We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic House B&B

Celtic House B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Celtic House B&B to your Saves list
Celtic House B&B
18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 95 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Ennis
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

John was very friendly when we arrived. We were able to park around the corner of the B&B which was a resident's parking area.
The room was disappointing, not at all like the pictures on the website.
It was very cold at night time - not sure if we didn't turn on the heating properly or if it was switched off during the night as it worked for us earlier in the day. The bathroom has no heating.
The Go Ireland website states that all rooms have TV with DVD player, but this was not the case.
There was just a very small tv which was too high up to be able to watch.
I didn't mind as I was not there to watch TV, but it should not be advertised as such.
Breakfast was not great, the hash browns tasted old and dry (not freshly made) and the scrambled eggs / full Irish were not very tasty.
I wouldn't recommend this B&B, the only thing which is good is the central location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    46
    18
    9
    11
See reviews for
19
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved this place! The owners John and Angela were so lovely I felt like they were family! Our room was delightful, our bed comfortable and loved the fact we could make our own coffee in our room. The location is quiet, and a lock up car park. John and Angela have plenty of great advice to help you find fun things to do in Kilkenny. We had a full Irish Breakfast in the morning and they were very accomodating with our children who were a little fussy with their choices. Great place, great hosts, loved it and would recommend it to anyone. In fact, we overheard some people talking to the hosts and so we spoke with them after and they said they visit Ireland regularly and it was the third time they had stayed with them they loved the place so much. We have stayed at other B&B's that have not had as nice facilities or hosts at Celtic House. We hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

First the good news - the owners, Angela and John were warm and inviting. John let us into and out of the carpark with no problem at all. Angela was lovely and served a very nice breakfast. The B&B is located within a very easy walk of all the restaurants and attractions.

The bad news - we had the worst bed(s) we've ever experienced (room #2). It looked and felt like just the box springs. There was a twin and a double in the room, and my husband and I couldn't even share the bed as it sagged so much in the middle. The carpet was dirty and stained. We almost left and found another place because the bed was so awful that it caused my husband's back to ache.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I;ll keep it short and to the point. Angela & John are lovely hosts. Very welcoming and friendly. Place lovely and clean, Lovely breakfast. Great location. Few minutes walk to town centre, and the castle. Look forward to our next stay in January. Over all made fell very welcome from the time we arrived til time we left, with a hug from Angela :) I would recommend this BnB to any one looking for a nice place to stay. Only down fall no hair dryers in room. But ask and u shall receive :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridderkerk, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've stayed in the Celtic House for two nights this september. This was our second time in the Celtic House. Great location, nice rooms, clean and a wonderfull breakfast are the main reasons we went back. Also Angela and John are lovely hosts. From a warm welcome when you arrive untill a hug when you leave, the warmest people I have ever met!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, RI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This B&B was OK. No hair dryers. Parking was gated, which was nice. No wifi. We had to sit outside the office to get wifi- there was nothing in our room, and yet we still had to pay the same price. The owners were helpful with directions. The location is right in front of a school and if you plan on leaving at the start or end of school, then think again! It is also quite a walk to the center of town. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed for two nights in July highly recommend. Private car park and also very convenient off the main street . Warm and welcoming. We definitley be back, breakfast was lovely. John and Angela excellent hosts. Located a very short walk to nolan park where bruce was and also a very short walk across the river to kilkenny castle and the vibrant downtown area with lots of pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms were perfect off main street so no need to complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Address: 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Celtic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.