We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole hotel

Save Saved
You added Metropole hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropole hotel
High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

15 of us stayed here for New Years Eve. We had an excellent time. Staff were so friendly and welcoming. Metropole is in a great location and we will be back again. Many thanks again to the two men who were running it and looked after us so well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Emily, we are glad the Metropole was perfect for your New Years celebrations and you enjoyed our hospitable service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    4
    9
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staff were so welcoming and hospitable. They knew we weren't going to be a quiet bunch and were so sound about it. Very basic accommodation, great location from main bars and restaurants as well as the train station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are glad you had a fab New Years at The Metropole and look forward to welcoming you back again soon...have you checked out all the festivals in Kilkenny during the spring and summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was apart of a big group that stayed here for new years and from the minute we walked inside the door the 2 guys who ran the hotel were so friendly and would do anything to help you!
It is a very easy-going place, great bar and food , clean rooms, welcoming and warm atmosphere.
The location is brilliant - very central.
We all had a brilliant stay in the Metropole - we would strongly recommend it,
Many thanks to the 2 guys who worked there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thanks for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed staying for New Years. We will be happy to offer you the same excellent service next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was perfect for a quick one stay. The walls were a little thin, but the room was clean and the pub food was good. Also, it is in a great location, within walking distance to all the places we wanted to visit. Staff was helpful in finding us parking as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm. The room was simple but not lacking. It had everything we needed (outlets, an hot shower, decently comfy, clean beds.) The view was pretty nice as well. The hostel owner/receptionist/bartender-extraordinaire had really good advice about where to go and was super friendly. We met some nice folks in the bar downstairs which drew us in with some live folksy-type music. Unfortunately we were only in Kilkenny for one night but I would definitely go back to The Metropole in a heartbeat if I ever found myself in the neighborhood again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in a 6 people bedroom. The room was ok, we were unlucky and one of the guys that slept with us snored very loud so we could 't rest as we had wished. The toilet was the worst part, it was far from clean. The people tha manage the hostel is really nice, so that made our stay nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked a last minute trip down to Kilkenny with a fellow Australian traveller. The man at reception happened to be proprietor and kindly ran us through the changes he has made since buying the hotel from the previous owner who clearly had a penchant for neglecting his assets (based on older reviews here as well as what we were told by the new owner).

He was extremely helpful with restaurant and bar recommendations, and overall, continually went above and beyond the usual expectation of your hotel receptionist/proprietor. This was epitomised by his decision to clean one of our rooms himself at 6:00pm in the evening when his cleaning contractor had not arrived to do so (we booked with only a few hours notice).

As someone who usually enjoys the finer things in life, this hotel by no means made me feel as though I was ever in a hostel/pub hotel. My bed was brand new and comfortable, the room as a whole clean and the wifi free and fast.

If you are looking for 2.5-3 star accom and service in a prime location at 1 star prices in Kilkenny, look no further, especially if you love supporting small businesses and those having a good crack in a decimated economy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropole hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole hotel

Address: High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new management. The Metropole hotel in Kilkenny is a B&B and backpackers hostel with accommodation ranging from private twins and doubles to dorms sleeping 8, including a female only dorm. All rooms have en suite facilities and we provide fresh linen and towels and a free continental breakfast each morning. We serve great traditional Irish and International food in our bar, which also features live music 5 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Metropole hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.