We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newlands Country House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Newlands Country House B&B to your Saves list
Newlands Country House B&B
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Seven Houses | Danesfort, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 95 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Luxury Accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely room in a country house, absolutely first class.Excellent breakfast.Need specific instructions to find. Need to get to Danesfort if using a GPS. From there house is on same road as school and Rugby Field. Some distance out of Kilkenny, but easy to reach. Don't use GPS from Kilkenny. Great family are the hosts.

Room Tip: Only saw one room, but we were assigned the room in the picture. Be sure to ask for specific instru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    18
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
84
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tualatin, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 2 nights and would have loved to stay longer. The rooms were all well appointed with top of the line bedding. Rooms were large, showers hot with plenty of pressure and the hair dryers were the best we encountered. Breakfast had the best options...real pancakes, nice fruit, and of course the "full irish breakfast". Quiet country location, but not too far from Kilkenny. Eamonn and Nicola were hospitable. It's definitely easy to see why Newlands Country House B&B is so well rated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here. Our room was elegant yet comfortable. The bathroom and shower were very good. The omelets for breakfast were some of the best ever! Nicola was very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again. A little hard to find make sure you email for good directions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having spent a wonderful evening in Newlands Country House during our honeymoon last year, we came back for a two night stay to celebrate our anniversary.

Once again, Eamonn and Nicola Murphy couldn't be more accommodating and as I've said to many people, it's a nicer place to stay than many hotels in Ireland.

The rooms are immaculately clean and the food is second to none. Eamonn and Nicola also have extensive local knowledge and are more than willing to help their guests find many things to do and places to visit in the Kilkenny area.

We look forward to our return once again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at Newlands Country House. It is very close to Kilkenny but is bit outside the city on a gorgeous rural property. Nicola (the owner of the B&B) was helpful in choosing what to do, where to eat and things to see in the area as well as on our next stop. This was probably one of our most favourite B&Bs. The room was gorgeous, everything spotless, the beds comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the common room very comfortable with lots of information on Ireland. We also appreciated how great and understanding they were with our kids. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The house was beautiful, and the rooms were very comfortable. In addition, the hosts were very friendly, and they gave us many great tips for restaurants and pubs in Kilkenny. Breakfast was delicious!...highly recommended bed & breakfast for anyone traveling to Kilkenny!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Based on glowing reviews from other Trip Advisor travellers, as we wended our way back to Shanon Airport, our stop at Newlands Country House B&B, became a must, And what a three day stop it was. A clean, comfortable room, with a bathroom to die for and tasty breakfasts. And above all, welcoming, courteous hosts to make our day. What more could we ask for.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the house overlooked fields and beyond. Quietude at it's best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newlands Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Country House B&B

Address: Seven Houses | Danesfort, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Newlands Country House B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newlands Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newlands Country House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.