We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, warm, and inviting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Metropole hotel to your Saves list
Metropole hotel
High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, warm, and inviting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm. The room was simple but not lacking. It had everything we needed (outlets, an hot shower, decently comfy, clean beds.) The view was pretty nice as well. The hostel owner/receptionist/bartender-extraordinaire had really good advice about where to go and was super friendly. We met some nice folks in the bar downstairs which drew us in with some live folksy-type music. Unfortunately we were only in Kilkenny for one night but I would definitely go back to The Metropole in a heartbeat if I ever found myself in the neighborhood again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    5
    12
    37
See reviews for
Families
0
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in a 6 people bedroom. The room was ok, we were unlucky and one of the guys that slept with us snored very loud so we could 't rest as we had wished. The toilet was the worst part, it was far from clean. The people tha manage the hostel is really nice, so that made our stay nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked a last minute trip down to Kilkenny with a fellow Australian traveller. The man at reception happened to be proprietor and kindly ran us through the changes he has made since buying the hotel from the previous owner who clearly had a penchant for neglecting his assets (based on older reviews here as well as what we were told by the new owner).

He was extremely helpful with restaurant and bar recommendations, and overall, continually went above and beyond the usual expectation of your hotel receptionist/proprietor. This was epitomised by his decision to clean one of our rooms himself at 6:00pm in the evening when his cleaning contractor had not arrived to do so (we booked with only a few hours notice).

As someone who usually enjoys the finer things in life, this hotel by no means made me feel as though I was ever in a hostel/pub hotel. My bed was brand new and comfortable, the room as a whole clean and the wifi free and fast.

If you are looking for 2.5-3 star accom and service in a prime location at 1 star prices in Kilkenny, look no further, especially if you love supporting small businesses and those having a good crack in a decimated economy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Took a last minute break with my husband and drive to Kilkenny on spec. Pulled up outside the metropole as hubby loves staying in pubs. When I heard it was a hostel I wasn't keen but was persuaded by the great rate, location and promise if an ensuite double and a bit of arm twsting! What the hell, live a little I thought. Hours later after loads of beer, great company and live music the bed was very welcome and very comfortable. Made me remember my travels and the back packing I used to do and how much fun it was when you found a great unexpected gem. Good luck to the new owners, ill be back for more and I never thought I'd say that!

Room Tip: Well I'm past sharing so I'd only ever pick the double but I did hear the dorms were great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
And we are very glad you were persuaded to try and even more happy you will be back! We look forward to welcoming you again! thanks for your lovely words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed Fri & Sat night here with friends. Great location in the middle of town. Brilliant value for the room - stayed in a double room with en suite bathroom, very clean, comfy bed, warm - basic room but only there to sleep anyway. Proper hot shower. Very friendly staff, can have a bit of banter with them, great service & delicious food. Nice bar to drink in and reasonably priced - far cry from Temple Bar! Excellent Irish coffees. Nice clientele and they have bands at night. Overall I would say this is a great place to stay if your down in Kilkenny for the craic! Did not want to leave - will defo be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Irene - we look forward to welcoming you back. Glad you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomastown, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Came to Kilkenny to do a course for 2 weeks and was looking for a reasonably priced place to stay - it gets busy and booked out in town especially at the weekends and if you haven't booked ahead it can be pricey.. Walked into The Metropole to be met with a very friendly welcome and when I saw the rooms the deal to stay there was sealed. The beds are brand new and some of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. There are double beds but the dorm was fine. The bar food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The location is very central. What more could anyone want ?

Couldn't recommend the place highly enough for anyone wanting to visit Kilkenny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dave B - thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

booked the metropole with some friends as we were on a serious budget. I was not expecting much but the rooms were very clean and comfortable with ensuite. Staff were so friendly to us and the location was fantastic, couldn't ask for better. The bar served really tasty food and was very reasonable. For that price I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again next time you come to Kilkenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole hotel

Address: High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new management. The Metropole hotel in Kilkenny is a B&B and backpackers hostel with accommodation ranging from private twins and doubles to dorms sleeping 8, including a female only dorm. All rooms have en suite facilities and we provide fresh linen and towels and a free continental breakfast each morning. We serve great traditional Irish and International food in our bar, which also features live music 5 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Metropole hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.