We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Metropole hotel to your Saves list
Metropole hotel
High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Metropole with some friends.Rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable!..The two lads working the bar were very frindly and we had great craic in the Metrople.The food was excellent and considering the price it really was the best value stay I think I have ever had!
I would definitley recommend the Metropole to family and friends.
Ger b.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Slippy, thanks for taking the time to write a review about the Metropole. We are glad you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you and your friends again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    5
    12
    35
See reviews for
Families
0
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed last week.It ticks all the boxes.Ceartan and his staff are very friendly and very willing to make your trip a pleasant 1.The bed was comfy and clean linen and towels and free flowing hot water.I can recommend the strognoff and the baileys cheesecake downstairs in the bar and the craic was good to. I traveled alone and found it safe and secure.Rates are fantastic and girls i highly recommend the location,you step out the door and shops are all around you.I'll definitely be back with a gang of girls,take over the girls only dorm and spend the extra cash in the shops and not having to walk far with the bags.Thanks ,great spot highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Angie, We are really glad you had such a great craig at the Metropole . come back soon and bring your friends...the shops really are great. thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. Really clean rooms. Beds are really comfortable. Food was top notch. The 2 lads behind the bar were fantastic hosts, very friendly and laid back. Extremely reasonable rates. Perfect place to stay when visiting Kilkennny. Will definitely be back, and will recommend the Metropole to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear John C. thanks for taking time to review The Metropole. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killaha, Kerry, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in January as part of a birthday bash. Could not fault the place. From the moment we checked in, Mike & Cartan looked after each of us and were amazing to deal with. The rooms were clean and spacious and bar just downstairs served a lovely selection of food in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
The birthday girl has a great weekend and had nothing but great words for all the staff and accommodation. Made it a stress free break for us all and will definitely be recommending it in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Sile R...thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Kerry, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

stayed for a weekend for a friends birthday bash. mighty craic, no panic, all very chilled out. rooms are some of the best hostel rooms ive stayed in. really clean, and an epic shower! bar just down stairs, food, right in the middle of the town, good price, mike and Ceartan are cool, hip and with it!sure what else could you want?!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are glad you had a good time and we looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munster
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed with a group of friends(22 of us) and each one of us have nothing but compliments to give about this property, some have even pre booked for summer events already.

Before i even arrived Ceartan the co-owner had been in contact with me to introduce himself and make sure i had the relevent information about parking etc.

On arrival we were met by 2 very helpful and friendly gentlemen, Ceartan and Mike. It was a pleasure and from the moment we walked in the door nothing was a problem i.e extra towels, extra toilet roll etc.

Once checked in and given our codes we checked the rooms out. From the doubles to the dorms they were all spotless. Very spacious, comfy beds, clean linen and powerful showers. I cannot fault the standards this place has.

We went back downstairs to the bar where food is served. A nice, warm friendly Irish atmosphere and good pub grub. It's very central so it's only a short stroll to the shops and other bars. Matt the Millers is a great spot for abit of good music and The marble arch cafe just down the alley from the Metropole probably has the best full irish ive ever had.

All in all a perfect stay in The Metropole and def will book the next time i'm in Kilkenny.

Thank you for extending our stay without any problems and best of luck with your new venture Ceartan, Mike and Sarah, i have no doubt it will be a massive success and i'll be sending people your way :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments and we all look forward to your return visit. thanks for spreading the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the Metropole for a week. The staff consistently went above and beyond and were always super friendly. They always made sure I had everything I needed. The rooms were clean and had all the basic amenities, including decent sound-proofing which was much appreciated! Delicious, home-cooked meals were available for reasonable prices at the pub downstairs. The location was also fantastic. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Public Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are glad you had a great stay! Please spread the word in Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole hotel

Address: High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new management. The Metropole hotel in Kilkenny is a B&B and backpackers hostel with accommodation ranging from private twins and doubles to dorms sleeping 8, including a female only dorm. All rooms have en suite facilities and we provide fresh linen and towels and a free continental breakfast each morning. We serve great traditional Irish and International food in our bar, which also features live music 5 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Metropole hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.