We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B as it should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriglea B&B Kilkenny

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriglea B&B Kilkenny
Archers Avenue | Castle Road, Kilkenny 00, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 93 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Bremen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“B&B as it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were very friendly wellcomed with an offer for tea and informations about Kilkenny. The rooms are spacious and individually furnished. Our breakfast was as we wished "typical irish", completed with fresh fruits, juice and homemade, warm scones. What a wonderfull holiday start.
The owners were very helpfull and gave us a like at home feeling. The best B&B we had during our stay in Ireland.
Ulrich & Pirko

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
97
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randers
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great breakfast including fresh fruit and berrys. Pancake is on the menu. Large rooms, and very quiet. Central location. Great service. Good beds and good shower.

TV has several cabel channels, but very poor picture quality.

Tea and coffe facilities in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Beautiful B&B in the artsy and charming town of Kilkenny. Aside from being a warm and friendly place to stay due to the very kind and informative owner, it also has large rooms, great beds, a fabulous full irish breakfast and the inn is a very short walk to the center of town. Stayed one night but should have stayed longer. Highest recommendation.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and large here I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tuque, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Our stay in Kilkenny at Carriglea House was an enchanting experience. Our hostess Josephine made us feel welcome and it was a pleasure to have a cup of tea in a pleasant sitting room after the stress of learning to drive on the left side of the road.

Josephine gave us plenty of useful information about Kilkenny.

Carriglea House is very well situated and from there we could walk around the medieval city to visit and go out for dinner.

The breakfast was very good and when we left we were glad to have met Josephine and her husband who are very "sympathique" people and to have learned a little bit about living in Éire.

We will surely go back to Carriglea house when we will be in Kilkenny.

Suzie and Michel Leroux

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Josephine was very welcoming on our arrival and because we hadn't booked she was able to give us a choice of 2 rooms. We choose the front room which is very light with a large bay window overlooking the street. The ensuite was small but very serviceable and the rooms were spotlessly clean. Josephine is a wealth of information about Kilkenny and the county plus she gave us a choice of pubs and restaurants in the town to visit. Carriglea B&B is within walking distance to Kilkenny Castle and the town centre and in the evening we were fortunate enough to hear a professional bodhran player (an Irish drum) in a local pub.
Breakfast was scrumptious and kept us going into the afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Before booking our stay in Kilkenny, I read reviews of many places. The reviews for Carriglea won me over. And it was completely perfect! It's a beautiful, old house, just a few minutes from the Medieval part of the city. The rooms were a good size (many B&B rooms in Ireland are very small), and the bathroom had lots of room (again, comparatively). Breakfast was lovely, with several good options. Also, in the sitting room/lounge area, we found an "after dinner trivia" game. We took a few cards with us to dinner one night and laughed over our lack of knowledge! (It must be a British game, and we Americans knew nothing about English counties.) From the first inquiry email to Josephine to checking out after two lovely nights, we loved Carriglea. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

If you visit Kilkenny, this is definitely the place to stay it is so close to local amentities yet far enough away so that it is quiet. But more importantly, Josephine and her husband who run this establishment are warm and delightful hosts who put themselves out to resolve any queries you might have. There was a particular place my friend and I were very keen to visit but with no public transport, it looked like we wouldn't be able to go. Josephine went out of her way to sort this out for us. Their daughter was also very helpful, sorting out train tickets back to Dublin, and even a visit to the local cinema!
Oh and good choice of breakfast too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carriglea B&B Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriglea B&B Kilkenny

Address: Archers Avenue | Castle Road, Kilkenny 00, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriglea is an elegant spacious home on a quiet avenue 5 minutes walk from Kilkenny city centre. Adjacent to the beautiful castle park and only 3 minutes walk from Kilkenny Castle. All bedrooms are well furnished and offer a comfortable relaxing atmosphere. They are all centrally heated with en-suite bathrooms and welcome tray with tea and coffee. Guests are offered a full breakfast menu. A warm and friendly welcome to Kilkenny is assured to all. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriglea b&b Kilkenny Hotel Kilkenny
Carriglea Bed And Breakfast Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriglea B&B Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carriglea B&B Kilkenny to your Saves list