We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 30th Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Langton House Hotel to your Saves list
Langton House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Celbridge, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic 30th Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I organised a 30th birthday party for my boyfriend at Langtons, Kilkenny and I can honestly say the night was fantastic. The staff were exceptional during our whole visit, the food was fantastic and the venue was perfect. Our personal barman 'Donal' was so professional, helpful and really did everything possible to make sure we had a good night. He is an absolute asset to the hotel.

On top of the party our room was fabulous. Huge room with a double bed, fantastic air conditioning (which was so needed given the heat at the weekend!!!) and a beautiful bathroom (epic shower!!).

I would like to thank all the staff for such a remarkable weekend, it really was a birthday to remember.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    79
    40
    11
    10
See reviews for
50
189
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight and my only regret was we couldn't stay longer. The service was outstanding and the staff couldn't do more for us. The room was amazing, we stayed in a suite. Would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daingean
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed in this hotel last thursday,all i can say is why did i leave it so long.The hotel is beautiful the staff could not be nicer and the food is lovely we will be back again and again,other hotels could take some tips on how to run a hotel? well done.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden suite it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Rock
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spent two nights in Kilkenny during a recent trip to Ireland. Hotel nicely located near the bridge and within walking to Kilkenny Castle, shopping, pubs and restaurants. Doesn't look like all that substantial from the street, but the place opens up towards the back and the property actually has a lot of area to it. Plenty of free parking in the rear.
Was given a "courtyard" room. It was one of the nicest and definitely the most spacious hotel room I've ever stayed in Ireland. Staff was friendly and the hotel bar and restaurant were superb.
Would recommend Langton's and Kilkenny to anyone visiting Ireland.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the courtyard out back. The short walk is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

While staying in Kilkenny a couple of days ago we chanced to come into the beautiful tea-room in the Langton House Hotel and the best thing I can say about it is that we were back again the following day!!
The décor is charming - pale grey panelling with touches of gilt, pale blue and white crockery and low background music reminiscent of a gentler age - 40s/50s.
The service was prompt and friendly. We had tea and shared a huge rock-bun accompanied by a little tub of strawberry jam and one of whipped fresh cream which we lingered over unperturbed. The price was just under €6!
Before we left I went through the adjacent foyer of the hotel to use the ladies room and suffice to say five star all-round. Had a look on bookings.com earlier this evening and look forward at some stage to spending a few days in this gracious and well-praised establishment. Can't help imagining stopping in here when the days are cooler and a break is needed from some seasonal shopping .....Grace would just love it.

Room Tip: Was just taking tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, accommodation excellent with accommodation staff, particularly Louise, who will sort out any and all your needs.
Meals and entertainment in the bar excellent.
All in all great stay!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

looks like a small place from the outside and doesn't look too appealing but inside its huge. From eating to bars and disco.very good food and great options and the rooms in the gardens are spotless and well maintained.liked especially how they had a bouncer making sure none of the night club goers came any where near the rooms in the garden.

Room Tip: rooms in the garden are the best.away from the hotel itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Address: 69 John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#9 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.