We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top class...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We attended a wedding here and stayed the night. The service is excellent, staff extremely professional and courteous. The hotel was beautiful, very clean and the grounds were gorgeous. The room was beautiful, clean, spacious and relaxing. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway or even an 'upscale family break'. The only thing we noticed that it was quite a trek to our room- if you have mobility problems, ask for a room near the lifts. The food at the wedding reception was average, although very well executed, the food was just average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    317
    167
    58
    20
See reviews for
334
610
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

stayed here during week can t say enough positive things about food,staff, facilities and general contact with hotel staff also people in reservations were vv helpful ..however we had booked a mid week break for 2 nights we are a young couple and wanted a quiet 2 night break unfortunately all we got was KID CENTRAL!!I love kids dont get me wrong but we were not prepared for the level of kids -the pool was a no go,breakfast and reading the paper over coffee forget it etc... like I say I love kids but was not the kinda break we had in mind!!! just feel that reservations should have let us know there was alot of families staying esp since it was v obvious they were aware of this fact as they had kiddies discos and kiddies cinema screenings all day I would def go to this hotel again its a fab hotel and I cannnot reccomend it enough we just left dissappointed...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I did a lot of reserch online re family breaks in Ireland and there was a good few options out there. I saw so many great reviews on tripadvisor re the lyrath and I checked out their website which had great advertisments re kids activities for summer. I contacted the hotel directly re these activities to see if they would cater for my 7 & 10 year old children. I was assured that the activities were suitable and on those ground i decided to book our holiday. The kids activities were not included in the hotel package, we had to pay for them, which I did not mind. We arrived at the Lyrath which was lovely, however, disaster the kids activites were extremely disappointing...they were more suited to an age group of 6 and under. Arts and Crafts, pottery and kids disco was like a day at play school and my children were so up set. There was a games room and an in house 20 seater cinema, however, limited to selection of games and up to date DVDS. Gym & Pool very small and over crowded at times. We brought the kids to the caves, reptile zoo and kilkenny castle etc... As parents we spent all of our time entertaining our kids due to the let down of this hotel and to be honest I would not recommend this hotel for a family summer holiday. SC

Room Tip: family rooms on 4th floor better option... if u have the money up grade to family suite if staying f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here for a 3 day midweek break - really enjoyed our time. Staff are the best thing about this hotel - so friendly and helpful. We had specific request regarding storing of medication and staff arranged this without making it feel like we were a bother. Room very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great including freshly made pancakes! There were weddings in the hotel but there was no impact on our stay - either with crowds or noise. I would happily recommend this hotel and will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Thank you guys for the fab service and food for our wedding on 21/06/2012. Everything was amazing and everyone was complimenting the food and venue for weeks. Thank you for taking care of everything. Can I do the wedding again ;')
Trióna & Ivan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

rooms are OK, big, comfortable and the nightly turndown service is good.
the outside of the hotel could do with work, not very well maintained/landscaped.
reservations staff not that helpful, staff in the hotel are OK, but service in the bar was not that brisk. the food in yindees was no better than edible, the breakfast was fine, apart from the undignified, unmannerly scrum which seems to accompany every buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a round Ireland road trip and found the hotel very clean, quite luxurious and having a nice combination of modern facilities within an old world setting. Our original double room was fine until we discovered that there was no hot water! The duty manager kindly moved us to a suite as a result and this room was very very nice - the staff were generally friendly with even the cleaning staff smiling and greeting us politely - only one small complaint - the breakfast was not great - even the jam was tasteless and my "soft" poached eggs were like rubber balls

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre

Address: Old Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 170 acres of mature parkland, 1.2Km from Kilkenny City, Lyrath Estate fuses stunning contemporary hotel design with the elegance of the original 17th century Lyrath House. Featuring 139 spaciously appointed air-conditioned bedrooms, numerous bars and restaurants, the award winning Oasis Spa and Oasis Health Club, with floor-to-ceiling glass windows which border its 17 meter infinity edge pool. Whilst the "Kilkenny Convention Centre" at Lyrath Estate offers purpose-built state-of-the-art facilities for up to 1,500 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.