We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilkenny Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kilkenny Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-16 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Room was a good distance from the road so really quiet and easy to sleep in, it was clean and cosy, not huge but plenty big enough for one person! I was advised where is good to eat locally by the owner and was delighted with honest and local knowledge. I went for a drink in the bar after my meal and was entertained by the owner and her son for a while. I really appreciated the company as I was travelling for work and was alone, they were both so lovely. Breakfast the next morning was ok, I'm not a fry person so choices were limited to cereal or fruit, I'd have loved pancakes as something warm to start the day but otherwise no complaints! I really would stay there again, they were all so lovely and made my stay super!

Room Tip: Quiet room out the back over looking the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
15
60
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My mother in law as a guest of the hotel invited me to meet her there for coffee this morning. Unfortunately I didnt even get inside the hotel as some pompous little git came out and immediately told me I wasnt allowed to park there. I was in the middle of helping two other guests to jump start their car as their car battery had gone flat over night. He didnt even thank me for helping them- just told me to get out. I had a baby with me and had to load everything back up and go park somewhere else. So needless to say I wont be back if this is how they treat customers. Cead Mile Failte- yeah right!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Spotless clean hotel. although the outside is a bit dated looking. nice comfortable room. free parking. Friendly staff were able to advise about the city attractions. Great value! 2 minute walk to bars. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I just recently came back from a trip around Ireland (we are from Connecticut). This was our second stop. The staff at the Kilkenny Inn was very nice and informative, and the parking area in the back was a definite plus. As with most other places, the hotel was very amenable to us checking in early. The hotel room was pretty standard, nothing too special but certainly a nice place to stay for the night. It was in a great location...just down the street from a Spar so we could pick up waters and snacks, and a short walk into town and to the castle. However, it was far enough away that it was very quiet at nighttime. The price was very reasonable and we got a full breakfast the next morning. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Needed somewhere reasonably priced and conveniently located to Kilkenny city. This was just on the edge so ok, room was on the top floor so banged my head on the eaves a couple if times, but for €59 including a nice breakfast I would have no problem staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Kilkenny inn hotel for three nights with my 85-year-old father. Staff were very friendly it's a 10 minute walk into town. Definitely stay there again I am already looking into a trip back in May

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and we had a lovely time. It's our second visit. The hotel is within walking distance of the town and the Kilkenny Castle. The hotel is very well run. The food in both the Pure Bar and the Taste Resturant is very good and the staff are very friendly and efficient,
especially Philip. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilkenny Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Inn Hotel

Address: 15-16 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilkenny Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kilkenny Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilkenny Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilkenny Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.