We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top local pub for lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel to your Saves list
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Top local pub for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We arrived in Kilkenny (July 2010) and stopped for lunch. Thought we'd try a local pub and came across the “Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel”.

Inside it was traditionally decorated with lots of rich timber, red walls and knick-knacks, giving it a warm and homely feel. Service was good.

We enjoyed a nice lunch in lovely surroundings - a real lucky find!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    129
    60
    30
    22
See reviews for
31
172
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here for a night while driving around Ireland. Loved the old world feel of the hotel - friendly service and great breakfast. Only thing to caution is a night club in the basement. On a rainy Sunday night, there weren't too many people on the street - but it did get a bit noisy for a while while I was going to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for one night midweek in a family group. Very friendly and efficient service, rooms were clean and fine, well equipped bathroom. However the breakfast was a real let down though again I had no complaints about the staff who were very good.

One of my family told me to avoid the orange juice so I went for the grapefruit juice instead, normally a safe bet everywhere but this was also poor quality. For a fry I ordered bacon, fried egg and tomato. The rashers were a dull shade of grey and tasteless, the fried egg was a mess with a broken yolk and the grilled tomato was so worn out from sitting under heat lamps or in an oven that it looked more like a sundried tomato!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Breakfast just great. Rooms fine. Location very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I rolled into Kilkenny early on a Sunday afternoon without any plans for lodgings. The first hotel we came across was the Hibernian, located centrally in town, and offering a rate of Euro 98 for the night, inclusive of breakfast and parking. We immediately booked, and upon my mentioning my husband's 30th birthday (the reason we're in Ireland), the staff upgraded us to a Superior room with a fabulous view of the street and a small part of Kilkenny Castle.

The staff here have been extremely friendly and knowledgeable, and we are so pleased with our decision to stay here. The street noise is a little louder than most places, but we attribute that to our enormous floor-to-ceiling windows.

This is our second time in Kilkenny, and I'm sure repeat visits will include a stay at the Hibernian.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hotel in central Kilkenny. Spent a weekend here with my daughter and all her girlsfriends. From entering hotel, we were greated by a pure gentleman. Very warm comfortrable hotel. Rooms 4star.(My suite was excellent).Room service very quick. Dinner in resturant was so so good. Praise to chef and all the catering staff. We were looked after to the best of their ability all through dinner.Breakfast was very fresh, the best porridge and boiling pot of tea I have had in a very long time.(I am a porridge and tea freak).Look it up if traveling to Kilkenny, at least go in and have some food. Lunch on the Sunday looked real good, a lot in the bar and resturant eating, and all I could hear was "Its very tasty". Thank you to Clodagh and all the staff for looking after us...

Room Tip: Order room service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

On first arrival - marvellous hotel - old world with lots of personality bang in the middle of kilkenny. Rooms fine. The charm is in the fact that it is not the same old same old formula for all the new build hotels that are everywhere. Went with three friends and took two rooms. Went for dinner in zuni and then drinks in lonegans. Arrived back to hotel around two for last drinks and bed so we are not 'party poopers'. Then the fun began - well fun for some - all night long there were drunken frolics through the corridors, shouting, laughing running, banging, drinking. After breakfast the fire alarm went off and i spotted the manager trying to turn it off from the switch on the corridor. I had to gently say to him - 'I wouldn't worry about that - there is a fire'. He looked around and saw what i had seen - a mad stag hurtling down the corridor apparently on fire - he has spraying deoderant and lighting it as he ran to appear like he was a ball of fire. The manager looked on helplessly. The hotel had lost control to the stags.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.