We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel bit very overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel bit very overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

If u can get this hotel for c€130 or so it's worth it. We paid for a dinner,B&b rate which isn't worth it as restaurant food and service just ok. Book bed and breakfast and go eat in nearby Kilkenny. On plus side it's extremely child friendly with a mini cinema, good pool etc and hotel will get child minders in evening at competitive rates. Negatives were restaurant with dour staff and nil atmosphere. Reception was friendly but always busy therefore a bit slow. Hotel is in kind of administration so maybe explains skeleton reception staff. In essence, nice but eat out!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    339
    182
    63
    24
See reviews for
359
655
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Set in nice grounds, reception staff professional and friendly, room had a nice view and private balcony, dinner in La Perla good, spa was pitiful and breakfast was an awful affair.

It's not worthy of the 5 star rating. The spa was truly awful, it has potential but was poorly managed. It was cold, crowded, no steam in the steam room and my massage was 10 minutes short of what I booked (and paid for). I would not make this the primary reason for your visit.

I would not return.

Room Tip: Looking onto the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was brought here by my daughter for afternoon tea , it was very quiet and the wow factor was audible as we entered the Hotel. We were seated straight away and given menus , the lad that served us was very nice and we didn't have to wait long for the afternoon tea to arrive , 2pots of tea later and only crumbs left from sandwiches cakes and scones, delish. I'd go again .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had the pleasure along with my family of having our daughter's wedding here. It was a wonderful experience due mailnly to the friendlyness and hopitality of the hotel staff and management. They just could not do enough for us. Nothing was impossible for them and it made our stay all the more enjoyable. The food was very good and pleanty of it. The main function room was so nice and warm with great ambience. The guest rooms were all so well kept and maintained throughout our 3 day stay. The Christmas tree was a wonderful feature and helped create a lovely feeling. We were so glad to have chosen this hotel but to be honest from past experiences there it was what we really expected. We certainly will rteturn again soon but not with all the entourage !!!!

Room Tip: Take an executive room where you get a lot of space and freedom. Do use the swimming pool area as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nestled in what seems like a high end horse ranch, this estate gives you the feeling you own & LIVE on a horse ranch but without any of the duties. Beautiful landscaping everywhere and the views of the Irish rolling hills seems to transport you back in another era.

We love this place and hope to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on the top floor.. The view is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Lyrath Estate is a pretty impressive hotel when you enter. The foyer is beautiful and maintains a connection with bygone eras, albeit a little mixed in its approach.

We stayed here for 1 night only on a stopover to elsewhere. We were met with pleasure at reception and the hotel was nice and warm on a rather miserable evening. Our room was really nice also, probably somewhere between 4 star and 5 star quality. Couldn't find fault with it. Bathroom was really nice actually with separate shower and bath.

We had food in the really cosy bar area. However this is where we encountered some minor issues. The service was pleasant and timely. But neither of the two orders were fulfilled correctly and while i accepted mine, my husband had to send his back and he could not eat what was delivered. So that was dissappointing in a 5-star hotel. Althought the staff were very apologetic... would have been nice to have been offered a coffee or something to make up for it and improve our impression.

But back to our cosy room and we were happy. Unfortunately the experience for breakfast the next morning again was not at the level you'd expect. Understandably it was quiet as it was a Monday morning in November and so the hot counter was not filled and you ordered directly. I was thrilled with that actually as you are guaranteed fresh food. But unfortunately again the order came back incorrectly. Just a small thing but again leaves an impression. We were met by a pretty unfriendly individual for breakfast overall (looked like a manager) although the waiter was extremely pleasant and helpful. So we bypassed the manager where possible when ordering.

Very helpful staff on reception when checking out, although nobody could be found to bring our car around at the time (it was raining heavily). Again.. the small things.

I would like to stay here again to gain another experience to see if we were unlucky on a quiet sunday night/monday morning... but then again, should that matter to the customer?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nothing is five star but the price €€€€€. Best avoided. Smell from the Thai restaurant fills the entire hotel (and lingers until mid-morning), €30 pp to use the spa every visit (unless you're having a treatment), breakfast is a greasy bun fight. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Address: Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 170 acres of mature parkland, 1.2Km from Kilkenny City, Lyrath Estate fuses stunning contemporary hotel design with the elegance of the original 17th century Lyrath House. Featuring 139 spaciously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, numerous bars and restaurants, the award winning Oasis Spa and Oasis Health Club, with floor-to-ceiling glass windows which border its 17 meter infinity edge pool. Whilst the "Kilkenny Convention Centre" at Lyrath Estate offers purpose-built state-of-the-art facilities for up to 1,500 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.