We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Save Saved
You added Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Kilkenny
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Set in nice grounds, reception staff professional and friendly, room had a nice view and private balcony, dinner in La Perla good, spa was pitiful and breakfast was an awful affair.

It's not worthy of the 5 star rating. The spa was truly awful, it has potential but was poorly managed. It was cold, crowded, no steam in the steam room and my massage was 10 minutes short of what I booked (and paid for). I would not make this the primary reason for your visit.

I would not return.

Room Tip: Looking onto the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    685
    262
    148
    54
    28
See reviews for
284
511
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was brought here by my daughter for afternoon tea , it was very quiet and the wow factor was audible as we entered the Hotel. We were seated straight away and given menus , the lad that served us was very nice and we didn't have to wait long for the afternoon tea to arrive , 2pots of tea later and only crumbs left from sandwiches cakes and scones, delish. I'd go again .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had the pleasure along with my family of having our daughter's wedding here. It was a wonderful experience due mailnly to the friendlyness and hopitality of the hotel staff and management. They just could not do enough for us. Nothing was impossible for them and it made our stay all the more enjoyable. The food was very good and pleanty of it. The main function room was so nice and warm with great ambience. The guest rooms were all so well kept and maintained throughout our 3 day stay. The Christmas tree was a wonderful feature and helped create a lovely feeling. We were so glad to have chosen this hotel but to be honest from past experiences there it was what we really expected. We certainly will rteturn again soon but not with all the entourage !!!!

Room Tip: Take an executive room where you get a lot of space and freedom. Do use the swimming pool area as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nestled in what seems like a high end horse ranch, this estate gives you the feeling you own & LIVE on a horse ranch but without any of the duties. Beautiful landscaping everywhere and the views of the Irish rolling hills seems to transport you back in another era.

We love this place and hope to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on the top floor.. The view is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Lyrath Estate is a pretty impressive hotel when you enter. The foyer is beautiful and maintains a connection with bygone eras, albeit a little mixed in its approach.

We stayed here for 1 night only on a stopover to elsewhere. We were met with pleasure at reception and the hotel was nice and warm on a rather miserable evening. Our room was really nice also, probably somewhere between 4 star and 5 star quality. Couldn't find fault with it. Bathroom was really nice actually with separate shower and bath.

We had food in the really cosy bar area. However this is where we encountered some minor issues. The service was pleasant and timely. But neither of the two orders were fulfilled correctly and while i accepted mine, my husband had to send his back and he could not eat what was delivered. So that was dissappointing in a 5-star hotel. Althought the staff were very apologetic... would have been nice to have been offered a coffee or something to make up for it and improve our impression.

But back to our cosy room and we were happy. Unfortunately the experience for breakfast the next morning again was not at the level you'd expect. Understandably it was quiet as it was a Monday morning in November and so the hot counter was not filled and you ordered directly. I was thrilled with that actually as you are guaranteed fresh food. But unfortunately again the order came back incorrectly. Just a small thing but again leaves an impression. We were met by a pretty unfriendly individual for breakfast overall (looked like a manager) although the waiter was extremely pleasant and helpful. So we bypassed the manager where possible when ordering.

Very helpful staff on reception when checking out, although nobody could be found to bring our car around at the time (it was raining heavily). Again.. the small things.

I would like to stay here again to gain another experience to see if we were unlucky on a quiet sunday night/monday morning... but then again, should that matter to the customer?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nothing is five star but the price €€€€€. Best avoided. Smell from the Thai restaurant fills the entire hotel (and lingers until mid-morning), €30 pp to use the spa every visit (unless you're having a treatment), breakfast is a greasy bun fight. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Dear Dervla,

We wanted to write to you in thanks for all your hard work in preparation for our wedding day. We cannot thank you enough. You and the team had obviously worked tirelessly to ensure that everything was in place which made things very stress free even for a control freak like me!

We would also like you to pass on this message to Ian and all the team:

We always expected the Lyrath to provide us with five star service. That after all was the very reason we sought out the hotel in the first place. We had no inclination however of how much you would exceed ours and every single one of our guests expectations. The customer service was faultless. Your exacting attention to detail was noticed throughout the weekend and our guests literally felt like royalty. The run of the day was as smooth as silk and nothing was too much to ask.. I actually felt like I floated through the day. Brendan would agree with me in saying that it was the best day of our lives and the memories are priceless. You guys are the best in the business and if Carlsberg did weddings they wouldn't even get close!!! Again please extend our sincerest gratitude to everyone involved including Kathy our waitress, Maruta for the perfect wishing tree, all the managers who were running things like a military operation(Ian and Barry) and all the staff who did everything and more to ensure that everything went without a hitch. Watching the serving staff in action was literally like watching a ballet. We cannot wait to return to the Lyrath and several of our guests say the same. The best wedding ever thanks to all of you! We would highly recommend the Lyrath and believe me I don't normally gush unless I have good reason to do so. Every bride in their right mind should consider the Lyrath!


With the most sincerest thanks
Brendan and Sophie Dixon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre
Address: Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 170 acres of mature parkland, 1.2km from Kilkenny City, Lyrath Estate fuses stunning contemporary hotel design with the elegance of the original 17th century Lyrath House. Featuring 137 spaciously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, numerous bars and restaurants, the Oasis Spa and Oasis Health Club, with floor-to-ceiling glass windows which border its 17 meter infinity edge pool. Whilst the "Kilkenny Convention Centre" at Lyrath Estate offers purpose-built state-of-the-art facilities for up to 1,500 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.