We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A slice of heaven

A slice of heaven
62 High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 149 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
Smithtown, New York, United States
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Adorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stooped in to this adorable bakery because of the tantalizing window display. We had coffee amidst the unusual and beautifully decorated cakes. The owner was very friendly and we had a lovely conversation. It was a delightful stop in this quaint and historic town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice little shoppe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We wanted some tea so we stopped and gave this shoppe a chance. We were both glad that we did. The tea was nice. The scones were excellent. I wish we had some place like this where we live. I wish this shoppe well and hope it is there for years to come. Extra friendly staff also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrickfergus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“lovely buns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

like everything else in Kilkenny the staff were lovely and the cakes were "heavenly". Everyone so friendly

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best Cakes in Kilkenny!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

When this cake shop/cafe opened I thought cynically "another cake shop in Kilkenny...how long will that last?". How wrong I was!!! This shop sells the BEST cupcakes I have ever purchased in Ireland! They are on display in the window and I can never seem to weak, past without buying some!!- Oreo, red velvet, chocolate, vanilla...the choices are endless and each flavour as good as the next.

The staff are always so kind and friendly when I go in and I know everything is homemade by a very talented lady...she must be talented as her baking is so so good!!

I am thrilled that the shop is doing so well as it is nice to see a real entrepreneur making a success of a business in these hard economic times!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very pleasant young staff. Tasty macaroons, only thing was one or two were stale as they were the last ones left on the shelves. The banoffi flavour was excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A slice of heaven also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to A slice of heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A slice of heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.