We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Left Bank

Left Bank
The Parade, Kilkenny, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 28 Nightlife in Kilkenny
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Very large bar, lovely décor. Lively spot with live music/bands. Different areas in the bar so you can be in the middle of the madness or you can move to snug areas for chat. Food also served during the day.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    5
    0
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Popped in for a drink with my wife and had a couple of G&Ts
Great place to stop off. Both cosy and funky inside with plenty of space to chill out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Left Bank and right on side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The beer was cold and the atmosphere was great, only stayed a while as we were meeting friends, should have stayed there

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Discriminating security.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Came here last night for a friends birthday in an area of the left bank that had been RESERVED for all of our group.

My boyfriend is almost 30 years old and was asked for ID by the ignorant balding security guard at the main entrance. He of course doesn't carry around his ID, nobody else in our party was asked for ID. My boyfriend has long hair and this is the only dicriminating reason he was not allowed enter the building becauseThe balding security guard then started joking with the other security guard at the door about "if he takes off his hat will it look better?" To which the other guard said "No!" Another friend was wearing the exact same hat, he had short hair and was not asked for ID or to take his hat off.

I was absolutely shocked ! What kind of backwards system is that? Eventually we were allowed enter the pub but due to this level of absolute ignorance and discrimination none of our group stayed more than 10 minutes and left. Thanks to your backwards system you lost the service of 36 people.

We went to a few other pubs and eventually langtons and nobody discrimated against my boyfriend and we were allowed in no problem.

We will most certainly not be back and won't be recommending this pub to anybody in future.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I reserved an area for my 30th birthday and I was very impressed by the service I received from the events staff before we even arrived. They always responded promptly. I love that we had our own escorts to take us to our area and escorts to the late bar afterwards. The venue is very impressive on the inside atmosphere was fantastic. And to top it off my husband left his coat behind and the manager rang and is posting it back to us now that's service. Highly recommend this venue

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Left Bank also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Left Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Left Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.