We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Club House Hotel to your Saves list
Club House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Monaghan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great weekend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for easter break,sunday and monday night and hotel though old is full of charm.Rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable.I have to complement all staff we met,very friendly and helpful.Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice.The hotel is in a great location and we loved the city and hope to return soon and stay here on next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    40
    21
    21
See reviews for
17
59
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Certainly not as bad as some people have written on here.
We have just spent 2 nights down here with a group of 16 lads.
The place is as old as the hills and does have musty smell but its not that bad, just an old building but its quaint.
The staff are grand and friendly. Breakfast is perfect, people on here were complaining about a greasy breakfast but that's what you get when you order fried food isn't it.
The rooms old and a bit dull and the plumbing probably needs an upgrade too but they were spotless clean and the beds are comfortable. TV just has local stations so fairly small choice of viewing. The bathrooms arent great, clean but the plumbing needs maintenance.
The residents bar is great crack and Olly behind the bar is some man. Sound as a pound he kept all of us happy. Overall if I was going to Kilkenny again with a group of lads id stay here, if I was coming with me wife i'd probably stay somewhere else due to the plumbing problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, and share your thoughts with other travellers. I am always happy to receive feedback from our guests as we use it to continually improve our product and service.

I was very happy to hear that in general you enjoyed your weekend away, and that Ollie looked after you well in the bar. I was however disappointed to read that you had issues with your plumbing and i can assure you that my maintenance department are investigating the issue.

I very much appreciate you writing your review and bringing this issue to my attention so that we can rectify any plumbing issues for any future guests.

I look forward to welcoming you to the Club House Hotel again in the future,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed in this wonderful hotel last weekend just for one night and i have to say that is one of the nicest and friendliest hotels that I have been. Although the rooms are nothing to write home about as regards decor they are warm, clean and very cosy! The staff are superb and were very helpful and could not do enough for us. So if you like an old world experience with plenty of charm you can not go wrong with this hotel. A plus side it is close to all the local pubs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and enjoyed the old world charm and atmosphere of the Hotel. We always strive to maintain this throughout the hotel, and also try to reflect this with the genuine friendly welcome and service from our staff.

We really appreciate you sharing your views with other travellers, and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Warm Regard,

Ian Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Club House Hotel is a great place to stay for a weekend away. The service was excellent, the room was clean and warm, the bed was massive and so comfy. We came in very late after being out on the town and went straight to the bar the first night and had great craic with the bar man, getting the history about the Hotel and Kilkenny, he really knew his stuff. Really loved the atmosphere in the hotel, I would recommend this hotel to all my friends, I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the vintage surrounds of the hotel, and that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. I really appreciate you recommending us to your friends, and look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel in the future,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for two nights BandB and also had a dinner. It is a lovely old-fashioned Hotel with excellent food and first class service from all the staff. The location is ideal and only a two minute walk from the town centre. I would heartily recommend this hotel for a wonderful breakaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your views with other travellers and for your recommendation. I am delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at the Club House Hotel and enjoyed our food and central location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,
Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Club House Hotel in Kilkenny is a surprise find in this day and age. While you say the Hotel is a bit dated looking in places it never the less has a real comfortable atmosphere. A lot of higher star hotels could learn a lot about customer service from the staff in this hotel. All the staff were super friendly and when we had a problem with our shower it was fixed straight away, not alone this but we were asked on two occassions if it was now working ok. Food was good and plentiful, and there was lovely gas fire in the bar/lounge. Free parking was provided at the rear of the hotel, and you are within easy walking distance of the town centre. The bedroom was really spacious and the bed very comfortable. Everyplace was really clean. If you are looking for a modern hotel that is just like every other hotel then don't go here, it is quaint and old fashioned. If you want a quiet hotel with old fashioned service then do go here.

Room Tip: Possibly newer part of hotel might have bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate you sharing your views of the hotel with other travelers. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Club House, and that our staff took such good care of you during your stay. I would feel that your review is a very fair reflection of the hotel and am very grateful to you for that,

I look forward to the oppotuniuty to welcoming you back to the Club House Hotel in the future,

Warm Regards,
Ian Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends for a night away in November. We got a great rate including breakfast and free parking and it's very centrally located in Kilkenny city. I would agree that the hotel is a bit dated (decor-wise) but our rooms were bright, clean, spacious and comfortable. I have to say I haven't come across such friendly helpful staff in a long time. Our bags were carried up to our room, ordering a taxi was no problem at all and even though we were a bit late for breakfast the following morning, we were welcomed in, not at all rushed and extra toast/tea/coffee was no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that our staff took great care of you during your stay with us. I can appreciate your comments with relation to our decor, and we are currently working through improving this.

I look forward to the oppertunity to welcoming you back to the Club House Hotel in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club House Hotel

Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Club House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing traditional hospitality with modern day luxuries, The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is a charming family run hotel in the heart of Medieval Kilkenny City. This magnificent 18th Century Kilkenny Hotel maintains a 210 year old traditional of effortless comfort hospitality and efficiency. The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is located in a quiet area on Patrick Street, just around the corner from the famous Kilkenny Castle & Design Centre and less than a minutes walk from shopping, bars, restaurants, nightclubs and attractions making it the ideal place to stay for your visit to Kilkenny. Complimentary Wireless Internet Access is also available in certain areas of the Club House Kilkenny Hotel as well as complementary onsite carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club House Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Club House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.