We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful! Food was awful, shower in room drizzled out water, not very clean one good thing was the staff who were very friendly.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful! Food was awful, shower in room drizzled out water, not very clean one good thing was the staff who were very friendly.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked for 2 nights b&b and 1 dinner. On arrival I first thought the outside could do with I lick of paint I was still hopeful about the inside as it wasn't the cheapest hotel! The room was ok clean enough, went into the bar to get a bit of lunch, under staffed as the barman was serving food and drink on his own. Was a bit unsure about the place so just got a sandwich which came out with the person's finger prints in it that made it! After that I decided I wouldn't try out the breakfast the next day! My husband had breakfast he ate about half of it as he thought it was horrible. We were booked in for dinner on the sat night as part of the package so we went. I ordered the steak (medium) when it came I couldn't even cut it, it was rock solid could of bounced it of the wall! Husband ordered turkey and ham moved it around his plate as he said the turkey tasted off! We complained about the food as none of it was eaten so they didn't charge us the €5 supplement for the steak..........that was nice considering the steak was still on he plate! Overall the hotel was shocking and more annoying that the people who own it have a programme telling other people how to run a hotel........they definitely need to spend some time in their own!!!!!!! The one good thing was the very friendly staff. Oh yeah I had to use the bath as the shower barely spit the water out so anyone with hair hadn't a chance of washing it! Never again would I stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    122
    78
    64
    49
See reviews for
151
112
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Clane, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family.Badly needs upgrading.Room was spacious but very dusty.Bathroom door handle was hanging off from inside but was attended to quickly when reported by us.Paint coming off walls ,shabby and tired.Breakfast was plentiful and tasty just a pity about the breakfast staff.Shown to table by a waiter as proceeded to table was shouted at by a waitress asking "where did we think we were going ?".Breakfast an absolute cattle mart.....disorganised chaos.Best thing about this hotel is the food in the bar and the fantastic,professional bar staff.Other members of staff could by trained by them.Definitely won't be going back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

More than a 3 but less than a 4 - I'll give this a 3.5 rating.

Stayed with a group of friends over the weekend. Terrific value - €119 for 2 nights B&B plus 1 dinner pps. We all had a very pleasant stay - twin room had 2 single beds and one big double bed - plenty of space, plenty of towels and toiletries and very clean. However, some of the double rooms were a bit on the compact side. Breakfast was the standard hotel fare, some of the food could have been warmer and it would have been nice to have some continental options like cheese and cold meat. The staff were extremely warm, friendly and helpful. The lift could do with updating - very 'jumpy' and noisy - it wouldn't inspire confidence in it at all.

Room Tip: This hotel is located a bit outside the city centre so be aware of this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel in the new year.
The room was comfortable and the breakfast was good.
Staff were polite and helpful
We could not use the pool or other facilites i.e. jacuzzi due to the high number of children
using the pool and it was quite noisy to use the jacuzzi - the children were having fun.
I would suggest couples need to be made aware of how child friendly it is as if as a couple you want a relax time than would not recommend due to the amount of children staying there
when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights 29th & 30th december, two families with five children. Staff were polite & extremely helpful. Family room that accomadated 3 children which was great because alot of hotels only cater for two children in a room. Very family orientated and kids club was very good, but my 11 year old did say it was a bit babyish for her. Had a meal in the bar & restaurant & both were excellant, breakfast very good also. Great hotel to go with kids but if i was travelling without children i would stay in the city. Would definately return to the Springhill Court in the future. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great hotel , brilliant value , child friendly, lovely helpful staff and excellent service. Bar food and the restaurant are great valu and food is lovely . Also they serve a very generous breakfast .rooms are grand , a bit dated but spacious and very clean . I have stayed in this hotel many times nd have never has a problem and will always be very happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Me my wife and kids went on the 27th to the 30th December we had a super time the staff where brill and hotel lovely the kids had a super time lots to do with the kids in the hotel food was super too will be going back

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Address: Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the three star Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny your break begins from the moment you leave home. Set out on your journey stress free knowing that we are easily accessible and have ample free car parking on site. The Springhill Court Hotel in Kilkenny is one of the best known hotels and if it is Kilkenny hotels you are looking for then look no further! Once you have arrived in Kilkenny City you can begin to enjoy our superb hotel facilities which include Lavender Spa, Leisure Club, popular Image Hair Salon, Claddagh Restaurant, new look Paddock Bar and Lenny Lion's Kids Club during all school holidays. Friendly, efficient staff is at your disposal for the duration of your stay. We pride ourselves on our standards of service and customer care, many guests return time and again to soak up the genuine, friendly atmosphere that prevails at the Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure Hotel Kilkenny
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure And Spa Hotel
Springhill Court Kilkenny
Hotel Springhill Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.