We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, but a few problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, but a few problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here late in the year and the heating was broken so it was freezing! Reagardless of that it was a lovely hotel, and I enjoyed my stay (sort of).
*nice, clean rooms
*modern decor
*quite family friendly :(small private cinema)
*good food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Rate or Slate

I appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Lyrath Estate Hotel and convention centre.

I am really pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your break with us, and found the standards of cleanliness, decor and cuisine to be of a very high standard. I was however disappointed to learn of the difficulties you experienced with the heating within your room, I will personally ensure that our maintenance team are aware of your feedback and will endeavour to double check all are fully functional. I note your stay was in November and would appreciate it if you might contact me directly in order that I identify the room you occupied.

I have shared your very kind comments regarding the food, service and cleanliness of the hotel to all of my team members who were really pleased to hear such fantastic feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for what we can assure you will be another thoroughly enjoyable stay and clearly one where the room is more comfortable in terms of temperature.


Best Wishes

Iain Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    374
    194
    66
    26
See reviews for
409
718
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I are returning guests to Lyrath. We checked in on Thursday 31st January for a 3 night break. When we arrived, the hotel was very quiet and check-in was quick and efficient. We checked into our room, which funnily enough was the same room we had previously stayed in. This was perfect as the deluxe balcony rooms are simply elegant, spacious and luxurious. The bathroom is functional and beautiful with separate shower, bath and toilet.

The hotel was peaceful and quiet on Thursday night which was lovely. We dined in Yindees and enjoyed a delicious meal. We did not go for a starter as we remembered that the portion size is quite generous. I had a stir fry that was absolutely delicious! I was also eyeing my husband’s curry which was also tasty. Dinner was followed by drinks by the fireplace and a game of snooker in the snooker room.
On Friday, we took full advantage of what the hotel has to offer by going for a walk on the property, a quick dip in the pool and then lazed for a few hours in the Oasis Spa. This is the epitome of relaxation! That night, we dined in La Perla, which is a lovely restaurant. There were a few teething problems with service but nothing to lose patience over to be honest.
The hotel started to get a little busier on Saturday, as you would expect. We noticed that a wedding party had arrived. Although it apparently was a big wedding, we did not feel their presence as the wedding reception area is separate to the main building.
Each morning we were looking forward to breakfast. Breakfast is taken in La Perla restaurant and is a self service. In saying that, I absolutely cannot fault it. The selection is quite impressive and the food was delicious. I was being careful on what I was eating (=diet, in simple words) over the week end and I have to say, I was able to enjoy food and did not feel like I was missing out.

Overall, it was a great and relaxing week end. Lyrath is a big hotel but it still has personality and warmth. The only thing is that we had a little problem, due to other inconsiderate guests who thought that knocking on doors at 5am would be a good idea and although this is obviously not the hotel’s fault, they dealt with it in a great manner. Our complaint was listened to and addressed in a satisfying way.

Would I recommend this hotel? Absolutely and without any hesitation. We are already looking forward to returning to Lyrath.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mongola

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Lyrath Estate Hotel and convention centre.

I am really delighted that you enjoyed your recent break with us and had the opportunity to experience all of the facilities whilst you were with us. It is also great to hear that you are returning guests and have enjoyed the Lyrath experience in the past.

I have passed on your very kind comments regarding the food, service and ambience of the hotel to all of my team members who were really pleased to hear such fantastic feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for what we can assure you will be another thoroughly enjoyable stay.

I am Glad that you were able to take advantage of one of our special offers which we run very frequently during the quieter periods of the year.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed from 3rd-5th February-a Sunday to Tuesday. Hotel was pleasantly busy for 'midweek' providing a nice atmosphere without feeling overly crowded. Ate in both restaurants each of the nights and both were equally good, breakfast was excellent with a wide range on offer especially the fruits/nuts range. There was an excellent singer/guitarist playing on the Sunday night which was a lovely surprise! Pool was nice but small, we didn't use the spa - didn't want any treatments and as it is €30pp for use of the thermal suite needless to say we didn't use it!! We had a lovely room - superior as this was included in our deal. Cant complain about anything - we had a lovely stay that was excellent value for money but comparing to other 4/5star hotels we've stayed in I would probably only return if we got another good offer/deal!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear cc_Cork

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Lyrath Estate Hotel and convention centre.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and had the opportunity to experience most of the facilities whilst you were with us, and found all of these to be of a very high standard. I have passed on your comments to Louise our Spa manager regarding the tariff for the thermal suite and we aim to review the pricing for this service within the next month.

