We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Langton House Hotel to your Saves list
Langton House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Langton House hotel was so much more than I could have expected.
From the reception staff to the waiting and bar staff I could not praise them enough. Friendly and welcoming throughout our stay. We ate dinner in the restaurant that evening and the food was fantastic. The hotel itself is beautiful and our room was spotless and welcoming.
I would definitely go back and I would recommend it to anyway looking for a break away to Kilkenny. Thank you again to all the staff for making our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    79
    40
    11
    10
See reviews for
50
189
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Yes, we were back again (my sister and I) last week in Langtons. It was another lovely experience for us. We were welcomed like old friends by Breda and the other girls who always make sure that guests are comfortable and well fed. The Breakfasts/Dinners etc. as usual were delicious, well cooked and presented. We also enjoyed a few smaller snacks in "The 67" which seems to be frequented by many locals - always a good sign.

It was a very, very busy time in the Hotel as big Society Wedding Receptions were being held there each day during our visit. (The style was gorgeous - pure catwalk stuff.!) The Diningroom was packed each evening, including many obviously prosperous farming families who were en route home from the National Ploughing Championships. Being extra busy was no problem to the staff who, nothing daunted, were as efficient and friendly as ever and still made time to return to our table to make sure that everything was to our liking. (The Horseradish sauce was perfect too.!)

We stayed in the Garden Suites and everything there was A1; we didn't even hear any of the music etc. from the wedding groups.

It was a very successful sojourn in the Marble City where I bought some exquisite wine glasses in a nearby store, at a really good price too. Langton's staff wanted to know when they would see us again with a cheery "Ah, come down before Christmas if yoiu can." We very well might.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there from August 30-Sept. 6 while managing a charity golf tournament for the Carlow/Kilkenny Home Care Team. The way we were treated from the minute we walked thru the door until we left was the best overall experience I have ever had at any Hotel, anywhere! From the reception desk, to the maids who cleaned up the rooms, to the wonderful bartenders and waiters/waitresses, back office staff and most of all, the owner of the Hotel, Mr. Eamon Langton. He provides his employees with the qualities that any Hotel or any business in the service industry should learn from. I would send anyone and everyone to this place to stay or even live if you need to. Thanks for a wonderful, incredible and most enjoyable experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed in Langtons recently following a family function. From the reception staff, to the bar and waiting staff, I could not praise them higher. We were waiting for other family members and got our arrangements mixed up, it would have been a total disaster were it not for the flexibility, kindness and totally solution based attitude of the hotel staff. They could not do enough for us. We had a number of children in our party, and they had a ball, already begging for the return visit! I found the bedrooms extremely comfortable and have to admit, slept like a log!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a girlie night away midweek. Booking was easy, lovely girl Karen was so helpful and even had the whole thing booked over email. On arrival Maria booked us in promptly and we were upgraded to a suite. Bar staff couldn't have been nice an the prosecco and strawberrys were lovely (part of the package). We ate in the restuarant, good was great value and really tasty. Rooms were huge, clean and very comfortable. Checking out was instant and Karen was as helpful in person as through emails. Will defo be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed at Langton House Hotel a great number of times over the years and have been meaning to sit down and write a review. We're quick to complain but slow to compliment!!! First of all let me start with the Hotel and rooms - I've stayed both in the Main House and in the Garden Rooms and both are all fantastically decorated. If you're lucky enough to stay in one of the rooms above the Tea Rooms decorated in beautiful timeless style with a bit if a kick into the 21st Century then this is for you! As for the food.....I've dined in both the bar and the restaurant itself and both are just amazing with extensive choices and you will be served efficiently by welcoming staff where nothing is too much trouble. In fact on arrival I have to stay the Front of House are so good, I wouldn't be surprised if they have a degree in Customer Service Care - because they do care so much about you having a good stay! Louise Hipwell has to be my favourite, her chirpy happy attitude is enough to brighten any bad day!!! I would recommend Langton House for any kind of stay, I've been with family, on a romantic break and once in a while on my own, just to get away and each time, I've never been let down! Oh and did I mention the great location? Lol I nearly forgot, its bank in the middle of the city so, park the car and enjoy strolling around the city for the weekend! :)

Room Tip: Just remember there's no lift so if you're not nimble on your feet request one of the fab ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

On my visit I was upgrade to one the Suite on the top floor and despite the other reviews, I couldn't hear any noise.Very spacious room. As this is a grade listed building, so please be aware that there're no lift. I had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Address: 69 John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#9 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.