We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night midweek break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kilford Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
Co Tyrone
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Two night midweek break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very central hotel with its own off street parking down a narrow alley. The car park is tight and busy so be careful. It is quite a walk in the rain to get to the front of the hotel with bags etc and there is no drop off at the front. We were asked to pay in full on check in - first time this has happened to us?? The hotel room was grand and done the job requested - it is although very outdated and needs modernising. The bar area is quite busy doing meals all day long and we had a good meal included in the package - the apple pie was on of the nicest we have tasted in quite some time. Again this hotel is very central and didn't take the car out in the two days we were here. Wandering down the street to the various pubs and listening to the live music was really good as each one had something on. The castle is also very good and a must see. My first time in Kilkenny and I would recommend it to anyone - very friendly people and great Guinness. If we had to stay here we would as we have no complaints but we would try one of the other central hotels next time as they seem to be of better quality. We did however really enjoy our stay - "you get what you pay for, so don't expect the Ritz "

Room Tip: Watch the tight car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    91
    51
    22
    38
See reviews for
28
146
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just back from Kilkenny after attending Bruce Springsteen Concert, what a fab weekend
Great atmosphere great crowds but made perfect by the great hotel we stayed in
We booked Kilford Arms on line when we decided to go to Concert, we expected prices to be raised due to Concert and crowds but thankfully we got 2 nights stay in the heart of Kilkenny city five minutes from Concert for an amazing price. When we arrived we were told that hotel could not guarantee that we would get space in their car park but we had no problem and parking was free to residents so near everything a great bonus
we booked in early, the staff were very friendly, helpful and when we went to our rooms we were pleasantly surprised with cleanliness and space.
Breakfast was very well organised even with large crowds well staffed
All in all great stay Will be back Thanks to all

Room Tip: Visit the quirky O faolains bar part of kilford arms hotel A must see
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Check in was completely without hassle. Included was a meal in their restaurant, which was lovely and served by an extremely helpful and friendly waitress. Large bar, definitely a "superpub" but not very full when we had a late drink there. Bar Staff were lovely and the bar itself is interesting with the old stone effect. It's also not too loud, which is a plus.
Rooms were great, with a safe and a fan that I thought was a nice touch with the warm weather. A view of Kilkenny Castle out the window was nice. Sounds from the bar or other residents didn't make it into the room.
Breakfast was a self service buffet, and all the food was lovely, not dried out as can happen with those setups. They had a good selection of cereal, teas, and fruit; however they could consider bigger glasses for the orange juice.
The car park was good, although a bit narrow to get into but large once you squeezed through the lane.

Would definitely stay here again, well located in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Got a great dinner bed and breakfast offer on line and spent 2 days in this hotel. Great location with free car parking lots to see and do in kilkenny. Bar had live music each night and breakfast was plentiful. Staff very friendly will be returning again and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel to stay and quite close to the centre.I went with my aunt and must say they were very helpful.Breakfast was lovely and the breakfast room was quite unusual with a lovely wood effect.We were quite close to kilkenny castle which we done on tuesday and would reccomend this we also visited langtons pub which is well known and we had a fabulous meal therewe had two lovely days here and would definately go back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

great location across from langtons in kilkenny which seems to be a very popular place to go out in, the hotel is good and central, staff are friendly and breakfast was pretty good, not the ritz but it does the job well done guys

Room Tip: look for a room to the back of the hotel the street can get pretty loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Got a great deal and stayed for a couple of nights, had my elderly mother with me so asked for a room adjacent to the lift, got this was also offered a room with a walk in shower for her which was great, the staff we came in contact with where all very friendly and helpful, breakfast in the resturant was excellent, the evening meal was very good, the hotel very central, free car parking, there is no air con however when we built hotels in Ireland we did not expect to need it lol, it was very hot, we asked for a fan and within 5 minutes it was in our room great service, hotel has a night club, and a bar each side traditional live music was on each night, noise was not a problem, very close to all aminities including the castle, shopping, etc

Room Tip: rooms all seemed to be on the same level, there is no pool or fitness center, this would not be a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilford Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.