I am Glad that you were able to take advantage of one of our special offers which we run very frequently during the quieter periods of the year.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle West, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on Sunday the 3rd Feb 2013. This is our second time at this hotel. The staff were friendly and welcomed us. We has a nice meal in the bar and there was a one man band in the bar to entertain us that evening.

We had a pleasant relaxed stay and would return again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sescommunications

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Lyrath Estate Hotel, and many thanks for leaving a review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

It is pleasing to learn that you have visited us at Lyrath in the past. Our key asset is of course our team and it is very rewarding when they are recognised for the great service they provide to all of our valued Guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate Hotel for another very enjoyable stay.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Myself and few friends headed off to Lyrath for girlie/catch up weekend. and we weren't disappointed. With 2 restaurants and 2 bars - there was plenty of choice. I was expecting a typical country house but in fact this place is very chic & modern on the inside. Saturday we all had treatments in the spa - all got top marks. The thermal suite is def worth a visit!

Saturday night we had dinner in La Perla which is quite large & spacious so a table of 9 didn't feel squashed in. There was live music in the bar upstairs which gave nice atmosphere for the night.

It's a sure sign a place is doing something very well when the spa was fully booked on a Saturday for treatments (there was at minimum 9 therapists on) and Sunday morning there was a queue for breakfast (even though the restaurant is quite large) but not a big delay. I am definitely looking forward to another trip to the Lyrath :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Lorro66

I am really pleased that you and the girls enjoyed your recent trip to the Lyrath Estate hotel, and thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback with us.

One of the key assets is that we provide the best of both worlds at Lyrath, with our charming and beautiful original house, combined with the fantastic and well appointed addition of the modern and stylish facilities you enjoyed whilst staying with us.

The views from the thermal suite are quite spectacular looking out over our extensive grounds and beyond. Louise our spa Manager has asked me to pass on her thanks for the kind comments you have made in relation to your spa experience, the team were really delighted to know that you all enjoyed your treatments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate Hotel for another very enjoyable stay.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend in Kilkenny. We stayed for two nights at the Lyrath and really enjoyed it. Our superior room was fantastic, there were plenty of people around for atmosphere and the food was excellent - special mention for the breakfast. Staff are extremely friendly and everyone we passed said hello. Luke the night porter deserves a special mention. He could not have been nicer when he moved all our stuff from one room to another and we didn't have to lift a finger! Thank you Lyrath.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear JKBJ

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel.

It really is pleasing to learn that you were able to experience and enjoy all of the extensive facilities whilst with us and that our key asset, the team, delivered fantastic service to you throughout your short stay. I have passed on your very kind comments to Luke, and he has asked that I thank you for such great feedback regarding his service.

We have a new team of chefs developing at Lyrath and the comments that you have made regarding the quality of the food have been very Well received by Noel our new head chef and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate Hotel for another very enjoyable stay.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkenny
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 stars 1,256 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Hotel
Pembroke Hotel
#2 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Address: Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 170 acres of mature parkland, 1.2Km from Kilkenny City, Lyrath Estate fuses stunning contemporary hotel design with the elegance of the original 17th century Lyrath House. Featuring 139 spaciously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, numerous bars and restaurants, the award winning Oasis Spa and Oasis Health Club, with floor-to-ceiling glass windows which border its 17 meter infinity edge pool. Whilst the "Kilkenny Convention Centre" at Lyrath Estate offers purpose-built state-of-the-art facilities for up to 1,500 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.