We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kilford Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Kilford Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct Here
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here with a large hen party and concidering we were such a large group and we were a hen party, I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the staff were to us.
The service and value of the hotel was brilliant. However I wouldnt recomend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet weekend away as there does tend to be a lot of large groups staying. I was also surprised by the fact my room had no window so there was no natural light, it was a very nice room and as I was only staying one night it wasnt something to complain about.
The empty resteraunt on a saturday night was a bit strange I thought, but maybe anyone who went away for the weekend used their meal voucher on the friday night.
The food was nice and the portion size was ample and the speed of service was very prompt.
It is definetly suitable for a group weekend away.

Room Tip: if you find it hard to walk up steps make sure you let the hotel know as even if your room is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    120
    67
    28
    44
See reviews for
34
189
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clondalkin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just back from my hen party in Kilkenny where we (19 of us) staying in the Kilford Arms hotel.

We had such a great time there and cannot fault anything. The staff are so so friendly which really made us feel at home.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. It is in an ideal location in the centre of the city and has so many amenities under the 1 roof.

Brilliant weekend!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
712 helpful votes 712 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was a weekend stay that my wife & I had been looking forward to for quite a while but it turned out to be a real mixed bag. We parked in the hotel's free outdoor car park & followed the directional arrows which took us through the hotel's very, very busy O'Faolain's bar. The first thing that we noticed in reception was how loud the music was coming from the bar(PV's). My wife asked the receptionist if that volume was the norm & I asked if it was possible to get a room at the back of the hotel. Her response was that it was Kilkenny at the weekend & it couldn't be guaranteed that we wouldn't have to put up with the noise & afterall, she said, this was stated on the hotel's website & we were notified of such when we booked. I certainly didn't see that on the website nor was it mentioned when booking & I've checked again since I got home & I still can't see where on the website that it is stated.
Up the hotel's single lift (decent security as our room card was needed to access it) & we found our room tucked away off a corridor. Not as big as we had hoped for but adaquate enough for 2 guests. It felt tired & in need of refurbishing & had iron & ironing board, dresser, safe, tea/coffee, small double bed, single bed, electric fan, radiator & trv, smoke alarm, tv, luggage rack, full length mirror & good sized clothes storage. The bathroom too was on the small side & again, needed a freshen up. It had bath, shower curtain, fixed head shower with good water pressure & plenty of hot water, shampoo/shower gel, cream wash, towels, makeup mirror, hairdryer, shaving light over mirror & dual voltage shaving socket but no extractor fan.
We went out on friday night before 2200 but found the front door of the hotel was locked & so, had to exit through O'Faolain's. As it turned out, when we returned the music volume in the reception area was still loud but thankfully we had no issues with noise once in our room. Unfortunately that wasn't the case the following night when sleep was interrupted several times by the noise of guests going to & from their rooms, seemingly, totally oblivious to the fact that they weren't the only people in the building.
Breakfast was good, served in the very striking White Oak Restaurant with it's very friendly & helpful staff. Plenty to choose from full fry, cereals, yoghurts, toast, grapefruit slices, prunes, fresh whole fruit, tea, coffee, fruit juices & green & other flavoured teas.
We watched the rugby match & had a soup & a beer or two in PV's bar on the saturday afternoon. A great atmosphere in here with a nice crowd in to watch the match. The bar is comfortable & very nicely designed & the staff, very friendly. The soup wasn't bad either.
Maintenance in the hotel in general left a little to be desired. We used atleast 2 different stairs which had loose/shaky handrails & spindles & saw more than one worn carpet & the signage to reception could have been alot better. Checking out only took a minute or so & the 2 staff on duty were much more approachable than the receptionist that we dealt with on checking in.
Complimentary national newspapers were available at reception & locationwise, the hotel is very handy with the Castle being no more than 5 minutes walk away & McDonagh's Junction shopping centre is also very close by.
Would we return? To Kilkenny, most definitely yes. To this hotel, most probably not.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

stayed a weekend here which was very nicely priced and good value for money.staff where friendly in reception giving a warm welcome,rooms where basic but cosy.
food served had different prices from outside board and inside menu but never the less was very tasty and was not waiting long.kilfors has main hotel bar that was entertaining with good atmosphere and also a nightclub that was also good music and not over crowded and full of trouble like some other spots in kilkenny.defo would go again well worth value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed in the kilford arms hotel in Jan 2012. I must say it was a great find. I go to kilkenny every now and again and I would definatley stay there again. Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager of the hotel who went through all the day to day operations. We got to our rooms and although were pretty average they had everything we needed. There was alot of nice restaurants and bars just on our door step and having off street parking in such a central location was great. A group of 4 of us stayed for 2 nights and we all agreed we had a great stay. We ate in the hotel bar on the first evening an enjoyed a comliementary glass of wine. On the saturday night we went to a restaurant and a few more bars in the area but ended back in the kilford arms again. They had a nightclub on site and then we headed back to the residents bar which was very lively. Breakfast both days was also nice. All in all a good weekend and I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Brillianthotel, rooms were great and very spacious..
Staff were very friendly and very helpfull, the hotel had a lot of stag and hen parties staying which suited us as we like to have fun and a laugh when away for the weekend... I would defo recomend this hotel for a girlie or lads weekend away !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

we found this hotel friendly and clean, was a really good location. our room was good! staff was friendly and breakfast was good!! overall we enjoyed our visit, would recommend this hotel for a short visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilford Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.