We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food , Coffee machine broken and Staff Untrained.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lemongrass

Lemongrass
Johns Bridge, Kilkenny, Ireland
56 771 5333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 146 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
limerick
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Food , Coffee machine broken and Staff Untrained.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Called to this restaurant a few days after Christmas , party of 4 people , the food was great ,very good .The price for what we ate was spot on , we will call again to this Restaurant but hopefully in the mean time the staff may have got some training and they will have bought a coffee machine, it broke on Christmas eve and a few days later they still did not a replacement coffee machine , can be got in argos for 50 euros .Now for the staff , they were very friendly but did not know how to set a table correctly and how to put the food down on the table without spilling the food over the side or putting the sleeve of her cloths in my food very annoyed about this ,
when you serve the food , the correct thing to do is to serve the person on the inside first , so you are not leaning over the food of the person sitting on the outside , also when you put the cutlery on the table you put in down using the handle and not the cutting edge leaving your finger prints on the knife and fork .These are just simple things that eveyone working in a restaurant should know . the food was great ,great price , just let down by the lack of training of the staff .
Please buy a coffee machine people do expect a good cup of coffee at the end of the night , there was no excuse for this , shame on you .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    28
    8
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Callan, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Enjoyable. Good value. service so so. not so sure if i would return! was expecting a little more. beef in stir fry was tough

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Super Fresh Food & Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I tried this restaurant recently and were overwhelmed by the quality of both the food and the service. We decided to order a selection of starters and one main between us. Every dish in this cross section of the menu was delicious and you could really taste the freshness of the ingredients. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming. We would recommend it highly!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I found Lemongrass after walking the city and not wanting to eat at a bar or pub. The food was excellent and everything was fresh. We were early enough for the early bird special which was 18 euros for 2 courses a person. The lemon chicken was fantastic and the green curry was wonderful. All in all, a great place to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely restaurant, with really great food. Portions are very generous too, especially the main course, and great friendly staff. Good wine menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Lemongrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemongrass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.