We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen party meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanigan's Bar & Restaurant

Lanigan's Bar & Restaurant
28/29 Rose Inn Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
+353 (0)56 7721718
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 149 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lanigans a Family run Traditional Irish Bar and Restaurant with Live Music every Thursday / Friday and Sunday with Top Irish Bands - The Gypseys , Divil The Bit & The Kilkennys during Wintertime and live music 7 nights a week during summer months . Our Award winning Menu is a must to try if your passing through Kilkenny or Just looking for a family or Colleague Weekday or Weekend meal. At Weekend Nights Lanigans Transforms into the No1 Night spot in Kilkenny with 2 DJs on 2 floors and some of the best drinks Promotions to be had in the City (Almost 38% Cheaper with our package drinks deals). We are a 2 minute walk from Kilkenny Castle and located 2 doors from the Kilkenny Tourism Office. Our Brunch/Breakfast menu is served from 10am with Dinner/Lunch from 12.30Pm. Multiple choice of Sport viewing in Bar with our 6 Large Plasma Screens and we also offer Accomodation for travellers on a budget in our purposley built Brand new 40 bed Tourist Hostel which is the only "Irish Tourism" Approved and Centrally located Hostel in Kilkenny - beside our Bar . A Warm Welcome and a friendly smile will always await you when you come to Lanigans - See you at the Bar
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
“Hen party meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

great food both in quality and quantity, quick service despite a large crowd in the restaurant , clean toilets, good entertainment space in the bar area

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    50
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Great Spot, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Just back from a stag weekend in Kilkenny and while we werent staying In Lanagans we did freguent it a few time :P The staff here are excellent especially Denise the Manager great crack and could not do enough for you. This bar is a must if your in Kilkenny and up for a good time.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

First time in Kilkenny for years , we wandered in to this premises. Very nice, friendly staff. Massive big screen taking over the back wall for all big sports fixtures. I personally didn't eat here but friends did, was nice and reasonably priced too. If in Kilkenny for any reason you have to put a visit to Lanigan's on your itinerary. We will be back folks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing. If I could rated I would give 10*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

After reading nearly 100 of reviews I have to say few words.. First of all staff : not rude at all , second of all stop complaining and enjoy your day or night out people. I absolutely love this bar & restaurant. They have everything down there. From a handy Hostel with lovely clean and big rooms , massive massive TV on the wall like a big cinema , NUMBER ONE IN IRELAND THINGS TO DO : HURLING TOUR , food is amazing starting from starters to main courses and finishing on desserts oh no sorry on latte or cappuccinos or beer or cocktails or whatever you wish tbh. Staff are gems .. Irish dancing unbelievable.. The band really good .. Really entertaining.. I'm really glad to give Ye 5* but if I cud I wud give Ye 10* ..and again thank you so much for a great experience .. We will be back very very soon (sorry for my writing am obviously I'm foreign ha )

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 via mobile

We went here for our activity and ended up coming back and spending the night here the food was lovely and the staff where brilliant ! Would 100% go back !!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanigan's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Lanigan's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanigan's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.