We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a grand hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Enniscorthy, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's a grand hotel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here for one night for my friends 21st. I can't complain really from check in to check out. The hotel is only a bit out of the town as well so it suited us down to the ground. Our room was comfortable. The bathroom was grand. I got a bath when I first checked in and it was great. The next morning I got the breakfast which was very tasty and cured our hangovers right away. The staff were very friendly and talkative to us. I cannot fault this hotel. I would stay here again let it be on a luxury night away or for a fun night out in the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    103
    62
    55
    45
See reviews for
137
86
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

where do I start...check in was fine but went downhill from there.got to our room which was facing the front of the hotel and could just hear the road.looked in the bathroom and the paint from the ceiling was falling away.we requested a second room which we were given at the back of the hotel.however this was only slightly better.pillow cases inside out, cobwebs on the ceiling, shower head covered in lime scale, never mind trying to get hot water out of it.bar food cold, watered down vodka, rude bar management when complained about this.overall what was meant to be a relaxing weekend away turned out not to be at all.wouldn't return here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Mr Fromage and myself were there as we were given a voucher. Now, it just depends on what you're there for.
First off: Location. It's outside of Kilkenny town...you're looking at around €8 each way for taxi. So not exactly 'central'.

We arrived, and the room looked fairly knocked about - just a lot of wear and tear, and the bathroom - while clean - was fairly old, with a tap that you literally had to knock off to shut it off. We had a ground floor room....looking onto our car parked outside.

There were a fair few kids running about, but sure....they're kids. They're bound to run about! And it was the Saturday night of the mid term break so what else should you expect?! On the second night, we were the youngest there by a country mile - it was a Sunday night which is fair enough.

Food - we had a 3 course meal as part of our stay. it was..ok. Starter - had the terrine. Quite nice. Except salad underneath was seriously wilted. The veg had been plated a while ago. I had the pork two ways, and it was actually quite nice. Dessert - tirimisu. Just ok - nothing to rave about.

Breakfast was simple but grand - full irish. Again, it was alright and did the job.

Didn't check out the leisure facilities so no comment.

Staff - have to say were very very nice. Very chatty and pleasant.

So, to sum it up: Meh - it was ok.

PS - one very odd thing, for a conference hotel there was no wifi in the rooms, and while it was in the lobby it was very slow. Such a simple thing and definitely worth the investment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is probably the worst hotel I've had the misfortune to stay in for many a long year. Apart from the lobby it is very obvious that the rest of the hotel has not been maintained for a very long time, all facade and no consideration of the paying customer. Room was small, shabby and the matress should have been thrown out years ago (sagging in the middle). Shower could not be regulated; choices are be cooked with scalding water or stay unwashed. Ate in the Claddagh Restuarant; food very poor, barely edible, service terrible. The best part of the visit was checking out, early. Will never cross the door of a Brennan's Hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

As the title says we checked in everything seemed fine till we got to our room and found blood spatter on the wall and a large blood stain on the floor. Requested a new room and even offered to pay for an upgrade but apparently all the rooms were the same, which raised the question why was I paying €278 for 2 nights b&b when everyone else was paying €59 per night. Given a new room (decided to stay because we have a 10 month old and didn't want to be dragging him around the city looking for accommodation) New room fine this time, at least the bath had enamel on it, but because of the first incident we were hypersensitive to everything and couldn't relax. Lift was Filthy. Hallways were Stained and revolting. Bar was shabby. Windows were Dirty etc. went back to room which was freezing had to ring for heating which came on fine but got switched off at 1ish which meant everyone was awake all night freezing and ended up with colds etc today. Checked out at 8 this morning and was refunded for the second night so glad to be home. There are many more things I could reveal but I won't. Needless to say I won't be staying here again. Killkenny is amazing though and I will be back there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a wedding on the 20th of October 2012, and once again we had a fantastic experience. The rooms were very spacious and very clean and tidy. However where the hotel excelled itself is in its customer service. All the staff were so friendly ans accomidating they couldn't do enough for you. The food was fantastic so fresh and tasty...compliments to the kitchen staff. All in all a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed there for my brothers wedding on 4 th October. The rooms were comfortable spacious and clean. The swimming pool was great the kids loved it. The hotel staff were very helpful friendly and approachable.
On the night of the wedding meal my son asked the waitress for a burger with and egg in and Marie the waitress said no problem and went off to get it organised for him. He also asked her if she had a tissue and Marie went to her car to get him a tissue what a lovely kind waitress . The whole meal was delicious especially the beef.
Breakfast is plentiful and the coffee is very nice.
The rest of the hotel was comfortable and all the staff very helpful indeed I would definitely go back there.
Well done Chris and Mandy an excellent choice for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Address: Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the three star Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny your break begins from the moment you leave home. Set out on your journey stress free knowing that we are easily accessible and have ample free car parking on site. The Springhill Court Hotel in Kilkenny is one of the best known hotels and if it is Kilkenny hotels you are looking for then look no further! Once you have arrived in Kilkenny City you can begin to enjoy our superb hotel facilities which include Lavender Spa, Leisure Club, popular Image Hair Salon, Claddagh Restaurant, themed Paddock Bar and Lenny Lion's Kids Club during all school holidays. Friendly, efficient staff is at your disposal for the duration of your stay. We pride ourselves on our standards of service and customer care, many guests return time and again to soak up the genuine, friendly atmosphere that prevails at the Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure And Spa Hotel
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure Hotel Kilkenny
Springhill Court Kilkenny
Hotel Springhill Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.