers, these were foam flip flops and every pair was cold and wet, which implied that someone else had just taken them off. We washed them ourselves and when suitably attired, put our valuables in the lockers, only to find our lockers had no keys. We eventually found the only two lockers with keys and secured our personal goods. On reaching the relaxation room, I opened the fridge to get a bottle of water, there were only two bottles left and both had been opened.
The facial was wonderful, the therapist, I think her name was Suri, was very good at her craft and is a credit to the Spa.
After the initial hiccups, we left the treatment room very refreshed and headed up for lunch.,
We both ordered the Caesar Salad. When it eventually arrived, the lettuce was brown and curled up at the edges, mine was so bad, I requested that it be replaced. Although the dressing was lovely, the bacon was so soggy, it resembled ham. Not good....
This Hotel is listed on Expedia as a 5 star Hotel.....we expected so much more.
As luck would have it, I am returning to the Lyrath this Thursday for a friends birthday. We will be staying the night and using the Spa again. I do hope my first visit was on a very off day for the Spa & Kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Regina 3

Thanks for contacting me on Trip Advisor further to your recent stay with us at the Lyrath Estate Hotel. I appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback with us.

I am glad that you chose to join us for a day visit to our Oasis Spa, and equally I was disappointed to learn of your experiences whilst with us. I agree entirely that the waiter in question should have escorted you personally to the spa reception desk and that in not doing so set the scene for the rest of your day.

I have shared your feedback regarding the Spa experience with Louise our spa manager, she has asked to be associated with my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced on this occasion. I am pleased to let you know that a new set of lockers has been ordered this past week as we were not able to get replacement keys for the existing locks. Although they may not be in place by the time you return this Thursday you have my assurance that i was aware and have put into action a solution in this regard.

I am pleased that you are returning to us and would welcome the opportunity of meeting with you personally to discuss your feedback in more detail, Please feel free to contact me prior to arrival in order that I can ensure available to meet with you personally.


I really do appreciate the time you have taken in sharing your feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lyrath Estate later this week.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Really lovely place, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Helpful hints for the future...fix the tv menu in room 442 and supply conditioner in rooms :-) That said The Lyrath is a magnificent place well done!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sinead H

Thank you for your very kind comments further to your recent stay at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

Myself and the team are dlighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

I have retified the problem with the interactive TV in room 442 and would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for a two night break. The hotel is very well appointed and we had a relaxing time. Yendees Thai restaurant is fantastic.
Breakfast was good with the usual fare. I'd recommend avoiding the rush hour of 1100.
We did notice a slight odor in Tuppers Bar but it wasn't off putting but a bit odd for a top class hotel.
One downfall was that we arrived early and our room wasn't ready till 1600. We hung around and it seemed we were the last to get a room at 1558! Thats with reception pushing it on a bit!
Overall, great spot for a lovely well earned break. The doormen make it a bit special as well.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Patrickmartinrgn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us further to your visit to Lyrath Estate earlier this month.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your romantic break with us and that the team at Lyrath provided you with a memorable and enjoyable break. It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed your dinner with us in Yindees, I have passed on your kind comments to the kitchen team who have asked to be associated with my thanks.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for what i can assure you will be another very enjoyable stay.


Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last month and I did not want to leave. The staff are the best staff I have ever come accross in any hotel in the world ( I travel alot with work).
From the moment I checked in we were made to feel most welcome. My room was spotless and the beds were the best I have ever slept in.
We ate in the bar the first evening and the restaurant the second and I cannot fault the food & service.
My wife had a treatment in the spa and she loved it.
I have already booked my next trip to The Lyrath and it cannot come quick enough!!!
I had a puncture in my car when we were leaving and the General manager of the hotel changed it for me. This was above and beyond so thank you very much!

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade to get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear JSporlach

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us further to your visit to Lyrath Estate in January.

Myself and the team at Lyrath are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the service to be of a very high standard. I am pleased that whilst with us that you enjoyed the food in both the bar and restaurant of the hotel, I have passed on your kind comments to the chefs and the waiting on teams in both areas.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for what i can assure you will be another very enjoyable stay.


Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a weekend in December 2012. We had managed to get quite a good deal using Trivago. We were really looking forward to the weekend away, we had read some really good reviews of the hotel here. On arrival, we were impressed. However, the good impressions weren't to last too long!! We were given our room number and off we went. Our room was the last room next to the leisure centre entrance, which didn't bother me until we got inside the room and there was a very noticeable smell of chlorine in the room air. As well as that, the room was freezing and the heating system was not working. I called reception for them to have a look at it. They came and said that the system was broken but it would be the next day when it would be fixed, in the mean time they left us a storage heater! The flooring in the bedroom was linoleum, which was cold - the bedroom did not have the cosy, luxurious feel that is quoted on their website. Now onto the spa.....! The spa and leisure centre are separate so you cannot go for a swim while you are in the spa. If you want to use the spa and not have any treatments then it will cost you €25/30. I had a treatment but by boyfried didn't, yet we couldn't use the spa together unless he was going to pay for it. I think that 's a bit of a rip off. The Thai restaurant was quite good but pricey, and the breakfast was satisfactory. On a positive note, it is a beautiful hotel on beautiful grounds. But unfortunately we did not receive the 5 star treatment. I This hotel in my opinion is no way near the standard expected for a five star. I would not be recommending it as a good spa hotel as I know there are far better elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear nBartley30

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us further to your visit to Lyrath Estate in December 2012.

Thank you for highlighting the issue with the smell of chlorine within your bedroom. Further to your review and that of another reviewer I have initiated an investigation by our air conditioning company to ascertain the reason behind this problem. This is not something that has been an issue in the recent past and I am determined to identify and correct the problem. I am pleased to note that the problem that you encountered with your heating is now resolved.

As I have highlighted in other reviews we are currently changing our Menus in the Thai restaurant and have received some very positive feedback regarding the quality and changes being made which also see an overall reduction in the pricing.

I am sorry that overall your stay with us fell short of your expectations, be assured that we are acting upon the feedback given to improve the guest experience for all future visitors to Lyrath estate.

In closing I would like to thank you for your feedback. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance as I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing your feedback in more detail.


Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Address: Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 170 acres of mature parkland, 1.2Km from Kilkenny City, Lyrath Estate fuses stunning contemporary hotel design with the elegance of the original 17th century Lyrath House. Featuring 139 spaciously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, numerous bars and restaurants, the award winning Oasis Spa and Oasis Health Club, with floor-to-ceiling glass windows which border its 17 meter infinity edge pool. Whilst the "Kilkenny Convention Centre" at Lyrath Estate offers purpose-built state-of-the-art facilities for up to 1,500 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.