We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yvonne is the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butler Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butler Court
Save
You added Butler Court to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 95 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yvonne is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here on June 7th before check in time after an early morning flight and rental car from Dublin. Yvonne greeted us and got us right into a room and knowing we only had one night told us the most important things to do. Her advice was perfect and Imwish we had stayed another day or two. Grewt location, great value, and a wonderful host. Dont hesitate to stay here!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    64
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
192
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Yvonne met us on our arrival and it seemed that we had been lifelong friends. She and her husband John simply made us feel right at home with their charm and warmth and helpful suggestions. Throughout our 3 weeks in Ireland we met many, many genuinely nice people but Yvonne and John were exceptional.
The rooms are similar to a motel rather than a traditional B&B we are used to but the rooms are clean and bright and provide all amenities The location is ideal to vist the sites in the delightful city of Kilkenny. We were able to walk everywhere is this facinating place. The breakfasts were modest as you have the food in your room but the choices of cold cereals and beverages were adequate if not exceptional. Good value for the money. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and delighted that we met such outstanding hosts . We will always have the fondest memories of Kilkenny and Yvonne and John Dalton .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Comfortable, clean, modern room with enough space for 2 adults and one teenage son. Continental breakfast in the room was all we needed. Located within easy walking distance of all we wanted to do. Top 2 of 5 B&Bs we visited during our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so we read all the reviews, searched for this little place, and it lived up to every great review. John greeted us, it was just like meeting a good friend, maybe nicer! Lined us out with rooms we needed, extra towels? Blankets? Extra fruit? Snacks? Yes, yes, yes. You need anything else? He was just so accommodating. Rooms were immaculate. That's everything to me. Then John spends time on a map of Kilkenny - lining out our day and night for us. Listen to him; everything he steered us to was a huge winner: playground next to castle, get in there before 5, this restaurant, this pub, this store, this church - he tells all. The little place is situated perfectly, we could party and just walk back to our gated room. Easy access with room key. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location is perfect and the courtyard style b&b is charming. The room descriptions on trip advisor are very accurate. The BEST thing about this place is Yvonne. She is so kind and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

After a long day of traveling, my fiance and I finally reached Kilkenny. We arrived early to Butler Court around 10 am and were greeted by warm smiles from Yvonne and the cute pup Bob. It was so nice to be greeted with such warmth after spending 14 hours in an airplane and bus. Yvonne quickly helped us get set up with our room keys, a map of the city, and direction on where to eat a proper breakfast. The room was not ready as soon as we arrived, but Yvonne allowed us to store our bags in the room and told us it would be ready no later than 11:30 that morning. I was pleasantly surprised it would be ready so early. She kept true to her word and we were able to come back to a spotless room after breakfast. The room itself was very cozy and had a king bed, spacious bathroom, and was perfect for our stay in Kilkenny. Butler Court is situated in the middle of all the attractions, which made it easy to get to everything in about a day. I would highly reccommend this place to anyone visiting Kilkenny!

Thank you again,

Nadine

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Scotland.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On our annual sojourn to Kilkenny, we stayed as normal in Butler Court. A home from home if ever there was one, the accommodation is always excellent but it is the kindness, generosity and friendship of Yvonne, the owner, that elevates Butler Court above any other place I have stayed in. Truly wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butler Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler Court

Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Butler Court 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butler Court enjoys a quiet courtyard setting in a central location. This is perfect for exploring the medieval streets of Kilkenny City. Good restaurants and pubs abound - all within a short walk from Butler Court. Nearby are world-class golf courses, renowned equestrian facilities and excellent fishing. You can set your own pace at Butler Court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butler Court Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butler Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.