We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, friendly efficient staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club House Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 5 more sites!
Club House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Kilkenny
Roscommon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, friendly efficient staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Club House Hotel in Kilkenny is a surprise find in this day and age. While you say the Hotel is a bit dated looking in places it never the less has a real comfortable atmosphere. A lot of higher star hotels could learn a lot about customer service from the staff in this hotel. All the staff were super friendly and when we had a problem with our shower it was fixed straight away, not alone this but we were asked on two occassions if it was now working ok. Food was good and plentiful, and there was lovely gas fire in the bar/lounge. Free parking was provided at the rear of the hotel, and you are within easy walking distance of the town centre. The bedroom was really spacious and the bed very comfortable. Everyplace was really clean. If you are looking for a modern hotel that is just like every other hotel then don't go here, it is quaint and old fashioned. If you want a quiet hotel with old fashioned service then do go here.

Room Tip: Possibly newer part of hotel might have bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate you sharing your views of the hotel with other travelers. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Club House, and that our staff took such good care of you during your stay. I would feel that your review is a very fair reflection of the hotel and am very grateful to you for that,

I look forward to the oppotuniuty to welcoming you back to the Club House Hotel in the future,

Warm Regards,
Ian Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    31
    13
    20
See reviews for
14
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends for a night away in November. We got a great rate including breakfast and free parking and it's very centrally located in Kilkenny city. I would agree that the hotel is a bit dated (decor-wise) but our rooms were bright, clean, spacious and comfortable. I have to say I haven't come across such friendly helpful staff in a long time. Our bags were carried up to our room, ordering a taxi was no problem at all and even though we were a bit late for breakfast the following morning, we were welcomed in, not at all rushed and extra toast/tea/coffee was no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that our staff took great care of you during your stay with us. I can appreciate your comments with relation to our decor, and we are currently working through improving this.

I look forward to the oppertunity to welcoming you back to the Club House Hotel in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet hotel this is it however is quiet dated. If you plan to stay late in the evening after checkout this is not the place to go as we stayed here and had to stay late so we wanted to wait in the lounge and we were asked if we wanted to eat or not because they were short of tables in the lounge. Otherwise very comfortable but not suitable for those with mobility problems as quite a lot of stairs and no lifts that we had seen. A bit pricey for what it is.

Room Tip: if you don't like stairs ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

If you like chic modern hotels with a lift to your room then don't bother with this one. However if you like a bit of old world charm, clean rooms and good service then this hotel is great value for money. Ok it's not the Ritz but its all you need for a few days to explore the beautiful Kilkenny. We stayed in the more recently built extension at the back and this was definitely more quiet than the front rooms. The breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They arranged an extra early breakfast for us as we were there for a sporting event and it was no problem making hot chocolate for my daughter who didn't drink tea or coffee. There's a nice wee bar downstairs if you don't want to go too far but the hotels central location means most bars and restaurants are only a few paces away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

e visited here for a one night break in Early November 2012. Like others have said it is a maze of corridors. The Gentleman at reception was most helpful. The hotel is very central. The rooms were clean. The staff were very nice. The car park is central and accessible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've just come back from a 1 night stay in the Club House Hotel. The only good thing this Hotel has going for it is it's location. As it is pretty central to town. However, there are plenty of other Hotels, also central to the town, that I would recommend you stay in. It's a dark, dreary, dirty, damp, smelly dump. It had narrow corridors and plenty of stairs. The walls on the corridors were filthy, the staff's appearance left a lot to be desired. We were informed at Check-in that Breakfast was being served up until 10.30am. We reluctantly decided to chance the Breakfast at 10.25am. On arrival to the Restaurant, we were greeted with "What do yiz want girls ?, Yiz won't be gettin breakfast, Breakfast is finished". When we explained that we were informed at Check-in that Breakfast was being served until 10.30. We also checked with other guests in the group and they confirmed that they were also told 10.30. We were shocked, horrified and embarrassed by this staff member's attitude to paying customers. Might I add, that we stayed in a triple room, at a cost of €100 per head, which included a full Irish Breakfast. On reflection, it's unbelievable that in this current climate, a dump like this can get away with charging these rates. We ended up leaving and going to a Restaurant next door, called Zuni, where we were treated to a delicious breakfast and served by professional staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Good location, parking, clean, helpful staff in a central location in Kilkenny. They serve an excellent breakfast. The hotel itself is a bit of a maze. The attached restaurant serves good meals. A bit high priced for what you get.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club House Hotel

Also Known As:
Club House Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Club House Hotel
Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Club House Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing traditional hospitality with modern day luxuries, The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is a charming family run hotel in the heart of Medieval Kilkenny City. This magnificent 18th Century Kilkenny Hotel maintains a 210 year old traditional of effortless comfort hospitality and efficiency. The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is located in a quiet area on Patrick Street, just around the corner from the famous Kilkenny Castle & Design Centre and less than a minutes walk from shopping, bars, restaurants, nightclubs and attractions making it the ideal place to stay for your visit to Kilkenny. Complimentary Wireless Internet Access is also available in certain areas of the Club House Kilkenny Hotel as well as complementary onsite carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Club House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Club House Hotel to your Saves list